We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food and service”

Dawn on the Amazon Cafe
Ranked #2 of 102 Restaurants in Iquitos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery
Description: Taking care of the health of our client is our priority! That is why purified water and high standards of hygiene are the most important ingredients of our recipe for pure, safe, healthy meals!
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good food and service”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

triple washed food! friendly staff! they book trips too. Everything I experienced at this spot was excellent, and I returned several times as a result.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank frankhank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DawnontheAmazon, Owner at Dawn on the Amazon Cafe, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you HilaryW999 from San Francisco, California, for your excellent review of Dawn on the Amazon Cafe. The greatest compliment is to return several times and then take the time to tell travelers on TripAdvisor.

I hope we will see you back in our charming city of Iquitos again before too long

Wishing you the very best,

Bill Grimes, host of Dawn on the Amazon Cafe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    166
    51
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Extensive Menu”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Dawn on the Amazon has an extensive menu of North American, Italian, Chinese, and Peruvian dishes at reasonable prices. The food was decent and the service was helpful. We chose to sit on the street to catch the rare Iquitos breeze and were a captive audience for the numerous street vendors walking by, but the view over the Itaya River was beautiful. The menu was available in both Spanish and English.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katebruder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DawnontheAmazon, Owner at Dawn on the Amazon Cafe, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you katebruder from Lima Peru, for checking us out and for your very good review of Dawn on the Amazon Cafe, much appreciated. I know you come to Iquitos on business occasionally and we hope you will stop by again next time and give us another chance to rise to excellent in you opinion. Your health and happiness are our top priority.

Very best regards,

Bill Grimes, host of Dawn on the Amazon Cafe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Great juice and watch the world go by...”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

On our last day in Iquitos we had a juice here and it was lovely lounging in their recliners watching people wandering by....we enjoyed it so much we headed back two hours later for a delicious lunch.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank TheWombatTree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DawnontheAmazon, Owner at Dawn on the Amazon Cafe, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you TheWombatTree from Kent, for your very good review of Dawn on the Amazon Cafe. We appreciate that you had juice and then came back for a delicious lunch.

Wishing you the best of luck in your travels,

Bill Grimes, host at Dawn on the Amazon Cafe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I ate here every night!”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I tried to be more adventurous, but always wound up at the Dawn on the Amazon Cafe. You can trust that everything is carefully prepared with tourists in mind. Nora, the cocinera is amazing! Food is diverse, delicious.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karlyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DawnontheAmazon, Owner at Dawn on the Amazon Cafe, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you Karlyn H, from Bend, Oregon, United States, for your very good review of Dawn on the Amazon Cafe. Your health and happiness are our top priority. We appreciated your company every day. I passed on your complement to Nora. She is happy to be amazing:) We are all happy.

Very best regards,

Bill Grimes, host of Dawn on the Amazon Cafe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatape, Colombia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great service”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This place has an extensive menu of anything you might want. It is very healthy and fresh made. The owner and expat people who frequent can help you with almost anything in town. It is a bit pricy but after getting sick when i first got here I did not want to risk getting sick again. They use all filtered water.

It is right on the river. Nice atmosphere and the fastest most attentive service i saw in peru. no waiting ages for wait staff to return or bring a check or see if you need anything.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Upcycledbliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DawnontheAmazon, Owner at Dawn on the Amazon Cafe, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you Upcycledbliss, from Guatape, Columbia, for your very good review of Dawn on the Amazon Cafe. Your health and happiness are our priority, so we only use purified water in all that we do, especially for you.

You made me smile about the fastest most attentive service in Peru. My crew are smiling too.

We hope you make it back to Iquitos and to the attentive service at the Dawn on the Amazon Cafe.

My best,
Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dawn on the Amazon Cafe also viewed

Iquitos, Loreto Region
Iquitos, Loreto Region
 
Iquitos, Loreto Region
 

Been to Dawn on the Amazon Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing