We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #2 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Have stayed at many luxury hotels but this one stands head and shoulders above the majority. It is simply sublime. From the moment you arrive, you'll be charmed and bowled over by the warmth of the welcome, the kindness of the staff and the exquisite beauty of the place itself. It is just stunning. The rooms are an absolute delight - spacious, tastefully decorated with large, gorgeous bathrooms. The courtyard is divine and so peaceful with little benches and chairs with rugs positioned around it for you to simply sit and reflect. Breakfast here is just perfect - everything has been thoughtfully put together and the service is superb. Fantastic poached eggs! I can't find enough superlatives to describe Inkaterra and wish we had been able to stay longer. If you're going to Cusco, you have to stay here. Treat yourself - it's worth it.

Room Tip: I am sure all of the rooms are as special as each other. We had patio suites - ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NomadGirl60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at our property and for your lovely comments.

We are really glad that you keep great memories of your stay with us and hope to welcome you again in a next opportunity.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra La Casona!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (472)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

242 - 248 of 472 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

La Casona is the PERFECT hotel. I can honestly say there is nothing that needs improvement. From the time you enter this beautiful building, which is like visiting a friend's home, to having cocktails by the fireplace in the lobby (more like a living room) to enjoying a lovely breakfast you will be swept up in it's beauty.
The rooms are large and beautifully decorated and the bathrooms are a dream. The staff could not be lovelier or anymore accommodating...it is perfection!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zachNyNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing this lovely review and for your kind comments that encourage us to keep working on providing our guests with authentic experiences.

Inkaterra La Casona is a 16th century mansion that has been carefully restored to retain its historical heritage. It has been equipped with modern comforts without sacrificing authenticity, capturing the sense of privacy and privilege shared by those who once lived there.


Thank you for staying at Inkaterra La Casona during your stay in Cusco!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

My favorite hotel, ever? Probably! I rarely am overwhelmed by the beauty, service and style of a hotel as much as I was by Inkaterra La Casona. Its history is reflected by the fine decor and the very beautiful furniture that attracted my attention from the very fist step into this former monastery. It is luxury at its height. Attention is individualized bringing Incan design and colonial style to contemporary excellence. The rooms are very beautiful yet simple offering high quality beds and amenities. It is almost like your private (huge) house!
The location is ideal because you walk everywhere in Cusco and it is on a calm and charming square.
The staff was outstanding! Given the small number of guests I should not be surprised that the waiter on our second day of breakfast remembered what we asked for and actually adjusted the jams and bread on the table before our arrival accordingly- this is great service!
The restaurant was really good and I highly recommend eating at least one dinner at this hotel. Tea time is also a treat and offered with good cakes and tea. In the afternoon there is a gentle classical music that rises from the lobby area to the rooms and there is perfect harmony between the lieu, the court yard and the music chosen. Out of curiosity, I visited some of the other big hotels in Cusco and I felt so privileged to be at the Inkaterra La Casona. It was much more charming and exclusive than its top competitors so I was very happy with the choice. The bathroom (if you get one of the larger rooms on the second floor) is fantastic.
One minor comment: the plastic slippers were uncomfortable and almost irritating. Other than that, I loved this hotel. It sets the standard for excellence, not only in Peru, but internationally, very high.

Room Tip: Get the second floor rooms that overlook the courtyard they are beautiful. Ask for a room that has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flying M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear guest,

We appreciate the time you took to write your comments about your stay at our property and we would like to thank you for your kind comments that encourage us to keep working on providing great experiences to our guests.

Inkaterra La Casona has been carefully restored to retain its historical heritage. It has been equipped with modern comforts without sacrificing authenticity, capturing the sense of privacy and privilege shared by those who once lived there.

Thank you for preferring Inkaterra La Casona!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

From the minute you walk into the Inkaterra La Casona, you feel at peace. The "living room" is comfy and welcoming. The rooms, around a small courtyard of this country manor, are huge and well appointed. White marble bathrooms and every amenity one could wish for. The breakfast area has an outdoor feel and they will make any hot dish you want. The service was amazing. Restaurants, shopping, and sites of Cusco are all within a few blocks. There were 6 in our family group and everyone enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LOrry_AB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. We are pleased to know you and your family enjoyed the experience at our property.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra La Casona during your visit to Cusco!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights in April. The hotel was booked through our tour operator and everything went smoothly. We were in a balcony suite which was spacious enough. The bed was larger than a regular king with hot water bottles slipped between the sheets before bed. The food was delicious - we ordered room service the evening we arrived and had two huge breakfasts. The hotel was beautiful, the service was flawless and this is also a great location just a short walk to the main square. We would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ccjs25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for writing about your stay at our property and for recommending us.

Inkaterra La Casona is Cusco’s first boutique hotel, reflects the city’s mélange of cultures and traditions. A striking 16th century mansion — one of the first Spanish constructions in Cusco — occupied by the first conquistadores and their mestizo descendants.

We would like to thank you for your kind comments and hope to welcome you again in your next visit.


Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We could not have had a better hotel in all of Cusco. After spending 3 days here before our trek and 2 days afterwards, we didn't want to leave and can't wait to go back. The hotel is a converted grand house and it does feel like you are someone's guest at their house. The setting is amazing (we spend time in the morning with our coffee on the bench outside our room) and very quiet. Both rooms we had were enormous and well appointed. It was nice to spend time at the hotel and in the room. The service as impeccable and the staff extremely helpful.

It is conveniently located on a small square not far from the main square. Great restaurants nearby as well.

As a People magazine moment -- we were told that the whole hotel had been rented out to Mick Jagger in the recent past. Not sure if true but makes for a great story!

Room Tip: ask for 2nd floor in the back (room 10 I think) -- has the bench and the morning sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear guest,

We appreciate the time you took to write about our property and we are really glad you enjoyed the Inkaterra Experience.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra La Casona during your visit to Peru!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This well located, stunningly beautiful intimate gem of a hotel was home to our family on our recent 2 night stay in Cusco. I unfortunately wasn't feeling well when we arrived and my kids and their father went out sightseeing, leaving me in the capable hands of the hotel staff, who checked on me regularly and brought me fresh pots of tea to settle my stomach. Later in the evening, having heard I was unwell and unable to make it to dinner, the dining room chef made me chicken soup and had it sent to my room. It could have been a coincidence, but I felt better in the morning. The rooms, the bathrooms, the courtyard, lobby and dining area were all gorgeously appointed. The mini bar was all complimentary. Evening turn down service includes a hot water bottle tucked into your bed. Accomodating staff will draw you a bath, build you a fire and even bring you an ipod pre-loaded with various genres of music. This was an exceptionally delightful place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerseygirl1915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at our property.

Because of the location of Cusco (3300 meters/ 10,800 feet above sea level), it is recommended to rest upon arrival and limit any walking or activity especially on the first day.

We are glad you enjoyed the experience at Inkaterra and we appreciate your kind comments for our staff that is always taking care of our guests.


Thank you for staying at Inkaterra La Casona!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.1 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.3 mi away
Palacio del Inka, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Cusco
0.3 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux

Address: Plaza Nazarenas 113, Cusco 00000, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range: $414 - $539 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Relais & Châteaux property in Peru, an exquisite 16th century colonial manor, located just steps away from the picturesque main square. Once occupied by the conquistadors of Peru, it is now an exclusive boutique hotel that has been carefully restored to retain its historical heritage and décor. With suites set around a Spanish courtyard, the manor offers sober elegance without sacrificing authenticity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inkaterra La Casona Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing