We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much Better Available”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pirwa Posada del Corregidor
Ranked #233 of 454 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Much Better Available”
Reviewed December 26, 2011

The location definitely can't be beat, but other than that, find yourself something better. The hostel is freezing cold, and is basically built like an amphitheater. We heard every word anyone said the entire time we stayed. The staff had nothing to say about the constant yelling by other guests at 5 am that would wake everyone else up. Of the six days we stayed, it happened every day, and from different people. Even the cleaning staff were extremely loud first thing in the morning, laughing and having a great time with the other workers. The free breakfast was basic and that's even talking it up. If you don't mind those things and are just looking for location then by all means this is your place. You should be able to find better very easy.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelready7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    53
    47
    19
    14
See reviews for
27
42
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2011

Potentially this could be a fantastic hotel. It is on the Plaza de Armas (main square) so you just walk out the door and you have everything you need and fantastic sights! This is about all it has going for it though. It needs a lot of work.

The showers are terrible. They dribble and are either freezing or boiling hot. Once it just stopped working in the middle of the shower and we had to get the guy at reception to come and fix it. The internet only sometimes works and more often it doesn't work. The beds are a mix, my bed was awful. It was basically just two mattresses and I felt like I would be thrown off if I moved but Mum's bed seemed fine. The lamp in the room is all broken and there is only one socket for you to plug things into, no safe in the room and no where to hide things and breakfast was appalling just a couple of slices of toast and some coffee. Another thing is the towels are old, grubby, grey and they never left us any. Every night we had to go downstairs and ask for two towels.

We have stayed in two rooms, the second was better than the first. The first room smelt so bad and we couldn't work out what it was until we found two head sized holes in the bathroom wall. One lead into what was the kitchen of the restaurant next door and the other to the restaurant stairs so very noisy and freezing cold! They have heaters in the room which seems the only source of heating in the place and as there aren't enough sockets you have to choose whether you want heat, light or to charge your things.

For $25 a night I don't think you can find worse!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosiejohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cusco hotels

Tokyo, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2011

Stayed at this hostel for 3 nights in a double-bed private room. The location is perfect since it is exactly in the main square on Cusco and at walking distance from clubs, bars, restaurants, shops and touristic agencies.

The room was roomy enough and clean since the staff would take care of it once a day. It had free wifi 24 hours a day. It is also safe; we could keep our baggage for hours with no locks inside the room and all of our items were there after cleaning time. They offer free breakfast every morning; it is not a big one, but it fuels you up.

Since it is close to the clubs, the noise can make sleeping a bit difficult for some people, but it wasn't our case.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdHigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 11, 2011

I stayed there for two days... The hostel is well located in Plaza de Armas, Cuzco, but that´s about it... They serve the breakfast late in the morning, so you could not have it because the expeditions or tours are expected you to leave early in the morning... There are much better places in Plaza de Armas, Cuzco...

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank romibluesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2010

i was in pirwa bed and b&b only can to rescue good thing about this hostel is the location - right in the Plaza des Armas but my next time in cusco I will avoid this place, the price is cheap but you will hear disco music until about 4am every night, i couldnt sleep well my 3 nights there, then the water no is hot, almost cold. The receptionist who works at night is so rude, i reserved my room two week ago before my arrive to cusco and he didnt want to get me a room! i need to insist many times for my room!
actually i dont advice you this hostel

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2009

we stayed at this hostel for 3 nights and had a great stay. the staff were friendly and helpful, it was super clean, and the location was awesome.

yes, the room was small, and the walls were very thin... but for the price we paid, and the location, we would happily stay here again. we also loved the restuarant that was sort of attached to this hostel :)

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdntravelgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2009

The only good thing about this place is the location - right in the Plaza des Armas, however, there are plenty of other places around. I would avoid this place. Walls are paper thin, so it's loud, and as another review mentioned, you hear bad disco music until about 4am every night, as well as every conversation going on in the hostel. It's cold, the water takes forever to heat up and never actually gets hot, just warmish. There is one computer for internet and it wasn't working half the time we were there. The receptionist who works at night is rude and did try to charge us extra for the room (a point that is also mentioned in another review). Breakfast is basically a piece of bread and tea or coffee.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank machupicchu09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Cusco Catedral
0.0 mi away
Hostal El Chaski
Hostal El Chaski
#277 of 454 in Cusco
48 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inca Wasi
Inca Wasi
#180 of 454 in Cusco
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pirwa Garcilaso Hostel
Pirwa Garcilaso Hostel
#74 of 454 in Cusco
33 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Virrey Boutique Hostal
0.1 mi away
Hostal Inti Wasi - Plaza de Armas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pirwa Posada del Corregidor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pirwa Posada del Corregidor

Property: Pirwa Posada del Corregidor
Address: Portal De Panes 151 | Main Square of Cusco, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #233 of 454 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pirwa Posada del Corregidor 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pirwa Posada del Corregidor is located right in the main square of Cusco, the Plaza de Armas. Breakfast is served in its restaurant, Plus, which boasts wonderful views of the square. Aside from a great location and free continental breakfast, reservations also include internet + Wi-Fi, hot water 24/7, and luggage storage. All of the rooms have private bathrooms and cable TV. We recommend Pirwa Posada del Corregidor to travelers seeking a central location and basic but comfortable lodging at low prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Pirwa Posada del Corregidor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing