We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great wine just disappointed we didn't get the chance to eat here!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Baco

Baco
Ranked #36 of 691 Restaurants in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Great wine just disappointed we didn't get the chance to eat here!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

After visiting its great sister restaurant in Cusco, my partner and I were keen to experience what Baco had to offer. We went for wine on our way home which was lovely with a friendly and welcoming service to match. We were even given a complimentary tasting plate which was lovely. We made arrangements to eat there the following day after looking at their superb menu however, were extremely disappointed that due to our tour being late returning we missed last orders :( From viewing their menu and our experience at their sister restaurant I would strongly recommend visiting here.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    167
    32
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A real New Years Day treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

I visited Baco restaurant as my New Years Day treat after visiting their sister restaurant Cicollini several days earlier. I'd not taken the liberty of booking a table in advance but as a solo traveller was relieved to be met by the excellent welcoming Maître'D who offered me the opportunity to sample the culinary delights of his finely appointed establishment. I was not disappointed with my
choice and although given a cursory "time limit" ( 1 1/2 hours) I was treated with impeccable efficiency and politeness. The real treat was the food which was amazingly fresh and flavoursome with the best quality cut of meat and ingredients utilised and the presentation was outstanding. As a "real" foodie and food critic I have enjoyed the finest food in London, New York, Rome, Paris & Hong Kong visiting numerous restaurants such as The Ivy, Gordon Ramsay, Per Se - New York I feel I have the first hand experience and knowledge to personally recommend Baco as one of the finest restaurants I've visited and would not hesitate to award it the highest accolade. A true find and jewel in the crown in South American fine dining.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YummyJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
69 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Alpaca, not the wool.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

My first taste of Alpaca was worth the restaurant despite the warning to leave before the next setting was due. Again, another challenge of traveling in high season

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cilantrofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Pizza, but Hold the Cheese!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

After travelling for over a week in Peru, we needed a gastronomic change of pace from the Peruvian theme. What is more nurturing than a good pizza right? After scouring the northern end of the plaza we went to the cathedral end and fell upon Baco, near the Marriott. We loved the ambience from the start, the menu was interesting with great pizza selections and an extensive and interesting wine list.
Not overly hungry, we ordered a prosciutto pizza with basil and spinach as well as a 'Hot'n'Spicy' with Peruvian chills and chorizo. Fresh ingredients and a lovely crisp base made these pizzas potentially fantastic except that they were way too cheesy - shame. If you like your pizzas extra cheesy, this is the place for you because everything else was excellent.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wrightson33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Deserves a much better ranking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

We wanted to try Cicciolina with no reservation and had to leave because they were fully booked. They referred us to their sister restaurant Baco. First we thought we were referred to second class but after experiencing Baco we were happy that Cicciolina was too busy.
Baco is a heaven of peace and quiet compared to Cicciolina.
The food is good and the service fast and friendly. In fact we were so happy with Baco that at the end we ate there 3 times during our stay in Cusco.
Well recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KvG01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baco also viewed

Cusco, Cusco Region
Cusco, Cusco Region
 
Cusco, Cusco Region
Cusco, Cusco Region
 
Cusco, Cusco Region
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to Baco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing