We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Dorado Plaza Hotel & Business

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Dorado Plaza Hotel & Business
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in Iquitos
Iquitos, Loreto, Peru
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not bad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

This is one of Iquitos' best. Attentive staff, spacious lobby, and nice pool out back. Beds are comfortable, and rooms are well maintained too. It may not exactly be a five star ritz carlton, but it is comfortable, and at the least, it is fully air conditioned. Escape the heat here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NaturesHospital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    91
    49
    20
    12
See reviews for
37
69
18
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

I have been travelling to Peru for the past four years and I have stayed at this hotel every visit. It always brings tears to my eyes to say "goodbye" to the wonderful people who work at the hotel. Starting with the manager, Mr. Oscar Casa Quiroz, who greets his custormers daily, to the wonderful bellman, Heime, who I adore, as well as to all the wonderful staff of the restaurant, it doesn't get better than this! This lovely hotel is located in the center of town, it is beautiful!!! Everyone for the most part speaks English, the food is wonderful, (ask for Pierre as your waiter) the rooms were recently remodeled as well as the lobby. I have scouted the city and I believe this is the best hotel in Iquitos. I can't wait to return to my favorite hotel this March!

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Green2010092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

I approached the desk Saturday of Easter weekend (2012) & inquired about room rates. The desk clerk replied, 'How long I would be staying? '

I replied, 'Three (3) nites.'

He offered me a rate of US $150 for the three (3) nites.

I replied, '$100?' He came w/ an offer of $120.

I wrote the rate on apiece of paper, signed & had him initial it. It was attached to the room bill.

When I checked out the room rate was $120/ nite. I brought the signed & initialed page to the attention of the checkout clerk & he refused to honor it. W/ police at the door & a plane to catch I was in no position to haggle.

El Dorado refused to submit or acknowledge the existence of the signed & initialed paper when VISA attempted to investigate the charge.

Beware of the desk clerk's too-good-to-be true room rate offers.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Iquitos hotels

Sakina1184
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

I thought it was a good hotel. We stayed one night prior to our trip/adventure in the amazon. I would recommend this place as it is good and located in the heart of the city.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SN1184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

We spent one night at El Dorado Plaza Hotel following three nights on the Amazon. While the hotel lobby wasn't my cup of tea, the rooms were very nice with large bathrooms and the staff was delightful. We ate dinner in the hotel restaurant after not finding great options in the town and while communication was a bit difficult with the waiter, he was a good guy and the food was was better than we expected.
Having walked around the center square and many blocks off the square, it felt like this was probably the best option in Iquitos. That said, the highlight of Iquitos was certainly as a starting point for an incredible 4 day cruise on the river!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

I stayed here due to generosity of friends (who wanted the room for the evening and donated it to me for the night and breakfast). All staff were - without fail - pleasant and kind. This seems to be typical of the town - but it felt genuine rather than obsequious. Hotel itself is not 5 star on an objective scale - anywhere else it would rank lower despite the business centre (on which I cannot comment) and flatscreen TVs. Rooms were nice enough but I got bitten more in the room than in 4 days in the jungle! Plus there is no hot water, only lukewarm water. Definitely not a bargain (though I didn't pay) unless you really need the amenities or need to stay in somewhere with as many stars as possible.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellinRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

If you want to be right on the main square...this is your hotel. Rooms are fairly large... but hotel is starting to show its age.. more 3 than 5 star.
Rooms facing the plaza are noisy at night ... glass is not insulated. And at the moment the pool area is under major renovation (closed).
Food is okay... not the best... the included breakfast is just passable.
One time tourists and some business people are the main clientele.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bjaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoradoPlazaHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Dorado Plaza Hotel & Business, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
Thank you, we will consider your suggestions
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Iquitos hotels
0.4 mi away
Victoria Regia Hotel & Suites
0.7 mi away
La Posada de Lobo Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
La Casa Morey
La Casa Morey
#2 of 27 in Iquitos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Casona Iquitos
Hotel La Casona Iquitos
#3 of 27 in Iquitos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dorado Hotel
Dorado Hotel
#15 of 27 in Iquitos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Emperador Terraza
Emperador Terraza
#7 of 27 in Iquitos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Plaza Hotel & Business? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Plaza Hotel & Business

Property: El Dorado Plaza Hotel & Business
Address: Jr. Napo No. 258, Iquitos 16000, Peru
Location: Peru > Loreto Region > Iquitos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Iquitos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Dorado Plaza Hotel & Business 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your El Dorado Plaza Hotel & Business reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Plaza Hotel And Business
El Dorado Plaza Iquitos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing