We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“And a pool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hospedaje Golondrinas
Certificate of Excellence
Lynnwood, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
134 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“And a pool”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

The service was excellent with tours and special thing to see and do. I was able to make the most of my stay. Remember that you should not pay more than 5 soles to ride the tuk-tuk (moto-taxi) from the boat or airport. Be sure to tell your internet friends that you will most likely not be in regular contact until your leave the area. The internet is extremely slow and frustrating.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    22
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
28
33
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Hedland, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I shared a room with a fellow traveller.. bathroom and kitchen were clean. Lovely people running the place, great location which is walking distance from the town square. Had to tuk-tuk it from boat ramp and to airport. The taxi drivers pump up the prices so set the price before getting in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Only a few blocks out of the main centre, this hotel is cheap, friendly, has a nice pool, clean kitchen and overall a very nice and safe feel to it.
Walk into town in 5/10 minutes or take a tuktuk for only a few soles.
There's plenty of small shops around and the nice lady will provide you with a map of the town.

As we arrived in Iquitos on a lancha, our new made friends all stayed in different hostels which were not as nice as this one.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms are nice, but can be noisy in the early evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yesmads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This might just be the best option in town. The first time I went to Iquitos, I checked several places and this one was the cheapest. However, this does not mean that the others are better. All on the contrary. This is a falimy run hostel. It's very clean, the staff (the lady of the house, her son, and some friends) is friendly, helpful and honest, the kitchen fully equiped and large and the best part is that they have a nice refreshing pool which comes in really handy when suffering the tropical heat and humidity. I highly recommend this place and doubt you'll find better at a decent price.

If you go, know that the cost for a mototaxi is 10 soles, not more. The drivers always try to rip you off, telling that it is far away from the centre. It's a lie. It's actually in the 'zona urbana', about 8 block from the main square 'Plaza de armas'. They will also try to dissuade you from going as they rather bring you to other places where they get commissions. Don't believe what they say and tell them to bring you no matter what. To me and another couple they told us it was far away and to other people they even said that the place was closed because the owner died. She seemed very alive whe"n I was taliking to her.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gilles635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I stayed at this hostel for about a week not knowing what to expect but it turned out to be lovely. Comfortable beds, very clean bathrooms, and a pool! The owners were very friendly and helpful, as well as fellow travelers. A seriously great value and a good time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malibuhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

i enjoyed my week and a half stay, owners and staff are very nice and helpfull, close to the plaza de arms and waterfront. a friendly and mellow hostel.i met interesting fellow travellers and had a great time i plan on returning!

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank tim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 28, 2012

It is a very lovely and nice hostel with friendly staffs. There is a home-made swimming pool at the back of the house whereas unfortunately I did not bring my swimming tools. They offer jungle tours as well so you need not book the tour package in advance. The cost on transportation by motocarro is approximately 15 nuevo soles. The interenet is very good as well.

Zhisheng from China

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zhisheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Iquitos hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Casona Iquitos
Hotel La Casona Iquitos
#3 of 27 in Iquitos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Posada de Lobo Hotel & Suites
0.5 mi away
Emperador Terraza
Emperador Terraza
#7 of 27 in Iquitos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Casa Morey
La Casa Morey
#2 of 27 in Iquitos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hostal Maravilla Amazonica
Hostal Maravilla Amazonica
#19 of 76 in Iquitos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.5 mi away
Amazon House
Amazon House
#7 of 76 in Iquitos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospedaje Golondrinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospedaje Golondrinas

Property: Hospedaje Golondrinas
Address: Putumayo Street 1024, Iquitos 16000, Peru
Location: Peru > Loreto Region > Iquitos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 76 Specialty Lodging in Iquitos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golondrinas Hostel offers comfortable private and shared rooms, a fully equipped kitchen to cook your meals, a pleasant outdoor dining place and a refreshing swimming pool with a chill out area. You will enjoy a real home atmosphere with helpful stuff. Our aim is to provide a very clean, quiet and calm place to rest and relax, while exploring the city. We also offer jungle tours and expeditions to the heart of the Amazon rainforest. We provide accommodation in our jungle lodge 260 km away from Iquitos, adventurous trekking and canoeing. Observe and enjoy the Amazon wildlife with our professional native guides. Please note: Cancellation policy: 24h. Check in: Flexible Please advise your time of arrival. Check out: 12:00. Breakfast not included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hospedaje Golondrinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing