We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By far the best hotel during our stay in Peru”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #2 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2013

This hotel is amazing. The rooms were by far the best we stayed in during our 8 days in Peru. And the service and location just put this hotel over the top.

There is no way to talk about Inkaterra without talking about the rooms. A king-sized bed, a fireplace, a two-person tub, a separate shower, and all the furnishings you could want in a beautiful room. We stayed in one of the nicer (and more expensive) rooms, but the whole place was just impeccably done.

The grounds themselves are stunning. The courtyard area adds a lot of charm. The restaurant has some nice touches of greenery. The study area is beautiful. There is no awkward lobby area.

We ate breakfast there both days. We had a yogurt breakfast from their yogurt and fruit bar. It was plenty good for us. They also have a menu you can order from. The food was good, but it is hard to say exactly how good the cooked meals would be. We never ate dinner at the hotel.

The location of the hotel is fantastic. It is a short walk from the Plaza de Armas (main square) in Cusco. There is a lot to see in just a few blocks. And if you walk just a couple more blocks off the main touristy area, you get to things that feel more authentic.

The service at the hotel was fantastic. They helped arrange for transfers for us. They also handled our bags while we went to Machu Picchu. When we checked in late the night after Machu Picchu, they met us at the door and there was no lengthy check-in process. This was a great surprise given how tired we were. They walked us to our room and had us set up in just a few minutes.

For business travelers, this hotel had the best WiFi of any of the places we stayed in Peru as well.

When you get a room, be a little bit careful with which room you get. If your room is facing the street, it can be loud from the cars below. We never had problems, but we did bring ear plugs. If I was staying there again, I would at least ask about a room not overlooking the street.

But if you are staying in Cusco, you should absolutely consider this hotel.

Room Tip: Consider requesting a room that doesn't overlook the street if silence is important to you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BurgerMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (472)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

222 - 228 of 472 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2013

An unforgettable experience. Everything was perfect and the staff were so helpful. Location was just a few minutes from the main square. Quiet and peaceful. An old colonial mansion, refurbished and modernized, stayed in two different suites and both were exceptional!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VikkiSammut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at our property.

We are glad you enjoyed your experience at Inkaterra and that you keep great memories for your stay.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra La Casona!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on 3/5 November on our way to and back from Macchu Pichuu and what a disappointment...that we could not stay longer.
First , this was an outstanding small boutique hotel that I would rate among the best places I have ever stayed!
Next, Cuzco is a lovely city which I believe is not as popularized due to the trips to Macchu Picchu .
The rooms were just elegant. The room service and bed turning service with the placement of hot water bag in the bed for cold nights was so cozy, warm and loving...and he small cafeteria serves some of the best cuisine( including a nice selection of vegetarian meals) as we were all vegetarians .
After a long trip from India this was an excellent first stopover and what a fantastic place this was...
The staff was extremely well polite,and very friendly.
Best wishes to them....

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Drkeyurparikh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at our property.

We appreciate your kind comments specially those for our staff that is always willing to assist our guests in anything they may need.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra La Casona!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

This place is amazing....best hotel I've stayed in ever and by miles. Its an old colonial mansion that has been sympathetically modernised to an astonishingly high standard. Everything from bed to shower, sinks and shutters to art work on walls is in a word 'beautiful'. We came here whilst on honeymoon and felt as if we were Incan royalty (rose petals on bed one night, and they ran a lovely bath for us). Really attentive and charming staff without being in your face. Breakfast was superb...heavenly avocados. They had a really soft approach for example fruit in the room and a section of fridge which was not a mini bar (i.e. could help ourselves without charge) - so relaxing. Just a shame we had to leave for Machu Picchu.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giles V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us. Inkaterra has meticulously restored an 11-suite manor house, maintaining the original design and architecture around an open patio.

We appreciate your kind comments and we would like to thank you for staying at our property during your Honeymoon.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again in a next occassion.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We have been blessed to travel the world and prefer to stay in small boutique hotels. This hotel ranks near the top in our travels. The decor, the personal service and location can't be topped. We were fortunate to stay in two different suites on the second floor. Both were comfortable and beautifully decorated.

Room Tip: The second floor corner suite was a bit noisy but it was also charming with a fireplace and a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mermomUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your kind comments that encourage us to keep working on providing our guests with authentic travel experiences.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra La Casona during your visit to Peru!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This is truly a beautifully decorated boutique hotel right off the main square in Cusco. Huge rooms/suites, marvelous décor by the owner’s wife, very personal service and a very central location. To be a bit picky, however, there was no table in the room for a laptop and limited breakfast options although they would cook what you wanted. It was almost too quiet; we only saw a few people for dinner or breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingFearlessly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at our property, Inkaterra La Casona operates as a private manor for a small limited number of guests.

We would like to thank you for your kind comments as well as for your feedback that will allow us to keep improving our services.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra La Casona!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

This is the hotel for you if you don't want a big, chain hotel.
Great, personal service in a small, well appointed hotel. Very comfortable, very large rooms. The location is about as good as you can get. Just two blocks to the main square. Far enough away that it's very quiet at night, but close enough to walk over in a minute.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your kind comments; it is a pleasure for us that you keep great memories of your stay.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra La Casona!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.1 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.3 mi away
Palacio del Inka, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Cusco
0.3 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux

Address: Plaza Nazarenas 113, Cusco 00000, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range: $414 - $539 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Relais & Châteaux property in Peru, an exquisite 16th century colonial manor, located just steps away from the picturesque main square. Once occupied by the conquistadors of Peru, it is now an exclusive boutique hotel that has been carefully restored to retain its historical heritage and décor. With suites set around a Spanish courtyard, the manor offers sober elegance without sacrificing authenticity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, MrandMrsSmith, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inkaterra La Casona Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing