We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food”
Review of Al Frio y Al Fuego

Al Frio y Al Fuego
Ranked #1 of 102 Restaurants in Iquitos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Peruvian, Latin, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Warminster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic food and service. Loved the boat ride over. Bit expensive so more a treat than a regular for the backpacker but totally worth trying.

Helpful?
Thank Vishnu V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    508
    383
    94
    21
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inverurie, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Good food, lovely venue”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

The jetty for the boat to this floating restaurant was very close to our hotel and the trip out took all of 4 minutes. The restaurant has a choice of 3 areas - poolside with cabanas, a bar area or an upstairs restaurant with open kitchen. We chose the latter and it was interesting to see how well the kitchen team worked together. The food was an eclectic mix of Peruvian and western-style food with something for everyone. The cocktails were delicious and the service attentive. Shame we only had one night in Iquitos otherwise we would have gone back to sample more of their fare.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kintorite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Last night visit”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Amazing floating restaurant in the middle of the Itayo river.
Staff were attentive and polite. Food was excellent. The camo camo sours were moreish and we had more. Seemed to be frequented by the Iquitos chic crowd as we were the only tourists that night.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank DJS35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carleton, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I didn't do much research before we went, which I think added to the experience. The entrance to the restaurant on land was beautiful. Then, we took a boat across the river (it was dark which made the experience that much more mysterious). Once we boarded the restaurant it was all thatch, wood and lanterns. Would be a great place for a romantic setting. The poolside tables and pool was all lit up and was very glam, but we sat on the second level, which had an amazing view of the night sky (think darkness, but also an outline of the trees against the moon). I ordered the doncella wrapped in the banana leaf and it was probably the best fish I've ever had. The food was a little on the pricier side but then again, it's nothing we haven't paid for before with lesser food and much worse ambiance. Overall, I think it's definitely worth the experience!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mustlovetheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Level Contributor
162 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Worth it just for the experience”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

It's not every day you get to eat in a restaurant floating in the middle of the Amazon, and it's worth taking the opportunity. the boat ride out wasn't too long but gave a sense of mystery to the evening.
The place was almost empty, but because it looks attractive, and I was constantly thinking "I'm eating in the middle of the Amazon!" that didn't matter too much.
I had chicken drumsticks to start. Nicely flavoured, with good sauces, but there were 3 of them, plus chips, which is a bit OTT for a starter. I had a fish main, which I can't for the life of me remember the name of, but it was very well cooked and well garnished

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank St_Albans_City
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Frio y Al Fuego also viewed

Iquitos, Loreto Region
 
Iquitos, Loreto Region
 
Iquitos, Loreto Region
 

Been to Al Frio y Al Fuego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing