We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to relax in Iquitos” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Casona Iquitos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel La Casona Iquitos
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Iquitos
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice place to relax in Iquitos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

La Casona is great place to stay while spending time in Iquitos. It has a great location, clean quiet rooms, comfortable beds and a nice little patio. We enjoyed staying here after spending a couple nights roughing it at Camiri on a floating house. The rooms with air conditioning are only 10 soles extra and it makes such a big difference after a hot day in the sun. The people working here were extremely nice and professional.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    167
    45
    7
    6
See reviews for
37
100
87
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

I was working in Peru for several months and on my trips into town I'd stay at La Casona. As a frequent guest my room was often upgraded if they had the space and as other reviewers have said, clean, friendly staff, good cleaners. The guests could be a bit noisy and rowdy at times, but that was the exception rather than the rule.

I would always recommend people to stay here. Other places were more expensive for little benefit. As La Casona had wifi, a little kitchen if you wanted to heat something or a nice restaurant two doors down, a comfy bed and a hot shower - it had everything a chick from the jungle needed. Let me tell you, when you're living in a hut up the Amazon, a hot shower is heaven.

Room Tip: Don't tell a soul - but ask for a room downstairs ... but they go quick!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LilyLester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed here for 4 days. I got food poisoning at an external restaurant, and the staff were extremely kind and helpful, letting my girlfriend make me up soup in the kitchen. The whole place is spotlessly clean, and has a common patio area with friendly resident parrots. The hotel has wifi and cable tv, we got a double room with air-com for 85 soles a night. I was very impressed.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eamonn78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

I can really recommend this place. First, it was extremely clean, not only the room but also the common parts (there was constantly someone from the staff cleaning the floor). The room had a good size and had sufficient place to put clothes etc and the shower was very good. We did not have A/C (only fan) but it was OK because the room was quite fresh (it was on the lower floor, with the door and window to a small courtyard). It has a small kitchen (also very clean) which was very handy for good home-made breakfasts. We payed 65 soles per night, which is quite a good price for the quality you get (we stayed in the "hotel" part, there is a "hostel" part on the other side of the street that is a bit cheaper).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eduarda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

Even though the rooms might be a bit dark we can really recommend this place. It´s clean (after you run in from the dusty roads theres always someone cleaning away your foodsteps behind you), it´s super central, the service is top, the personal friendly. Wifi is available, it has a relaxed open air yard inside to sit and a communal kitchen. Top!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chaisam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

This is an overall rating of the employees. And when I think about overall rating I think about a rating of the people who work there, because after all it is the people that make the hotel a good hotel or a bad one.

To calm you down after this introduction.., the people are fantastic. They are very helpfull and honest. If there is something wrong, don't be mad! Just ask for help and they will be there for you. It is clean, nicely decorated and you have all the things you expect to be in a hotel. But the most important thing for me was they send back my forgotten SD-card.

The night before we left hotel La Casona we decided to watch the pictures of our travels. Because it was possible to put the SD-card in the television we did it like this. After a long night celebrating Christmas we floated into our beds and as a big compliment to Johnny Walker I forgot my SD-card. When we arrived in the next city I immediately called La Casona. First they tried to calm me down and said they would take a look in the room to see if it was still there. Fortunately it was. They gave me their contact details to deal with it later when I would be back in Holland.
Save and sound back in Holland I was a bit unsure about how to handle this. I really wanted this card back, because there were about 1000 pictures on that thing, you see. So I decided to pay them (a lot) more then necessary. One half in front and the other half when I recieved the card. Like a real Peruvian deal, I thought. Only none of this was necessary. The hotel didn't even respont on this deal of a lifetime. They just told me to pay them $20,- to send the package. They kept me updated very well. And when I recieved the package, it was completely protected for all kinds of weather circumstances.

I want to thank the people of Hotel La Casona for their honest service and I wish you all the succes of the world.

Joey van Leeuwen

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joey v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Province of Tarragona, Spain
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

I like this hotel, it's cheap, comfortable and there's a kitchen if you want to prepare your own food. Some of the rooms (especially the downstairs ones) are rather dark and dingy. But the upstairs ones are comfortable and some have a/c.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AyaQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Iquitos hotels
0.6 mi away
La Posada de Lobo Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Nativa Apartments
Nativa Apartments
#1 of 27 in Iquitos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.0 mi away
Emperador Terraza
Emperador Terraza
#7 of 27 in Iquitos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Casa Morey
La Casa Morey
#2 of 27 in Iquitos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.4 mi away
Victoria Regia Hotel & Suites
0.5 mi away
Epoca
Epoca
#4 of 27 in Iquitos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Casona Iquitos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Casona Iquitos

Property: Hotel La Casona Iquitos
Address: Calle Fitzcarrald 147 | Plaza de Armas, Iquitos 16000, Peru
Location: Peru > Loreto Region > Iquitos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Iquitos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel La Casona Iquitos 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel La Casona Iquitos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing