We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We at at Cicciolina twice during our stay in Cusco.”
Review of Cicciolina

Cicciolina
Ranked #34 of 729 Restaurants in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Peruvian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Houston, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“We at at Cicciolina twice during our stay in Cusco.”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We were a party of five both times and got great service and food both times. The food was inventive and the wine fantastic. We spent about $35 for dinner and wine and considered that a great deal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathyadamsclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,672
    1,027
    277
    72
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Some of the best food in cusco”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

This is NOT an Italian restaurant. It's fusion Peruvian with multiple international influences (Italian, Asian, etc). They cook out of a tiny kitchen, but results are amazing. We ate there twice. All our choices were superb, especially seafood. Service was excellent. They even accomodated a reservation screw-up (wrong night). GO!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bcereus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Great Pre/Post Trek Dinner. So Good. So, So Good.”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Cicciolina had been suggested to me by a couple of tourists during my stay in Cusco, but more importantly by my trek guide as a place to indulge in a great meal without being over-the-top or too posh.

Man, he nailed it. Excellent, interesting food, great wine and good ambiance. I went full-bore and had an appetizer, a main, dessert and 2 glasses of wine (hey, trekking takes a lot of calories). It was honestly one of the best meals I had in a long time.

I know the place can get crowded at times, but as a single traveler I had no problem walking up without reservations and getting a seat at the bar around 7-8pm. In fact, I decided to eat at Cicciolina after my trek as well and found several seats open again at 9pm.

There weren't any other solo diners at the bar during my visits, but the food and my Kindle were all I needed to be perfectly content. Definitely a restaurant and not a bar scene.

As for that bar I sauntered up to, it was a little difficult to get noticed on my own at times, as is so often the case in the no-man's-land between bartenders and waiter. Overall I wouldn't say it affected the dining experience however.

My meals were definitely on the more expensive side of Peruvian prices, but a fraction of the price I'd expect to pay for the quantity and quality of food in the US. I believe my final bill was in the neighborhood of $32.

I enthusiastically sent my parents to Cicciolina when they visited Peru a few months later and they were as pleased as I was. Perhaps in part due to the relief of having suggested it to a number of travelers before actually having dined there!

Eat at Cicciolina. It may feel unimaginative, since it seems to be *the place* to go and recommended by almost every publication, but there's reason why.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank imSoNull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDC
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“one of the best restaurants in town”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I used to live in Cusco and when we had special events for both personal and professional reasons, we would always choose Cicciolina. This is a warm and inviting location, ALWAYS full and best of all, run by a charming local family. The food is delicious, the wine list is great and the location is within one block of the main plaza tucked away just behind the Cathedral. As a travel agent, I recommend this restaurant all the time to even the most elite of clients. It is romantic for couples and cozy for groups as well. You will not regret it. Make sure you make reservations and Buen Provecho!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danielle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley,CA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Romantic but Average”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We came here on Thanksgiving night in order to celebrate the American holiday while abroad with some delicious food. We had reservations yet unexpectedly we ran more than 45 minutes late, but they still honored our reservation! They were kind and the service was extremely consistent as well.

My partner had the french onion soup and tagliatelle with chicken and mixed veggies which he absolutely enjoyed. I had the scallops as an appetizer and the gnocchi, both of which were extremely regrettable. The scallops were in a dark thin sauce that had too much vinegar or bitterness, and completely overpowered the scallops. In addition the gnocchi was just inedible - the sauce and the pasta felt similar to eating unpleasant cheese and dough. All in all, the food was inconsistent. I left hungry.

With 2 appetizers, 2 entrees, and 2 glasses of wine - the total came out to around $90 dollars, which is on the pricier end of things in Cusco. It isn't as cheap as the $10-15 dollar Tripadvisor suggests unless you plan denying yourself any pleasure. Worth a try - just be cautious on what you order.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mayi563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cicciolina also viewed

 
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to Cicciolina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing