We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Iquitos
Review Highlights
Highlight jungle tour

If you are planning a trip to Iquitos and getting into the jungle for a wildlife experience, Amazon... read more

Reviewed yesterday
I5872JSpaulinem
via mobile
Recommended for wildlife lovers

My partner and I took a 4 days tour in the jungle with this company. We explored the Yarapa... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
925celinej
,
New York City, New York
via mobile
Read all 136 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Iquitos
from $242.00
More Info
from $270.00
More Info
from $275.14
More Info
from $698.03
More Info
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveler rating
132
2
0
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
132
2
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews best wishes pristine jungle via western union fishing for piranhas fluent english official guide local guide days nights tour pink dolphins jungle adventure paid upfront day hike via paypal watching birds an excellent cook great knowledge great company
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 136 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2020

This unforgettable experience started 5 months ago when I contacted this company and booked our trip.
My friends (14 people plus my girlfriend) were picked up by Guido and Brian from the airport and transferred to Nauta in a private and confortable car. Once in Nauta we got into a fast boat and headed to the lodge. On our way,Guido explined us about the Amazon basin, the jungle, the Pacaya Samiria National (since we bordered the territory) and about people from the jungle.
We got to a spot where the Maranhon and the Uncayali rivers join together. That is the right spot where the Amazon Name is given to this river. Many pink dolphins here.

Continued our way and arrived to the lodge. Private cabins with toilets and showers. Not luxurious but enough confortable. We met Alipio and Lucho here in the lodge. They were our local Guides. Guido and Martin were our Official tour Guides and spoke good English.
We had a delicious lunch prepared by Bertha. An excellent cook. She lives in Puerto Miguel.
After lunch, we went on a hike in the woods and were impressed about the giant trees we have seen. Our guides explained and taught us about the local remedies they use in the jungle. We drunk water from a vine and also tried the sap of a tree that is used to treat stomach issues.
During this hike, we also found a coral snake, some frogs, birds, squirrels and spiders.

Walked back to the lodge and took a break till supper.

Afterwards, our group was split up in 2 and went on a boat ride looking for caimans. We saw a couple of them and Lucho caught one for us. After taking some picture we put it back in the river.

Next day after breakfast we all got ready to travel deeper in the jungle where we spent 2 days.We camped in the jungle and did many activities to see wildlife.
Birdwatching in the mornings, fishing for piranhas, saw sloths, many monkeys and birds of different species,including hoatzins, that are unique birds in the world. We made fire and prepared our own meal from the fish we caught. Many dolphins in the lake we went.
Alipio took us through a trail where we found jaguar´s footprints.
We also saw an giant anteater.

This was very exciting!

It was a great experience and wouldlove to do it again.

My reccommendations for a jungle trip goes to this great company.
FELICIDADES AMAZON DISCOVERY

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank lynw443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2020 via mobile

We very much enjoyed our 4 days 3 nights tour with Amazon Discovery.
We visited the Yarapa Community Reserve and loved watching birds of different species. Monkeys, sloths, pink dolphins, insects, etc.

Walking around the village of Puerto Miguel was also great. Brian explained us about the culture and life style of local population.

We swam in the Amazon river while contemplating a beautiful sunset.

SUCH A GREAT, GREAT EXPERIENCE.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank emilianos921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2020

A friend of mine traveled with this company last year and told me about the great experience they had in the jungle of Peru.

We traveled to Iquitos and went to their office. Martin, one of the Guides received us and explained us about the jungle tours they have. Among the options, we choose the Amazon Discovery 4D/3N tour because the itinerary included one night camping.
We paid 50% in cash right there and the remaining was transferred to their bank account.
We started the trip at 8am next day. They picked us up from our hotel and had a 1.5 car ride. During this car ride the Guide was very informative and explained us about the city, the history of Iquitos and the rubber exploitation.

We arrived to a small town called Nauta where a typical boat was waiting for us to take us to the lodge. This is where the jungle Adventure became real. We crossed the Pacaya Samiria National Reserve and saw many herons, hawks, terns, flycatchers and also 3 sloths in different trees.
The landscape was beautiful.

We got to the lodge and Brian, the manager was there waiting. Showed us our cabin and invited to have lunch along with the group he was guiding to. Everybody seemed very happy and commented about the animals they already have seen. We could not wait to go for ours!

So, we started the excursions by visiting Puerto Miguel, a nice, clean and well organized village. Our guide explained us about the local population, traditions, customs and believes. It was there we we learned that pink dolphins are considered powerful creatures.
We visited a household where a family has a sloth as a family member. Afterwards we headed to the entrance of the Yarapa where literally we saw many pink dolphins. We swam in this spots while dolphins were jumped like claiming their territory.
After enjoying a nice sunset we headed to the lodge, took a quick shower, ate supper and got ready for night hike.
It was an incredible hike!
The biggest bullfrog I ever saw was found in the mid of the trail. Some tarantulas, one pit snake, a rainbow boa, many insects and a opposum made the night.

Next day we went birdwatching early in the morning. I loved the macaws, the toucans and the big red headed wood pecker we watched. 4 species of monkeys and a ring-tailed coatie showed us that we were in a community protected area.
In the afternoon we went hiking and the local guide explained about the use of plants to prepare home remedies. Including the Cat's claw, which is a vine that contains water and is drinkable.
We walked up to a giant Ceiba tree. It was impressive.

That night we went on a boat looking for caimans. We spotted 3 of them but could not catch them since they were in the flooded bush.

Next day after breakfast we all got ready to leave the lodge. Headed deeper into the jungle and got to a big lake. The local guide told us that we would camp by there. So, we set the tents while the lady was preparing lunch. After lunch we started fishing in the lake and caught big piranhas, wolf fish, some catfish and also sardines.
That night we went looking for caimans again and caught 2 medium size.
It was sleep time and went back to the campsite.

Next day in the morning we went on a short hike and saw the red howler monkeys. They were up on the tallest tree.

We had to get back to the lodge, pack our belongings and leave the lodge.

We sincerely enjoyed this trip ans reccomend to all people who want to see wildlife in the Amazon.

Great, great experience!

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank Jechulatam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2020

I was the leader of a group of 12 friends that traveled to South America. In this opportunity we were looking for a trip that would allow us to see the Amazon wildlife.
Thanks to the great reviews we read on tripadvisor, we decided to book our tour with Amazon Discovery. We made the reservation with 5 months anticipated and paid 50% in advance via PayPal.
The lady from the booking department was very prompt to response to all our emails and sending the informations we needed.

When we arrived to Iquitos we were received by 2 Guides from the company and led us to our hotel and also explained us about the trip we were going on the next day.

This jungle tour was amazing and furthermore.
4 days 3 nights into the Yarapa Community Reserve going on different excursions looking for wildlife. We have seen many types of animals such as monkeys, anteaters, sloths, many pink dolphins, hundreds of birds, good piranhas fishing.
We also saw an anaconda and a tortoise. The guides said that it is not usual to find them. So, we were very lucky.
Alipio is a guy from the village in the jungle and is one of the official local Guides. This man is amazing. He could see animals in the bush just as you can see the traffic light on the streets.
Guido was the official guide and spoke good English. Both, Alipio and Guido had a lot of information about the jungle.
Bertha, our cook, is very brilliant in preparing all meals. Every meal we had was so delicious.
We had one rainy morning and was also part of the experience. We got very wet because nobody took the rain jacket since it was sunny when we left the lodge.

Amazon Discovery is in my opinion the best option to get a lifetime jungle experience.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank R7996USluisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2020

**DO NOT BOOK WITH THIS COMPANY**
Your personal information will be at risk with this company.

I recently completed a 7 day tour to Eldorado Lake with Amazon Discovery. After reading the positive reviews and speaking with the owner we felt that this was the best choice... by the end of the week our opinions had changed quite a bit. Not only were we given substandard sleeping/camping gear, but we later found out that Brian had sent all 4 of our Passport copies/Western Union confirmations to a complete stranger. Brian had sent it to prove "they were a credible company". Now we need to order new passports which will come at a cost to each of us. Our sleeping mats were covered in mold. The tents we were given had multiple large holes in it which resulted in a TON of mosquitoes coming inside and biting you (not fun when there is a risk of malaria). The local guide had made one of our group feel incredibly uncomfortable by making sexual comments towards her on the first day of a 7 day trip. The description on the website for the Eldorado Lake was not at all accurate and resulted in many instances of feeling unsafe.

When I contacted Brian to discuss the issue of sending pictures of our full passports to a stranger he gave an unsincere apology and insinuated it was sent 'by mistake'. When in reality we were sent screen shots of him willingly sending that information to the stranger. I have asked Brian what he will do to rectify this and now have not heard from him in over a week. I wholeheartedly recommend any potential travellers avoid this company.

What was supposed to be a trip of a lifetime, turned out to be a very disappointing eperience.

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews