We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis when you are far from home”

Dawn on the Amazon Cafe
Ranked #2 of 102 Restaurants in Iquitos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery
Description: Taking care of the health of our client is our priority! That is why purified water and high standards of hygiene are the most important ingredients of our recipe for pure, safe, healthy meals!
Laytonville, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An oasis when you are far from home”
Reviewed January 29, 2012

If you are looking for something familiar, do not want to worry about contaminated food or water, enjoy a laugh with the local ex patriots who fell in love with Iquitos, you have found the right place in Dawn on the Amazon . I had a yearn for good old fashioned fresh salsa which I could not find anywhere in Iquitos except at Bills. It was not exactly the same as at home, but a very close second. He has fresh made tortillas in his yummy tacos. His menu is large, interesting, affordable and yummy . Bill is a mine of information on what to do in Iquitos. He knows everybody and everybody knows him. He can tell you the best places to visit, and even book your tours for you. Take his recommendations seriously and you will be sure to have a good time. Enjoy his food, great drinks and camaraderie while you sit and gaze on the Amazon right outside his restaurant.
Irene and Evan Engber

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 15Irene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DawnontheAmazon, Owner at Dawn on the Amazon Cafe, responded to this review, February 12, 2012
Hello Irene and Evan, I am blushing. Thank you for your kind words, for choosing Dawn on the Amazon for your Amazon adventure and for sharing a few meals and camaraderie with us at Dawn on the Amazon Cafe. i enjoyed your company.

Sincerely,
Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    168
    51
    14
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Comfort (and safe) food for overseas travelers”
Reviewed January 26, 2012

We stayed in Iquitos for one night prior to our Amazon departure aboard the M/V Aria (Aqua Expeditions.) Not wanting to take our chances, and hearing that this restaurant had clean water, and food washed and cooked with clean water, we decided to have lunch at this expat hang-out rather than risk going "local" and regretting it later. Everything was delicious, and their juices were squeezed fresh. Thumbs up!

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank KI-NRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DawnontheAmazon, Owner at Dawn on the Amazon Cafe, responded to this review, February 12, 2012
Dear KI-NRT, I remember our conversation well. I hope you enjoyed the local color, as much as we enjoyed your good company:)

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us this 5 star thumbs up.

Best regards,
Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iquitos, Peru
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good conversation, good food. Great Host”
Reviewed January 23, 2012

If you want to experience a sidewalk cafe that brings together good food, conversation and local knowledge. This is it!

Helpful?
Thank Iquitosman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DawnontheAmazon, Owner at Dawn on the Amazon Cafe, responded to this review, February 12, 2012
Thank you for our 5 star review Iquitosman. I hope we will see you again soon...

Best,
Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iquitos, Loreto, Peru
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“hospitality”
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Living in Iquitos I try to find the restaurants that serve good food because eating only Peruvian food sometimes is boring. In Dawn on the Amazon they serve good fresh juices and the coffee is freshly made - very important for a Dutch woman:-) Most of the time the owner, Bill Grimes, is present and he is always very kind and willing to share the information he has over Iquitos with everybody who asks for it. The place is situated on the Iquitos boulevard and therefore has a beautiful sight over the river especially in the morning.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peruluz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DawnontheAmazon, Owner at Dawn on the Amazon Cafe, responded to this review, February 12, 2012
Dear Peruluz, I feel very fortunate to have this 5 star review, hospitality. Every 5 star review is a treasure. Thank you so much.

Love,
Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great food and customer service”
Reviewed December 24, 2011

I know the owner, he is a charismatic guy. The place has good food and service!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Buddha86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DawnontheAmazon, Owner at Dawn on the Amazon Cafe, responded to this review, February 12, 2012
Thank you Frequent_Traveller...I miss you.

Love,
Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dawn on the Amazon Cafe also viewed

Iquitos, Loreto Region
Iquitos, Loreto Region
 
Iquitos, Loreto Region
 

Been to Dawn on the Amazon Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing