We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inkaterra La Casona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inkaterra La Casona
Ranked #2 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2009

My wife and I just completed a 12 day stay in peru, staying at a total of 6 hotels. The Inkaterra La Casona was by far the best. Fantastic location, rooms, service and restaurant are wonderful. Pass up the other Inkaterra properties but consider staying at La Casona, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnysocal17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    31
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
78
257
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2009

This hotel is absolutely beautiful, it is a small, boutique place, perfect for couples, homeymoons and those wishing to just splash out and indulge on a luxury trip. Inkaterra really does cater for your every need, and they pay attention to even the smallest of details, including slippers with your size, hot water bottles ready in the bed, under floor heating. The bath-tubs are just a delight - completely over-sized - you won't want to get out!!

The location is perfect, just a 5 minute stroll to the main square. The hotel is situated in a rather affluent area of Cusco opposite the Monasterio Hotel and next to the fabulous Fallen Angel steak restaurant/bar - which is a MUST!!!!

The food here is exquisite and the service formidable! Recommend at least 3 nights here. It isn't cheap -but it is definitely worth the price!

I booked my stay with 360 Luxuries, who tailor make luxury travel arrangements in Peru.

http://www.360luxuries.com/luxury/latin-america-holiday.asp

  • Liked — The sheer size of the rooms and the luxurious decoration throughout
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank ltrace81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, eCommerce Manager at Inkaterra La Casona, responded to this review, April 14, 2009
Many thanks for your positive review about Inkaterra La Casona. Indeed, encouraging evaluation such as yours make us strive to work harder to maintain the standards and service brand that is Inkaterra. Likewise, we are glad to see that you recommend a 3 nights stay minimum at La Casona which is certainly ideal. In fact, we offer specials ideal for romantic getaways, a vacation of a lifetime, a special gift or a perfectly private wedding or honeymoon destination. Also, Inkaterra La Casona combines the best aspects of a villa rental, a luxury hotel and private mansion concept all in one. Think luxury private villa for your family and friends in Cusco -it offers more space, seclusion and sumptuousness in an exclusive and exquisite experience.

We hope to welcome you back or your family and friends to La Casona in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2009

I stayed here with my partner for 2 nights in the Patio room which has 2 basins, a shower and a freestanding bath (which unfortunately I didn't have time to use). The room also has a fireplace and complimentary mini bar. Everything about this hotel is beautiful and luxurious and the staff are very helpful. Being such a small hotel it's very quiet so don't expect to see many other guests - we didn't, although that just made us feel like we had the whole place to ourselves! If I had to give any negative feedback it would be that the room doesn't have any full length mirrors and that the mirrors in the bathroom aren't very practical for doing make-up. (Ok, So I may be a bit vain!)

My advice to you is to book this hotel if you can afford to. It's definitely one of the highlights of Cusco!!!

  • Liked — The decor of the hotel and the size of the room
  • Disliked — lack of full length mirrors
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mohito_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2008

Although it will sound as if I am just repeating the praise of the previous reviewers, I had to add to the chorus. La Casona is simply excellent and may easily be the best place to stay in Cusco. My husband and I arrived after a wonderful but exhausting few days in the Sacred Valley/Macchu Picchu, feeling the effects of travel. The beauty, comfort, and especially welcome at La Casona were perfect.

La Casona is an exquisite renovation of a beautiful colonial building. The decor is both lovely and understated. Guests enter from a quiet square through into a building arrayed around a private courtyard. The eleven suites open onto the fresh air and quiet of the courtyard. The public spaces are equally lovely. Yet you are only a block from Plaza de Armas and the Cathedral, the and only a few blocks from the San Blas district and major museums. From this convenient location, travelers can walk to everything in the central historic district and then return to a hotel that continues their experience of a visit to Cusco, but with all the amenities.

The suites are very comfortable: excellent beds, linens, decor, etc. The bathrooms are superb with shower and roman bath, and suites come with TV, DVD, sound system, refrigerator, and good internet. (That is not always easy to come when traveling in Peru.) But as other reviewers have noted, one is most impressed by the staff who, without exception, were excellent. As one reviewer stated, attentive yet discrete.

For many travelers, a visit to Peru will be a once-in-a-lifetime experience. You owe it to yourself to stay at La Casona.

  • Liked — Excellent setting and perfect service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ElyseEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, AZ
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2008

This hotel is brand new. It is extremely well located but its presence is discrete as there is no outside sign. We were extremely well catered to and the hotel and the room are drop dead gorgeous. La Casona is one of the best hotels we have stayed at, and we travel a lot.

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JoycePeoria_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, eCommerce Manager at Inkaterra La Casona, responded to this review, November 25, 2008
Dear Joyce Peoria_AZ,

Thank you very much for your positive reviews about Inkaterra La Casona. The management and staff are extremely happy with your kind words and glad to know that everything was to you utmost satisfaction.

Inkaterra La Casona operates as an exclusive residence maintaining its main doors closed, with facilities catering only to in-house guests. Visitors get pleasure from the privacy and privilege shared by those who have inhabited the manor for four centuries. Likewise, La Casona services reflect the ultimate in opulent retreat — pampering guests, and anticipating their needs. As you may have experienced, to make the most of your stay in Cusco, guest services provides savvy travel tips and insider recommendations.

We look forward to welcoming you or your family and friends to La Casona in the nearest future.

Inkaterra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2008

La Casona was a highlight of our trip with Inkaterra Peru. We did not expect that! Since the property just now opened, the photos on Inkaterra's website (taken earlier) do not do it justice.

The location, across from the Hotel Monasterio just off the main plaza, cannot be topped. The rooms are spacious and gorgeous, with a lovely blend of rustic and colonial elegance. The beds are comfortable and the linens great, and the baths (with giant roman tubs) are amazing and welcome after all the walking you'll do in the Cusco area. But the best part is the service--a perfect balance of eager and discreet, and frankly flawless.

We could not have been happier with our stay. I have stayed in suites at less renowned Four Seasons properties where the rooms and service have been poorer. La Casona is amazing.

  • Liked — impeccable service
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Kateastrophe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
222 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2008

La Casona is one of the most beautiful hotels I know.
Inkaterra is a fantastic operator who is running excellent Hotels over Peru.
We had a package with 3 of their properties and La Casona was an amazing surprise!
They are in "soft opening" operation but we had a fantastic stay!
The restaurant wasn´t ready yet, breakfast was in a kind of lobby and we didn´t have closet storage...so we had to improvise...
The propertie is from XVII century but is completely modern in terms of technology: everything you need from plasma tv, wi-fi, warm floor, fantastic bathroom, 5 o´clock tea with sweets and many tea kinds, elegance and confort....and everything you don´t need but is crazy to have: class, serenity, sumptuous ambience, pieces of art furniture, helpful staff, first class service, just 11 rooms and a architeture to remind you that you are in one of the most beautiful places in Cusco.
Thanks to Michael, the manager and the girls Carla and Tania and all the staff!
I think is just a metter of time but La Casona will be the next best hotel in Cusco, very soon!!!!

  • Liked — decor, art pieces, furniture
  • Disliked — no closet
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brazilian2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.0 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
0.0 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 162 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inkaterra La Casona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inkaterra La Casona

Property: Inkaterra La Casona
Address: Plaza Nazarenas 113, Cusco 00000, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#8 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inkaterra La Casona 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Relais & Châteaux property in Peru, an exquisite 16th century colonial manor, located just steps away from the picturesque main square. Once occupied by the conquistadors of Peru, it is now an exclusive boutique hotel that has been carefully restored to retain its historical heritage and décor. With suites set around a Spanish courtyard, the manor offers sober elegance without sacrificing authenticity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Inkaterra La Casona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inkaterra La Casona Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing