We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The price, The service, The location = ****”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cusco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hospedaje Casa Elena
Ranked #74 of 167 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
St. John's, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
464 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“The price, The service, The location = ****”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Casa Elena

We spent 4 nights at Casa Elena, with our initial intent being just the one night. The are hundreds of varying types of accommodations in this tourist town, however the $130 Sols (approx. .$50.00) per night was right for our budget and we were quite satisfied with the overall accommodations. You are really minutes away from restaurants, the principal Plaza (Armas), Inka museum plus several others in the area, ATM are scattered about this town and you won't have far to walk to find one, and shops catering exclusive to the tourist are in the 1000's. Needless to say you won't have walked very far before some with something to sell will approach you, however unlike in some countries they don't continue to hassle you. Best approach is either say No Thank You or just ignore their approach. You will find the local authorities see the importance and value of the tourist in that we have seen more regular and Tourist Police out and about the streets of Cusco than in any other place in our 3 months in Chile & Argentina. Just a 2 minute walk down the street from Casa Elena is one of the few, if not the ONLY restaurant in Cusco, where you will see at the front entrance, Please Wait To Be Seated. Jack's is very popular with tourist ranging from the backpacker to those of us now more accustomed to 3 star hotels / B&B. Food is great and beautifully presented. Our room in Casa Elena was #11, quiet, clean and aside from the absence of a closet just great. We opted for the two beds, one Queen and a single, the latter seving as our 'closet' as it were. Their breakfast was ample and given our 3 months experience with
'breakfast in South America' we place it at the top area of the list with a few others. We did use their laundry facilities and were satisfied with result and price. In late April it can be cool some nights at this altitude so we requested and received a portal electric heater which was quite adequate. We noted later a sign downstairs indicating this 'service 'cost $15 Sol per night of use. They will allow you to store/leave your luggage should you have time to spare well before flight time. Would return here should we have a 3rd occasion to visit Cusco.

Room Tip: We found Room #11 quite adequate in most respects, cf comments no closet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jnanayog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    49
    13
    6
    2
See reviews for
36
47
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carbondale, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I should have written this note a year ago when I stayed at this beautiful hotel. My husband and I have nothing but good things to say about the place. The hospitality was heartwarming, the rooms large and comfortable, the breakfasts delicious and the price was right. I would recommend Casa Elena without hesitation to anyone wanting a special experience of Cusco.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda33342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is a very quaint hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Not much English is spoken here, so be sure to have a Spanish/English dictionary handy. The rooms were spacious and clean. Free hot breakfast was available. This hotel was easy to find and only a few blocks away from the main center. Very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eyee5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The hotel itself is quite basic but clean and the location is great (not in the middle of the centre but only a couple of streets away, which makes it quiet in this busy town).

It can be a bit cold at times as the rooms do not have any heating but additional blankets can be provided upon request.

We really felt welcomed by Elena and she is definitely looking after her guests. We also received plenty of good tips on what to do/visit in the area.

Overall good but basic hotel and with the special service touch!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonPistachio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I had a very good time at Cuzco, definitely a place I would recommend.
Part of this positive experience was my accommodation at "Casa Elena".
This family run business is very friendly, tidy and the location is superb. All the staff was very helpful and I would definitely go back there in the future. Happy trip everyone.

Room Tip: All room are good and tidy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alejandro F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, MI
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Casa Elena is located in the heart of Cusco. The location was perfect, being just a few minutes walk to the central square. There were plenty of coffee shops, restaurants, pharmacies and so forth all around us. The rooms were basic, but they were roomy, well kept and very clean. Breakfast was very filling. The service from Elena was exceptional. She went out of her way to assist us in our travel plans and was extremely accommodating no matter what time we needed to speak with her about our arrangements. She really made the stay perfect for us. We thoroughly enjoyed out stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emactravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Hotel is perfeclty located in middle of the city main's attractions, few minutes from Plaza de Armas, just next to San Blas,etc...
Bedrooms are basic but clean.
Breakfast is not exceptionnal but like everywhere in Peru.
Convenient because you can leave your big backpack if yuo go several days in the Scared Valley.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Principe III
Hotel Principe III
#62 of 167 in Cusco
117 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wakapunku Hotel Boutique
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ruinas
Hotel Ruinas
#52 of 167 in Cusco
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa San Blas Boutique
Casa San Blas Boutique
#13 of 167 in Cusco
808 reviews
0.1 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
0.4 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#110 of 167 in Cusco
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospedaje Casa Elena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospedaje Casa Elena

Property: Hospedaje Casa Elena
Address: Calle Choquechaca 162, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Cusco
#41 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Hospedaje Casa Elena Hotel Cusco
Hospedaje Casa Elena Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing