We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting interpretation of local food and great wine selection”
Review of Baco

Baco
Ranked #36 of 715 Restaurants in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Mandello del Lario, Italy
Level Contributor
916 reviews
652 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 557 helpful votes
“Interesting interpretation of local food and great wine selection”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

The restaurant is right in front of the JW Marriott hotel, and is easyly accessible.
The decoration is very modern and almost metropolitan in contrast with the streets outside. An easy going place, yet the quality of food is outstanding. The service is informal but professional. Maybe because of the excellent choice of wine available the noise can exceed what one would expect... but alcool and altitude can have strange effects.
The same owners run also Cicciolina restaurant which we have not tried.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gilardoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    172
    34
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
127 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very Good Guinea Pig”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We walked into Baco as we were hungry and wanted to try guinea pig, Cusquena Beer, and wanted to pay with a credit card.

The waiter was kind and had a lot of patience with us.
We stared off with salad with delicious large avocado that had great flavor. The sauces were terrific!
I ordered deep fried guinea pig which was very tasty, similar to dark meat fried turkey. My lady ordered delicious large prawns that were perfectly cooked with 2 glasses of wine. The meal was reasonable at around $40 including a 10% tip.

I would definitely suggest trying this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marshmallowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
170 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Stop in Here!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Ate dinner here our first night in Cusco. Great service, very helpful with the menu. Our waiter recommended an appetizer that had different sauces in ceramic bowls. It was very unique and worth ordering! Restaurant is decorated with very modern paintings. It looks a bit fancy, but we wore our outdoor clothing and didn't feel out of place at all.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
Level Contributor
202 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We went here in part because it was on the way to our hotel and in part because it was in our guide book. It's much more sophisticated than I expected to find here. Husband had the alpaca and I had soup and salad. The service was seamless, and the atmosphere is welcoming. It looks fancy from the outside, but we went in in boots and jeans and were not out of place. This is a gem. Do try.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jen1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic food organised to perfection by an outstanding maître d'.”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Greeted by a larger than life character named Sergio we were seated immediately, explained the menu and sorted for drinks. Entrée was delicious and set the standard for the rest of the meal. The cuyi is well worth a try. Overall outstanding experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nadsdrawkcab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baco also viewed

Cusco, Cusco Region
Cusco, Cusco Region
 
Cusco, Cusco Region
Cusco, Cusco Region
 
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to Baco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing