We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Gringo Vibe”

Dawn on the Amazon Cafe
Ranked #3 of 115 Restaurants in Iquitos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery
Description: Taking care of the health of our client is our priority! That is why purified water and high standards of hygiene are the most important ingredients of our recipe for pure, safe, healthy meals!
Reviewed December 23, 2012

The food was very tasty with lots of great vegetarian adaptations. Nice service and fun people watching on the malecon. Only downside (if it is one for you) is that this is an uber gringo place. English is the primary language. Also, wifi is pay-only.

Thank 14Philly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DawnontheAmazon, Owner at Dawn on the Amazon Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

Thank you 14Philly, from Philadelphia, for taking the time to make this very good review of Dawn on the Amazon Cafe. Tasty food with lots of great vegetarian adaptations, nice service good people watching. Yep, that is us.

We are very international, but english is spoken in a lot of countries. One day I took an informal poll, a snapshot of our clientele; 3 guests identified themselves as Canadian, one identified himself as from Vancouver, rather than Canada, 1 from Scotland, 1 Bolivia, an Australian, 3 from Great Britain, 5 United States, 7 Peruvians, 2 Austrians, 2 Belgium, 4 French, 1 Brazil, 1 Neatherland, 1 Bulgaria, 1 Swiss. What they had in common was nearly everyone spoke English.

Everyone that works here is from Iquitos and speaks Spanish. Several also speak English. The menu is in Spanish and English and we serve many Peruvian dishes, as well as international.

Wi-fi costs us $157 per month. We charge 2 soles per hour = 75 cents US per hour with a comfortable chair, good service and a great view. Join the Amazon Explorers Club and Wi-fi is free.

Best regards,
Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (605)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

406 - 410 of 605 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2012

We spent a night on a Dawn on the Amazon boat, and were also charmed by the restaurant in Iquitos. Freshly squeezed and blended tropical juices and smoothies were particularly good, especially knowing the high standards for water purity and food preparation.

1  Thank DilettanteTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DawnontheAmazon, Owner at Dawn on the Amazon Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

Thank you so much Dilettante Traveler, from Seattle, for taking the time to make your excellent review of Dawn on the Amazon Cafe. That you were charmed by the restaurant made my day.

Thanks for appreciating our high standards of food preparation and water purity. Your health and happiness are our top priority.

Best regards,
Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

This is a good place to find reasonably priced local favorites, and American classics to meet every taste. We were there twice and enjoyed everything we ate. The location is right on the main center of family nightlife, overlooking the river. They are closed on Sundays, but there are other restaurants nearby.

1  Thank UTXTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DawnontheAmazon, Owner at Dawn on the Amazon Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

Thank you UTXTraveler from Silver Spring, Maryland for taking the time to make your very good review of Dawn on the Amazon Cafe. I am happy you came back again, enjoyed everything you ate, and the location.

Dawn on the Amazon Cafe is closed on Sunday and Christmas. We are open Monday - Saturday, 7:30am to 10:00pm. I hope you will visit us again when you return to Iquitos.

Merry Christmas,

Bill Grimes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Dawn on the Amazon Cafe may not be the cheapest restaurant around, but the staff is prompt and friendly, and the food quite tasty! The location and the view make it a nice place to hang out for a drink or two.

Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DawnontheAmazon, Owner at Dawn on the Amazon Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Muchas Gracias Eric R from Victoria Canada for taking the time to make your excellent review of Dawn on the Amazon Cafe. You made my day! Friendly prompt staff, tasty food, location, location with a view, nice place to hang out for a drink or two. Can't ask for more than that.

Many thanks from all of the staff of Dawn on the Amazon Cafe.

Merry Christmas,
Bill Grimes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Good food, but a little pricey compared to other cafe's and restaurants around. Good food, but a little pricey compared to other cafe's and restaurants around

Thank AblazeRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DawnontheAmazon, Owner at Dawn on the Amazon Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Thank you AblazeRich, from London, England, United Kingdom, for your very good review of Dawn on the Amazon Cafe. I am happy you think our food is good. I'm happy you think our food is good.

We are not trying to be the cheapest restaurant in Iquitos. We are trying to be the safest, freshest, cleanest, tastiest, healthiest restaurant in Iquitos. Are you aware that we use purified water for everything we do from soup, to coffee, tea, juice, and ice. We use the purified water to wash and rinse all of our vegetables and fruits three times. We even carefully wash our eggs in purified water before we crack them. We are the only restaurant in Iquitos that goes to these extremes. The amount of purified water we use alone costs over $3,000 United States dollars per year.

We use so much purified water because your health and happiness are our top priority. Our attention to sanitation and hygiene is unparalleled in Iquitos. What price do you place on your good health.

What price do you place on freshness? Our food is fresh, purchased every morning. Not frozen. Everything is homemade. There is no MSG in our kitchen. We only use steel pots and pans, no aluminum pots and pans.

We only use real butter, no margarine. We even make our own marmalade.

What about labor? Do you believe that the hard working Peruvians should be paid a fair wage? We are one of the few restaurants that pay at least minimum wage, more for the skilled positions + they have health care + they keep their own tips.

Would you rather we cut corners like most places, rinse your lettuce with tap water, have no soap or toilet paper in the bathroom. Underpay our staff like most restaurants.

Did you know we donate 10% of our profits to a rotating group of charities that operate in the Iquitos area and that we know are doing a good job? When you support Dawn on the Amazon Cafe, you support the neighborhood of Iquitos.

We use the best extra virgin olive oil money can buy.

Perhaps you still think we are a little pricey, but I hope you realize that we provide value for your dollar.

Thank you for thinking our food is good. Thank you for stopping in and giving us a chance to serve you. Thank you for your attention.

I hope you will stop in and dine with us again, and give us an opportunity to provide you with our great value.

Bill Grimes, host of Dawn on the Amazon Cafe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dawn on the Amazon Cafe also viewed

Iquitos, Loreto Region
Iquitos, Loreto Region
 
Iquitos, Loreto Region
 
Iquitos, Loreto Region
 

Been to Dawn on the Amazon Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing