We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff”
Review of El Mariscal Cusco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Mariscal Cusco
Ranked #58 of 170 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Very helpful lady speaking very good English. We were leaving very early in the morning and they brought stuff for breakfast the previous night. We did have a bit of trouble finding it, as there was no sign outside. There is a very good bakery just around the corner and a fruit market a short walk away. Very good value for money, would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank MagMoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
There are newer reviews for El Mariscal Cusco
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

65 - 71 of 253 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2014

I wish all hostels were as nice as this one. Elizabeth, the hostel's owner was the sweetest person in Cusco. Her staff were there at a moments notice. Wi-Fi was excellent. Very clean & spacious. Free filtered water allows you to refill your water bottles. I added a lot more information in the "tip" section of this review.
Thank you Elizabeth for helping the lost American's find their way around town. You are truly the best.

Room Tip: 1. Best service ever. Elizabeth, the owner, was very informative and super sweet. 2. Free filtered...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodi3030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

This little hotel is a boutique like hotel, very small and personal. It is located on a quiet street closed in on one end so you don't hear a lot of traffic. There are few identifiers so bring the exact address as taxis might have trouble finding it. The rooms are small, but comfortable, there is a small bathroom with shower, bring your own toiletries. There were three beds in our room with the most comfortable sheets and warmest blankets. Small flat screen in the room. There's even a small kitchenette, and you have breakfast delivered to your room in the morning. There is a comfortable meeting area below with a large TV, computer, and jug of water. There is free Wifi in the hotel. The hotel was very clean. The best part was the inn keeper. She was a sweet lady, very friendly and ready to accommodate any requests or problems as best she can. They are very flexible and communicable. Also just a few minuted from the main square, walkable. We never ever felt unsafe. We enjoyed our stay very much and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank puteshestvenniki5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 2 nights after our Inca trail. Great room, one double bed & 2 single beds. They serve breakfast in the room. Staff is very friendly and helpful. I think they do an excellent job! We had an early morning flight and they served us breakfast at 5:40am! Which is very good service. We also had last minute laundry, no problem. Only thing, they have some construction work going on as they are building additional rooms. But furtunately they started at 10am, it was noisy and a bit annoying. After the Inca trail the inly thing you want is sleeping. It is also a bit hidden and no name on the house. 10min walk to Plaza de Armas. Address is spot on, so you should find it with no problems. But overall great service for 40USD a night. I would go back.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viajando4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Wonderful reception. Hidden behind a quiet door sits this gem of a B&B. Every time you arrive back to your home away from home, you are greeted warmly by owner and staff. Receptionist even carried my bag up the stairs. Large room with one double bed and two twins was perfect for my grown son and I. Eggs and bread each morning helped start the day, although Nescafe was tiresome. Small bath but extra hot strong shower was very welcome. A ten minute walk to middle of chaos in Cusco. Nice quiet neighborhood, very safe feeling.. And all for $40 a night.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaliforniaPenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We had a wonderful stay here!! This hostal is a bit hidden away and can be hard to find (there is no name on the door / front), but the address is spot on, so you will find it. It is in a cul-de-sac so very quiet and a good area. The main square is a pleasant 10 - 15 min walk away and most of the other sights are very close.The hostess is so stunning, helpful and friendly and she made our stay! You get cocoa tea on arrival which is a very nice touch and they will also bring you breakfast in your room if you have an early flight or tour - no matter what time! You just have to arrange it before the time. This was really good service - the breakfast is basic, but very fresh and good!
You don't get a key for the front gate / door but can ring the bell any time of the day 24 hours, was a bit weird but we were always greeted with a smile! All the staff went out of their way to help you.
The room was small but super comfortable and very well equipped - plenty of space to hang towels and put toiletries, lots of plugs - even a fridge, microwave and basin with crockery. The bed was very comfortable with lots of blankets and pillows, side tables with reading lights - huge fluffy towels.
The only small thing that wasn't so nice, was that we were on the ground floor and the window faces into the lobby / sitting area, so had to keeps blinds closed and didn't have any natural light or view. But I think all the rooms on floors above face in and don't have an outside window, so it doesn't make a difference and with all the other great points it wasn't really a problem - we were out most of the days in anyways!
Would definitely recommend this hotel - awesome service, clean and great location!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors, as the window face in you won't have to close the blinds al...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Talia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Elizabeth and the staff went above and beyond to make our stay pleasant. They are sweet, hospitable and professional! There is a small fridge, a microwave, cable TV, phone and a safe in the room. Elizabeth is the best host ever, and because of her, we didn't have problems going to Aguas Calientes! She advised about the size of our luggage and kept our big luggage for 4 extras days in her hotel without any extra charges! (FYI the Peruvian train DO NOT allowed big suitcases!) The hotel is a short 15 minute walk from the main plaza "Plaza de la Armas" and on Lucrepata street you can find a delicious bakery! El Mariscal Cusco is a great hotel and my husband, two extra friends and myself, we all give a thumbs up and an extra points for the amazing personnel! We had a great time/service! We totally recommend! Nayara and Gregory Jones - May15/2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nayara333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Unumizu Cusco
Hotel Unumizu Cusco
#51 of 170 in Cusco
315 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Golden Inca
Hotel Golden Inca
#39 of 170 in Cusco
447 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tecte Guest House
Tecte Guest House
#89 of 170 in Cusco
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mirador de Santa Ana
Mirador de Santa Ana
#64 of 170 in Cusco
212 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ninos Hotel Meloc
Ninos Hotel Meloc
#24 of 170 in Cusco
1,108 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amaru Hostal
Amaru Hostal
#35 of 170 in Cusco
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Mariscal Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Mariscal Cusco

Address: Urbanizacion Lucrepata F-6, Cusco 051, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 170 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range: $55 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Mariscal Cusco 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your El Mariscal Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing