We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“modern hotel in ancient city”
Review of Eco Inn Cusco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eco Inn Cusco
Ranked #32 of 164 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“modern hotel in ancient city”
Reviewed March 21, 2011

This is a very new hotel in one of the oldest cities in the Americas. Cusco is at an altitude of 11,000 ft., so expect to have some lightheadedness for the first few hours after your arrival. You should feel OK by the next day at least. Although the hotel is somewhat outside the center of the city, the taxi fare to there is only $1. Walking back to the hotel from the center is easy as it is all downhill, but going the other way may leave you somewhat out of breath.

The staff at the hotel were as pleasant and helpful as could be.

I'm not sure how to rate the value as our tour company paid for the room. I gave it the highest marks so as to conform with my other responses.

We spent one night here before going to Macchu Picchu and two nights after returning. There are many intersting sights in Cusco so do allow more than one night here.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Homer88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    640
    156
    27
    21
See reviews for
241
501
98
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2011

Very nice, the staff was very courteous and kind, all smiles. Excellent service. The hotel is at walking distance to the bus station. There's a souvenier's market just across the street.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KR_Panama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2011

We stayed in Eco Inn Cusco for three nights, with a trip to Machu Picchu in between. The hotel served as a good base for sightseeing the city of Cusco as well as the excursion to Machu Picchu. True, it is not located in the heart of the city, but only a 15-minute walk to the main square and a few minutes by a cab. What turned out more convenient for us was that the hotel was so close to the train station. We had no trouble getting there on foot for the early morning train ride to Machu Picchu. (In fact, since we stayed during the rainy season, the Peru Rail had taken measures to substitute the train from Poroy to Ollataytambo by a bus leaving from the Cusco station, which worked out great in our case.) We also took the train to Puno, which left from the same station.

The hotel itself was simple, but good enough for a relaxing and pleasant stay. The breakfast buffet was plenty and tasty. We appreciated the complimentary service of coca tea to relieve the symptoms of the high altitude sickness. The only problem we had was the fact they never showed up for the pick-up service, although we had requested one beforehand by email. They were however, willing to pay the cab fee that we took instead.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maimaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2011

The Eco Inn Cusco is a relatively new hotel, so everything was in good order and looked nice. But the construction looked very cheap, and I doubt that the hotel will be in good condition after 3-5 years. One of the hotel elevators was out of order on January 3 and still out of order when I returned for another night on January 6.

The location would keep me from recommending it to a friend. It's located on the outskirts of the old city, maybe 8-10 blocks from the Plaza de Armas. That might not see far, but it was all uphill and at 11,000 feet, so the distance didn't encourage visiting the sites in the old city center.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 7, 2010

Do not stay here. We had an appalling experience from the moment we walked through the door. We decided to stay here a few days as we were voilently robbed in Cusco, so needed to relax and organise our trip home and replacement passports. However, we were caused more stress by staying at this hotel.

The reception staff were rude and completely unsympathetic to our circumstances. They tried to over charge us for the room, since we did not have an entry migration pass (it was stolen), despite us having the police report and being told by the tourist police and the British Embassy that they could not over charge us. Mind you, I had my migration form and the hotel was booked in my name. However they said the rate would go up because my partner did not have his migration form. The treatment by the reception (one lady in particular, Isabel) and the duty manager was outrageous - they were talking under thier breath in Spanish, barely acknowledging us, and making ridiculous demands of us. We had to go to the migartion office to get a ticket as furhter proof that we were not Peruvian and also that we were not overstaying our visit in Peru. After spending all our waking hours organise new travel documents following our traumatic experience, also being at the police station, the embassy, and all over town to make arrangements - the hotel had the audacity to request this migration ticket - which was NOT needed, since we had all the correct docuemntation from the police report and Embassy.

Also we were told we could print at the front desk for free - as we had quite a few things to print out, I made sure to ask. I specifically requested they only print the documents double-sided (since it is supposed to be an ECO hotel and to save paper), however they did not know how to do this. When the staff saw I printed 45 pages, they charged me for every one! The same reception lady was working, Isabel. However the previous day, they did not charge me a penny, perhaps becasue it was a different person on reception.

Also the waiting staff in the hotel restaurant tried to get us to pay cash for a meal we wanted to put on our room bill. The waiter lied and told us the till was closed and that he needed us to give him cash only - in fact the bar till was still open and when we complained he immediately gave us a room bill to sign for. All he wanted was to pocket the money. We felt like we were being robbed of our pennies left, right and centre! Also we orderd room service twice and the dishes were not collected for almost 24 hours from outside our room. Our room was also not cleaned and we had to ask for new soap and toilet paper.

There are hundreds of better places to stay in Cusco, where a smile and friendly staff can make a real difference. Do not stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKOZ_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coomera, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2010

We had a wonderful stay we were here for two nights staff very helpful, breakfast satisfying, room clean and tidy the only problem was we were unable to open window in room it was a little stuffy as we overlooked the breakfast/restaurant area in the middle of hotel ,walking distance to main square. Staff very helpful, we were offered another room. Cusco is a wonderful place to visit. Would like to come back.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlwaysTravelling1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2010

Centrally sited hotel close to square. Shops and restaurants nearby. Very handy for sightseeing the Inca attractions. Air inside hotel clean and fresh after coming in from outside which is polluted. Food reasonable.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dipick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.0 mi away
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
#13 of 164 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,662 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Dorado San Agustin
El Dorado San Agustin
#53 of 164 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.8 mi away
Terra Andina Hotel
Terra Andina Hotel
#26 of 164 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#28 of 164 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Cusco
0.6 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Cusco San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eco Inn Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eco Inn Cusco

Property: Eco Inn Cusco
Address: Av. El Sol 1010, Cusco 00000, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Cusco
#10 Business Hotel in Cusco
#22 Family Hotel in Cusco
#30 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eco Inn Cusco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eco Inn Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eco Inn Cusco Hotel Cusco
Eco Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing