We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent, charming hotel in the centre of Cusco”
Review of Cusco Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cusco Plaza
Ranked #121 of 169 Hotels in Cusco
London
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Decent, charming hotel in the centre of Cusco”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We stayed here 4 nights in 2 different rooms and we found this to be a very clean and comfortable place to stay. The first 2 nights we stayed in a room on the first floor to the left of the first atrium in such a nice big room with lots of character including a mezzanine area with an extra bed. There were also heaters to keep us cosy as the weather in Cusco was raining and so it was helpful in drying our clothes.

The hotel is only two blocks from the Plaza de Armas and there were lots of great restaurants and bars nearby which was great not having to walk too far. The second room we stayed in was slightly smaller but equally comfortable and both rooms had cable tv if you fancied a night in. The linen was very clean and so too were the towels.

There was plenty of hot water and the showers were very good and the standard of cleanliness overall was high.

The courtyard areas inside were welcoming where you could sit and read and the wifi connection was free and the signal was strong in this area and not obtainable in the rooms. I would say that the downside is that as there is an atrium, noise does tend to travel and echo which is something to consider although people were generally very respectful when we stayed there and this wasn't a problem at night.

The breakfast was average with fruit juice, tea/coffee, breads and cereals but as per the other reviews I would highly recommend Jack's restaurant which was so good if you are missing a taste of home.

We enjoyed staying here very much and would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Room recommendation: take the staircase to the left of the atrium to the 1st floor and turn left and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biffro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    53
    76
    25
    21
See reviews for
18
65
29
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

A clean, comfortable hotel. Only two blocks from Plaza de Armas. On the opposite side of the road from the hotel entrance and towards thePlaza is a great coffee/cake shop and perfect if you want a larger breakfast than the one provided in the hotel. Plenty of hot water and a good shower makes it perfect for an after Inca Trail stay. Built around a series of courtyards the rooms are functional. Voices do echo in the courtyard but the noise was not particularly intrusive. The staff were helpful and all our baggage was stored safely while we were trekking. Free wifi in the foyer area which needed to be reset by the staff a couple of times to get it working, good signal once it was up.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YourCruiseAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We stayed here before and after our Gap Adventures tour of the Inca Trail and Machu Picchu. The main plaza with all the best restaurants and things to see is literally a couple of minutes walk away. The roof in the communal areas did leak a bit with heavy rain so was a bit slippy in places. Overall would definitely recommend if you want a bit of luxury but a reasonable price after the gruelling Inca Trail!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzieo89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth, australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Was clean and had hot showers. The wifi was free but only works in the main foyer area. Free tea and coffee all day and breakfast was pretty dceent. You can also order eggs. Great location as was two blocks from the main square. They were a bit disorganised with regards to luggage storgae and i had to go hunting for my bag in the luggage room.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nfallen01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. Serves the purpose as a place to sleep but not much else. It does have a little charm but nothing fancy here. Just a 2 minute walk to the main square and immediately in the area of many shops, restaurants, attractions. I stayed in two different rooms. TV, no fridge and I didn't have problem with hot water. The rooms located in or near the lobby will have access to free WIFI but all other rooms don't. You can hear everything through the walls and door but didn't bother me much. People staying here are travellers so it's still pretty quiet at night. Included buffet breakfast is poor. Cereals/bread, ham and cheese slices. You can order two eggs every morning. If you want to eat a serious breakfast, look up Jack's Café! For an awesome dinner you have to go to Marcelo Batata! Best meal I had in years!!!!!

This hotel was included as part of a package so I don't know what the cost was for a night. I say if you get a good price, it's a good place to stay.

Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank BeenThere01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Good location, but everything else is horrible. NOT recommended. No hot water and VERY noisy. When we returned from the Inca Trail our backpack, which was stored in the storage room, was soaked.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stig N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cusco hotels

Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

This is a conveniently located, clean budget hotel. Be warned though that it can be noisy due to some rooms being arranged as if in a prison hall!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tristramboris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Royal Qosqo
Hotel Royal Qosqo
#98 of 169 in Cusco
130 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Casona Real Hotel
La Casona Real Hotel
#93 of 169 in Cusco
58 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casablanca Cusco
Hotel Casablanca Cusco
#149 of 169 in Cusco
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garcilaso
Hotel Garcilaso
#67 of 169 in Cusco
227 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tecte Guest House
Tecte Guest House
#90 of 169 in Cusco
39 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Monasterio San Pedro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cusco Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cusco Plaza

Property: Cusco Plaza
Address: Calle Saphi 486 | Plaza Nazarenas 181, Cusco, Peru (Formerly Hotel Cusco Plaza II)
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 169 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cusco Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Cusco Plaza Saphy is located one block from the Plaza de Armas, in a colonial mansion from the 19th century, which has been restored preserving much of its traditional architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Cusco Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Ii Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing