We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing gem in Cuzco!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostal Madre Tierra
Ranked #56 of 533 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2012

This little family owned hotel is a real gem in the bustling city of Cuzco. The staff are extremely nice and smiley all the time, even though they don't speak English which could be a problem for some people, but not for us;)
The building is very original and made out of clay and wood. In a feng shui tradition all rooms are organised in a particular manner and style. The breakfast in the morning is simple but satisfactory with a freshly squeezed orange juice and toast with eggs any style.
The only problem we had was the hot water. There was some but it seems there is a problem with regulating the stream and while taking a shower suddenly from very hot the water will turn to extremely cold, which generally is not the most pleasant thing. That of course wouldn't stop me of coming back to this beautiful "homey" place.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ileto_star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 142 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2012

A lovely, good value little hotel with friendly staff (although they don't speak English). The hotel is like a hobbit hole with cute little cosy rooms and a homely communal area. Nice bathrooms with hot water but no heating in the rooms (this is the same all over Peru).

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Hostal Madre Tierra saved our bacon. We were booked at a hostel across the road and no one answered the door - we rang the bell, knocked and waited for ten minutes. Then looked across the road and saw the beautiful Madre Tierra, with a lovely lounge and perfectly decked out for Christmas. We knocked, they answered us immediately and welcomed us with a cup of tea, and checked us in. The staff are amazingly friendly, the breakfast is excellent and we had a wonderful stay and are going back for a couple more nights. The location is also brilliant up in picturesque San Blas.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynseyBinsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We loved the hotel and the staff who were very attentive the rooms comfortable and showers good. However they use a travel agent 'Magda' who cannot be relied upon. She charged us a premium price which we were happy to pay but were left with a very inferior tour with a guide who had to be reminded constantly to translate to English. She agreed to refund part of the money but failed to do so at the promised location and time. Do not book anything with them.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BonnieBallarat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

After confirming our late check in on booking.com the hotel refused to honor our reservation. Upon arrival, we were taken around the corner to a clearly inferior hotel. Although we had reserved a triple room, the staff member from Madre Tierra asked if we would instead take a room with one double bed and one single bed at the new inferior hotel. We declined and he became upset. Eventually at the second hotel we were given 2 double rooms. The staff member from Madre Tierra wanted us to pay the Madre Tierra rate for these rooms ($64). We argued until he agreed to charge us $45, which he claimed was the rate for a triple at the new hotel. I doubt it was this much. Furthermore, one of the rooms at the new hotel had a glass wall covered only by a curtain that separated it from the breakfast room. Needless to say, we slept very poorly.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Unescolover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica M, Propietario at Hostal Madre Tierra, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

We are very sorry for your comments but are gratefull as it helped us to change our people in the Hostal. We have a new Staff with better service and specially respecting the reserve of the passengers.

If you would decide to come back to Cusco we will give you a night free beside a 50% discount over our normal rate.

Kind regards
Mónica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

We chanced upon this hostal and were most pleasantly surprised. Although it is not like any hostal I have stayed in before. We ended up staying 3 nights. Clean room at a reasonable price. A shower with constant hot water, which is rare in Cusco. The best thing was the welcoming and helpful staff and a warm breakfast. Be prepared to walk the stairs in San Blas to get there, but still only a 10 min walk from Plaza Armas.Thank you very much.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vroom9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2011

I stayed here with my wife and mother in law in early January, 2011. The place seemed nice and the location was ideal in the San Blas district. However, things turned sour at breakfast when the staff tried to say that the hotel doesn´t serve fruit or eggs with breakfast despite the fact we were told when quoted the price per night that it did. Worse still, we had seen the Peruvian guests before us enjoying a full breakfast with eggs, fruit and the works. When I showed a staff member an unwashed pan full of scrambled eggs she became very nervous and actually left the hotel! Unfortunately, we had already paid in full the night before and had to catch a plane back to Lima so we never had the opportunity to take the issue up with management. Don´t make the same mistake we did, there are tons of places to stay in San Blas. Madre de Tierra takes advantage of tourists.

Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank tpaul55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica M, Propietario at Hostal Madre Tierra, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

We are very sorry for the experience you had at our Hostal. We would offer you two nights free in compensation for the inconvenient you had. We have renewed all our staff and are sure you would feel kindly welcome again.
Kind regards
Mónica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#16 of 172 in Cusco
1,552 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#160 of 172 in Cusco
89 reviews
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pirwa Colonial Hostel
Pirwa Colonial Hostel
#57 of 533 in Cusco
268 reviews
1 mi away
El Tumi de Oro Cusco
El Tumi de Oro Cusco
#63 of 403 in Cusco
54 reviews
0.5 mi away
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
#10 of 533 in Cusco
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Madre Tierra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Madre Tierra

Address: Calle Atocsaycuchi 647 - A | San Blas, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 533 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range: $61 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Madre Tierra 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostal Madre Tierra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing