We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place to stay if Solo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pirwa Colonial Hostel
Ranked #67 of 498 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The hostal was pretty cool. They have several locations, I stayed in the Colonial hostal which is near the main square but pleasantly removed by about 3 blocks. It is VERY cold at night, but it's cold just about everywhere in Cusco during the winter, so that was to be expected. If you are prepared with warm clothes though it's fine. I was traveling solo, so it was nice that this place had other solo travelers and a bar. There is a bar upstars that serves cheap food and decent priced drinks. The bartender and this girl that gives Salsa lessons were really cool and I had a ton of fun with them. I also met several really cool other travelers so that was nice too. The breakfast was good in the morning, more than just the standard "bread" that most hostal's serve as "breakfast." There is also a resident cat who lives at the hostal, and he/she adds a nice homey feel to the place! Very friendly. The staff were helpful. It can be loud at night with the bar, but the bar closes around 12 so it doesn't go all night. Oh, and the hot water actually works! All in all I would say it was a very good value for the money and I would totally stay here again.

Room Tip: Bring warm clothes in the winter, it gets really cold at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karentiffany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (260)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

59 - 65 of 260 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2012

Surface deep this place is fine. If you can sleep heavily through loud noises, lack of curtains and so on. The shower in the double room wet the whole bathroom as the curtain wasn't long enough, this in turn meant the door was warped and didn't close. Nice for privacy. The staff couldn't tear their eyes away from the TV long enough to be interested in you.

Finally, and it's a biggy, the third floor isn't finished, so there's not a roof, there's a gap between the second and third floor which you could easily fall through. And.... they're building a hotel next door and they kept going past 9pm.

Ear plugs, eye mask, good with heights, don't need a roof - you'll be fine.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mantles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

They have reasonable prices. However, if you want a double room, they do not have any rooms with a private bath. I am ok with shared bathrooms, but in the case of this hostel you have to walk outside to get to the bathroom. In some cases this is fine, but during July in Cusco, it is too cold to do this! We left and went to another hotel nearby.

Room Tip: Get one near the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank imdizzy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Pirwa is a great place to meet various people. However, we did not find the staff helpful in arranging things. The tour they helped us book to Machu Picchu was fine, but we could have done a better job on our own. They were of no help in finding things to do in the city. It was very loud and quite cold in the winter time as there is no heat in the building.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

Everything about this hostel is great. If it weren't for the stiff competition in Cusco it would be full every day. Not to noisy, clean and great beds. A beautiful old mansion on a perfect location, 3 minutes from the main square. Fast WiFi (compared to the 1kbps at other places in Cusco, like Wild Rover).

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

The guy at the reception desk was funny, he didnt tell us that the main lock in the room is not working and we have to lock with the locker..so we had to open the room like McGyver. There were 15degress inside of the room, but blankets were big enough. Breakfast ok, very clean bathrooms. there is small 'room' in the middle of square with tv and pc, and with cat, which is very friendly. after the checkout you can leave the baggage in baggage space and go to explore the city

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burtie144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Do not notice the bad English, because it is an adapted translation of the Portuguese in the google translator.

The hostel has a very nice, friendly, the staff working there is pretty cool. Apart water from the showers that was not always hot because of the heaters, moreover, all excellent. Take a Cusqueña for me. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willian_geo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#144 of 171 in Cusco
85 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Tumi de Oro Cusco
El Tumi de Oro Cusco
#55 of 388 in Cusco
54 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cusco Packers Hostel
Cusco Packers Hostel
#1 of 498 in Cusco
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
#11 of 498 in Cusco
758 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostal Pakcha Real
Hostal Pakcha Real
#174 of 498 in Cusco
126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Mallqui
Hostal Mallqui
#56 of 498 in Cusco
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pirwa Colonial Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pirwa Colonial Hostel

Address: Plaza San francisco 360, Cusco 000000, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 498 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range: $12 - $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pirwa Colonial Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pirwa Hostels is a budget hostel chain offering economical lodging in private rooms and shared dormitories, in locations throughout Peru and Bolivia. Pirwa Colonial Hostel is located in Plaza San Francisco, two blocks from the main square of Cusco, Peru. It boasts two interior patios, a TV and game lounge, bar, guest kitchen, and fast food stand. Services include a free continental breakfast, internet + wi-fi, luggage storage, hot water 24/7. There are occasional activities and parties. Reception is on call 24/7 and there are security cameras within and without. There's also security lockers in the shared dorms for your backpacks, and extra, smaller lockers outside of the rooms for any belongings you want to take special care with. There's also an information desk staffed by Pirwa Travel tour & transport specialists. Pirwa Colonial is a one-stop shop for backpackers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Pirwa Colonial Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pirwa Hostels Backpackers Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing