We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #2 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This hotel feels like someone's private house. You knock to enter from the busy street and are transported to another world. All the staff know your name and use it always - never tripping over it. The lounge is a delight and the often asked question "would you like me to light the fire for you" greeted with a warm "yes, please". Delicious! The restaurant is discreet and the service impeccable. The food was wonderful. The courtyard is beautiful and we had room 1 for the first stay and room 12 for our return. Both were gorgeous but the exposed beamed ceiling of 12 won the contest. Utterly fabulous. Thank you Christian and all staff.

Room Tip: They are all stunning but upstairs are a little further from the streets that run around it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manytravels_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your experience at our property; Inkaterra La Casona operates as a private manor for a small limited number of guests, and as such is not open to the public, thus maintains its doors closed like a private residence.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra La Casona during your visit to Cusco!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (470)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 470 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

We spent two nights at the Inkaterra La Casona in a Balcon Suite and absolutely loved everything about this wonderful boutique hotel. From the moment you arrive you are treated as a special guest, they know your name, they make you feel welcome and their service is beyond compare. The room was beautiful, has a large separate shower and toilet room, is spotless, and the turn down service with heated water bottles to warm the bed was luxurious. Breakfasts were memorable, and the afternoon tea was very nice as well. It helps to be in a location of the city were luxury accommodation competition is steep, it keeps everyone on their toes. I highly recommend this property, and would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: balcon suite was wonderful, didn't see the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cowenevett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear guest,

We appreciate the time you took to write about your stay at our property.

Inkaterra La Casona is a striking 16th century mansion — one of the first Spanish constructions in Cusco — occupied by the first conquistadores and their mestizo descendants. Inkaterra has meticulously restored an 11-suite manor house, maintaining the original design and architecture around an open patio.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the experience at our property and hope to welcome you again in a next occasion.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra La Casona and for recommending us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed at this Inkaterra for a total of 3 nights...2 enroute to Machu Picchu and one night following our overnight at the Inkaterra Pueblo. This spot in cusco deserves every star they have earned to date? from the Plaza the main entrance is totally un assuming, then you step inside and the peace and tranquility envelops you. Nothing is missed from the welcoming warm hand cloths, to a cup of coco tea to luggage management . Rooms are luxurious and comfortable. The coordination of travel between this location and the sister hotel in Machu Picchu certainly made our excursion easier. I highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WARDENGta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you taking the time to write this lovely review, we are very glad that you enjoyed your experience at our property.

Thank you for choosing Inkaterra during your visit to Peru!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We had booked for 4 nights in this hotel but due to a strike which meant that we had to return earlier than planned from Machu Picchu actually stayed for 5 nights. This hotel is small with only 11 rooms and was a 16th century manor house. It is quite unlike other hotels in that there is no reception and you knock on the wooden door to gain entry. There was always someone there ready to open the door instantly you knocked no matter what time you got back to the hotel. The rooms are set around a courtyard and the bathrooms are enormous.

It is impossible to think of a bad thing to say about this hotel, the staff were exceptional, breakfast and afternoon tea were well presented and the location is perfect, an easy walk into the main areas of Cusco and also San Blas. We stayed 3 nights and then went onto the Sacred Valley and Machu Picchu and were then due to return for a further night before travelling to the Amazon. However due to a strike we had to get the train back to Cusco a day early and were so pleased to be able to spend an extra day at this fantastic hotel. As it is small it is necessary to book early to avoid disappointment but definitely the only place to stay as far as we were concerned.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alchrisuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear guest,

We appreciate the time you took to write about your stay at our property.

Inkaterra La Casona provides our guests the privileged exposure to Cusco’s hybrid history and the secrets surrounding its majestic past. Centrally located on the original Inca settlement near Cusco’s present-day main square,

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your experience and we would like to thank you for your kind comments specially those related to our staff that is always willing to assist our guests in anything they may need.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra La Casona!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

A marvellous small hotel in a great location.
We (two couples and a single) stayed three nights in this hotel.
The rooms were very comfortable with beautiful bathrooms. Very deep baths which were hard to resist after a day of sightseeing.
A small central courtyard and a beautifully maintained old building.
Excellent buffet breakfast.
Service was attentive and excellent.
Perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcb99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear guest,

We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at our property.

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review and for staying at Inkaterra La Casona during your visit to Cusco!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The hotel is gorgeous and comfortable. Only a few rooms, so there is no big crowd. The rooms are large and bathrooms are modern. An easy walk to the Cusco Square. A museum next door.
This place is right across from the Monastery Hotel which costs much more. You get the same experience because the hotel layout and concept is similar. Food and servise are top notch.
A very comfortable bed after a long day of walking.
This was a wise and memorable choice.

Room Tip: Any room. Suites are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Panchali D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at our property.

Inkaterra La Casona operates as a private manor for a small limited number of guests; our property extends all possible assistance so guests will experience utmost relaxation, privacy and tranquility during their stay.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the experience and that you keep great memories of your stay.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra La Casona!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Our family stayed two nights at the Inkaterra La Casona in Cuzco in August 2013. An Amazing Place! A house from the 17th Century that has been carefully turned into the most charming boutique hotel that you could ever imagine. This is by far the most exquisite small luxury hotel that we have ever stayed at. A lot of the old building details and furniture have been kept. The most luxurious beds. Charming fireplaces in the bedrooms. Superb bathrooms with all modern facilitities and details in an Century old setting.
The hotel is situated two blocks from the city centre. Walking distance to all the Cuzco historical sites.
Really professional and superfriendly staff. Excellent and truly Amazing cleaning of the rooms. Really good breakfast and dinner.
It can not possibly be better!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us these lovely comments.

It is a pleasure for us that you enjoyed your stay in Cusco and that you keep great memories of your Inkaterra experience.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again in a next occasion. Thank you for staying at inkaterra La Casona!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.0 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.1 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.3 mi away
Palacio del Inka, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Cusco
0.3 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux

Address: Plaza Nazarenas 113, Cusco 00000, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#8 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range: $417 - $539 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Relais & Châteaux property in Peru, an exquisite 16th century colonial manor, located just steps away from the picturesque main square. Once occupied by the conquistadors of Peru, it is now an exclusive boutique hotel that has been carefully restored to retain its historical heritage and décor. With suites set around a Spanish courtyard, the manor offers sober elegance without sacrificing authenticity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inkaterra La Casona Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing