We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A peaceful place with great food and staff”

Dawn on the Amazon Cafe
Ranked #2 of 101 Restaurants in Iquitos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Taking care of the health of our client is our priority! That is why purified water and high standards of hygiene are the most important ingredients of our recipe for pure, safe, healthy meals!
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A peaceful place with great food and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

We loved this place and came back everyday, sometimes twice a day! Great food, delicious smoothies, cold beer - lovely views. We'd recommend trying the camu camu juice - with sugar - so refreshing!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank KatePaulWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DawnontheAmazon, Owner at Dawn on the Amazon Cafe, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear KatePaulWH from Melbourne, Australia. Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your excellent review. Our staff, and myself, remember you fondly. We were always so happy to see your smiling face return again. Your sparkling personality was such a pleasure for us. It was an honor to serve you and your friend.

A peaceful place on the pedestrian only river walk, known as the boulevard or malecon, with an attentive staff waiting to serve you great food, delicious smoothies, and cold beer, with a lovely view... What more would you want?

Our warmest regard to you,

Bill Grimes,
Host of Dawn on the Amazon Cafe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    158
    51
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best Food in the Amazon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Big menu, very tasty dishes, well presented and affordable.

Ate here on numerous occasions and was the best overall restaurant in Iqitos.
Has great information on excurisions and can arrange fishing trips.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stjohn and Clar... N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DawnontheAmazon, Owner at Dawn on the Amazon Cafe, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Hello Stjohn and Clar... N. Thank you so much for taking the time to make your excellent review. My team and I are happy you judge we have the best food in the Amazon, and best over all in Iquitos. We were honored that you ate here on numerous occasions.

It was my pleasure to help arrange your fishing trip. I hope we will have the opportunity to enjoy your company back in the Amazon again in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,

Bill Grimes
Host, Dawn on the Amazon Cafe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place for Westerners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Right by the water and the waiters are super nice and speak English. Great vegan options and options for those on ayahuasca diets.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DawnontheAmazon, Owner at Dawn on the Amazon Cafe, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you Brian W from Edmonton, Canada, for taking the time to make your excellent review. I am happy you noticed how nice our waiters and waitresses are and that they speak good english...and spanish.

Our menu is in spanish and english, prices are in soles and dollars. We do have great vegetarian and vegan selections, an Ayahuasca menu as well as Peruvian, North American, Mexican, Asian, and Mediterranean sections of our menu. One day I took a little survey of our customers and that one day we had 22 different nationalities at Dawn on the Amazon Cafe. We are very international.

Dawn on the Amazon Cafe is a great place for westerners...as well as easterners, northerners, southerners, and the local Peruvian population.

Sincerely,

Bill Grimes,
Host of Dawn on the Amazon Cafe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Only place in Iquitos for tasty, healthy food with a view of the Amazon.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

My favorite eatery in Iquitos. Bill Grimes' Dawn on the Amazon Cafe is a standout in Iquitos for it's tranquil location on the banks of the Amazon river, but I go there because of the attention Bill pays to making dishes that not only please the pallet but is also the healthiest food available in Iquitos. No msg, he even imports gourmet salt from the Andes so you won't have to consume fluoride with your steamed "dorado" fish, which btw I recommend, along with the vegetarian Lasagna- check it out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkSaltBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DawnontheAmazon, Owner at Dawn on the Amazon Cafe, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear MarkSaltBoy, from Seattle, Washington, Thank you for taking the time to give Dawn on the Amazon Cafe such an excellent review on TripAdvisor. Your opinion means a lot to me. If you say we serve the healthiest food in Iquitos, and it pleases the pallet, I know we must serve the healthiest tastiest food in Iquitos, and with a nice view of the river.

As you know, there is no msg in our kitchen, or fluoride in our salt.

The steamed fish and the vegetarian lasagna are good recommendations. I know you appreciate our sprouted quinoa.

Thanks again,

Sincerely,
Bill Grimes,
Host of Dawn on the Amazon Cafe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Place to Eat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Had breakfast and dinner here. Both meals were excellent. Not the cheapest prices in Iquitos, but still a bargain compared to North America and we had no concerns about food quality and hygiene. Pancakes and eggs breakfast was delicious.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank GregoryHHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DawnontheAmazon, Owner at Dawn on the Amazon Cafe, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear GregoryHHarris, from Toronto Canada, thank you for taking the time to give Dawn on the Amazon Cafe your excellent review. Very much appreciated by our entire team. That you think our cafe is a great place to eat means a lot to us. Our niche, our mission, is to provide a safe place to eat with good food quality and with good hygiene so you don't have to worry.

I'm happy your pancakes and eggs breakfast was delicious.

My best,

Bill Grimes,
Host, Dawn on the Amazon Cafe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dawn on the Amazon Cafe also viewed

Iquitos, Loreto Region
Iquitos, Loreto Region
 
Iquitos, Loreto Region
 

Been to Dawn on the Amazon Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing