We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go see this true nature preserve”

Pilpintuwasi Butterfly Farm
Book In Advance
More Info
$105.33*
and up
Full-Day Iquitos City Tour
Ranked #1 of 46 things to do in Iquitos
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Please visit us in Iquitos! See our website for more info For Our Visitors: Please know that a previous employee of the refuge has recently set up a new butterfly house and is offering boat-drivers commission to take visitors to this alternative centre rather than the real Pilpintuwasi. The true centre offers homes to a number of rescued animals in addition to the butterfly house. Please ensure you follow our visiting directions as we would love to welcome you all to our centre during your visit to Iquitos About Us: Pilpintuwasi is a wildlife rescue and temporary custody center located on 20 hectares of land in the village of Padre Cocha, 20 minutes outside of Iquitos, the largest city in the Peruvian Amazon. We are a non-profit organization dedicated to protecting animals affected by the poaching and trafficking industry which thrives in Iquitos. We work with the ecological police to take in animals confiscated from markets, airports and homes, which often arrive with injuries and malnourishment
Matthews, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Go see this true nature preserve”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

There are countless rare and exotic creatures and insects in the jungle, but this place brings them together in a caring, rescue environment. You'll love the caretaker. She's a true 'naturalist'.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    345
    108
    39
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommend a trip to the Butterfly Farm.”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The farm was more than what we expected. In addition to the beautiful butterflies, there was an abundance of amazon animals. It was a gift to see the Blue Morpho butterfly. The tour was very educational. In addition, I enjoyed the trip to the farm.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 4036886787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great morning at Pilpintuwasi”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Our visit to the Pilpintuwasi Butterfly Farm was one of the most exciting things during our Peru-journey. We spent 2 hours there and could see many butterflies as well as all the other animals living there. The owner provided us a lot of information.
The entrance-fee of 10PEN for students is very fair and we would recommend EVERYONE who is interested in nature&animals to visit the Butterfly Farm!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bokustudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great to See the Animals Up Close”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We went to the farm as part of an organised day tour and were a bit half hearted about it. Once we got there our minds changed. It was great to see all the animals we had seen in the distance while out in the jungle up close. Its much more than a butterfly farm with birds, monkeys, a sloth and heaps of other animals.
If you want to get a good look at the jungle wildlife go out and have a look here.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andrea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Enjoy it, very informative”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

very educational to understand butterfly and their animal orphanage center was very good, volunteers were more than helpful to give all information , it's not a big farm but good to see more around Amazon area, nothing disliked

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robinson115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pilpintuwasi Butterfly Farm also viewed

Iquitos, Loreto Region
Iquitos, Loreto Region
 
Iquitos, Loreto Region
Iquitos, Loreto Region
 

Been to Pilpintuwasi Butterfly Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing