We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“An excellent small hotel in the centre of cusco” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inkaterra La Casona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inkaterra La Casona
Ranked #2 of 161 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney and Dinard
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“An excellent small hotel in the centre of cusco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

A marvellous small hotel in a great location.
We (two couples and a single) stayed three nights in this hotel.
The rooms were very comfortable with beautiful bathrooms. Very deep baths which were hard to resist after a day of sightseeing.
A small central courtyard and a beautifully maintained old building.
Excellent buffet breakfast.
Service was attentive and excellent.
Perfect.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dcb99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra La Casona, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear guest,

We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at our property.

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review and for staying at Inkaterra La Casona during your visit to Cusco!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    26
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
68
239
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The hotel is gorgeous and comfortable. Only a few rooms, so there is no big crowd. The rooms are large and bathrooms are modern. An easy walk to the Cusco Square. A museum next door.
This place is right across from the Monastery Hotel which costs much more. You get the same experience because the hotel layout and concept is similar. Food and servise are top notch.
A very comfortable bed after a long day of walking.
This was a wise and memorable choice.

Room Tip: Any room. Suites are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank panch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra La Casona, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at our property.

Inkaterra La Casona operates as a private manor for a small limited number of guests; our property extends all possible assistance so guests will experience utmost relaxation, privacy and tranquility during their stay.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the experience and that you keep great memories of your stay.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra La Casona!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
436 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Our family stayed two nights at the Inkaterra La Casona in Cuzco in August 2013. An Amazing Place! A house from the 17th Century that has been carefully turned into the most charming boutique hotel that you could ever imagine. This is by far the most exquisite small luxury hotel that we have ever stayed at. A lot of the old building details and furniture have been kept. The most luxurious beds. Charming fireplaces in the bedrooms. Superb bathrooms with all modern facilitities and details in an Century old setting.
The hotel is situated two blocks from the city centre. Walking distance to all the Cuzco historical sites.
Really professional and superfriendly staff. Excellent and truly Amazing cleaning of the rooms. Really good breakfast and dinner.
It can not possibly be better!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra La Casona, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us these lovely comments.

It is a pleasure for us that you enjoyed your stay in Cusco and that you keep great memories of your Inkaterra experience.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again in a next occasion. Thank you for staying at inkaterra La Casona!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Global
Level Contributor
163 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

With the Rolling Stones front man reportedly having made this his Cusco base, you can be pretty sure that it will meet your requirements. Excellent service from attentive staff, in the best traditions of understated luxury. Nothing is too much for them to do for you. They will light the fire in your personal open fire place in your room and make you feel totally at home. Winter nights in cusco can be cold, but Casona will make you feel cosy and well looked after. Excellent breakfast service and minibar are all included. If you are doing a tour of he region and returning to cusco, the hotel will look after any excess baggage and have any laundry waiting for you on our return.

Totally flawless hotel. You cannot hope to find better in cusco...and maybe nowhere else either.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TheGlobalFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra La Casona, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at our property.

La Casona provides the privileged exposure to Cusco’s hybrid history and the secrets surrounding its majestic past.

Centrally located on the original Inca settlement near Cusco’s present-day main square, Inkaterra La Casona offers walking access to lovely streets where guests can enjoy the perspective, comfort and exclusivity of those who lived in the manor during four centuries.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra La Casona!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anywhere warm!
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I stayed at La Casona as part of a trip to Peru where I also stayed at 2 other Inkaterra properties (Machu Picchu and Puerto Maldonado). All 3 of the properties were wonderful, but this one definitely blew me away. It is an amazing property that has been renovated to give you all the modern amenities, but done so in a way that pays tribute to the history of the building. All of the furnishings and decorations are super luxurious without being fussy. Breakfast was included in our rate, and it was delicious. There are plenty of cold buffet items and they will make you entrees to order.

The best part of the hotel were the special little touches from the staff. We stayed in September when it was rather chilly at night. Upon returning to our room after dinner, we would find a fire already lit in the fireplace and hot water bottles under the sheets. What a wonderful surprise that was! It is definitely more of a splurge as compared to the hotels in the area, but you really felt that this was worth every penny -- and that's not something you can say about every luxury accomodation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbug199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra La Casona, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments about your stay at our property.

We are really glad that you keep great memories about your stay with us and we appreciate your lovely comments for our staff that is always willing to assist our guests in anything they may need. Inkaterra La Casona services reflect the ultimate in opulent privacy — pampering guests, and anticipating their needs.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra La Casona!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

La Casona really deserves to be a Relais & Chateaux. Great location, excelent service, amazing (only 11) rooms. The difference is in the details.
Much more than expected.
Hope staying there again, soon!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leirbagesoj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra La Casona, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your lovely comments and for staying at Inkaterra La Casona during your visit to Cusco.

Hope to be at your service in a next opportunity.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Have stayed at many luxury hotels but this one stands head and shoulders above the majority. It is simply sublime. From the moment you arrive, you'll be charmed and bowled over by the warmth of the welcome, the kindness of the staff and the exquisite beauty of the place itself. It is just stunning. The rooms are an absolute delight - spacious, tastefully decorated with large, gorgeous bathrooms. The courtyard is divine and so peaceful with little benches and chairs with rugs positioned around it for you to simply sit and reflect. Breakfast here is just perfect - everything has been thoughtfully put together and the service is superb. Fantastic poached eggs! I can't find enough superlatives to describe Inkaterra and wish we had been able to stay longer. If you're going to Cusco, you have to stay here. Treat yourself - it's worth it.

Room Tip: I am sure all of the rooms are as special as each other. We had patio suites - ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NomadGirl60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra La Casona, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at our property and for your lovely comments.

We are really glad that you keep great memories of your stay with us and hope to welcome you again in a next opportunity.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra La Casona!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.0 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
0.0 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
0.1 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#5 of 161 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 stars 1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inkaterra La Casona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inkaterra La Casona

Property: Inkaterra La Casona
Address: Plaza Nazarenas 113, Cusco 00000, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#8 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inkaterra La Casona 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Relais & Châteaux property in Peru, an exquisite 16th century colonial manor, located just steps away from the picturesque main square. Once occupied by the conquistadors of Peru, it is now an exclusive boutique hotel that has been carefully restored to retain its historical heritage and décor. With suites set around a Spanish courtyard, the manor offers sober elegance without sacrificing authenticity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Inkaterra La Casona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inkaterra La Casona Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing