We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Inkaterra Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #2 of 172 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This well located, stunningly beautiful intimate gem of a hotel was home to our family on our recent 2 night stay in Cusco. I unfortunately wasn't feeling well when we arrived and my kids and their father went out sightseeing, leaving me in the capable hands of the hotel staff, who checked on me regularly and brought me fresh pots of tea to settle my stomach. Later in the evening, having heard I was unwell and unable to make it to dinner, the dining room chef made me chicken soup and had it sent to my room. It could have been a coincidence, but I felt better in the morning. The rooms, the bathrooms, the courtyard, lobby and dining area were all gorgeously appointed. The mini bar was all complimentary. Evening turn down service includes a hot water bottle tucked into your bed. Accomodating staff will draw you a bath, build you a fire and even bring you an ipod pre-loaded with various genres of music. This was an exceptionally delightful place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerseygirl1915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at our property.

Because of the location of Cusco (3300 meters/ 10,800 feet above sea level), it is recommended to rest upon arrival and limit any walking or activity especially on the first day.

We are glad you enjoyed the experience at Inkaterra and we appreciate your kind comments for our staff that is always taking care of our guests.


Thank you for staying at Inkaterra La Casona!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (482)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

254 - 260 of 482 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

We recently spend several nights at the La Casona in Cusco and WOW - what a great hotel! It is small, only 12 rooms and we rented two on the second floor. I was initially a little skeptical about staying in such a small hotel but my concerns quickly went away once we checked in. The property is gorgeous and the hotel staff goes out of their way to makes guests comfortable. Breakfast was delicious. Afternoon Hot Chocolate was a favorite for my sons. The hotel is within walking distance of the Cusco square which has a great selection of restaurants and shops. I would highly recommend this hotel for your next Cusco stay. The hotel was selected by our equally fabulous tour operator, SA Luxury Expeditions.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear guest,

We appreciate the time you took to write about your stay with us, we are really glad you and your family enjoyed your stay at our property.

Inkaterra La Casona extends all possible assistance so guests will experience utmost relaxation, privacy and tranquility during their stay.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra La Casona during your visit to Cusco!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located within walking distance to the centre of Cusco. It is very professionally run. From the time you check in and offered a cup of coca and muna tea to the time you check out, you are treated like a special guest- a member of family.
The guest suites are spacious and the bathroom is beautiful. I especially liked the complimentary treats in the mini bar and the afternoon tea was very welcome after a day's sightseeing. It was a great place to relax, quiet, peaceful, luxurious with only eleven suites, it was heaven.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dghp9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review about our property.

Inkaterra La Casona has been carefully restored to retain its historical heritage. It has been equipped with modern comforts without sacrificing authenticity, capturing the sense of privacy and privilege shared by those who once lived there.

We are pleased that you keep great memories about your stay with us and hope to welcome you again in a next occasion.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra La Casona!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Amazing, beautiful , quiet, and peaceful.
Restored old colonial manor house with contemporary finishes.
Being a designer I appreciated all the beautiful details. The bathrooms are beautiful, and the rooms are very spacious. Tip - if you use your fireplace, make sure you open a window or the top windows on the doors otherwise you will get smoked out. Love the beautiful breakfast room and common areas. Very peaceful and serene atmosphere. feels very private. Loved this hotel. Great location and next door to a wonderful museum for pre-Colombian art. MAP restaurant Jin the museum is great.

Room Tip: second floor is a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ksg12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your lovely comments about our property. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again in a next occasion.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra La Casona!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

One of the highlights of my trip to Peru. Located close to the action but is quiet enough to feel secluded. Rooms had the traditional feel of Peru- with the modern convenience to match. Bathroom was luxurious and had heated floors. Enjoyed having afternoon tea in the sitting room and very good Lomo Saltado (popular Peruvian dish) for dinner. Loved the carved wooden doors and courtyard which made me feel as if I had stepped back into Spanish colonial times. Wish I could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PetiteTexanTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing this lovely review with us, we are glad you enjoyed your experience at Inkaterra.

We hope to welcome you again in your next visit to Peru, thank you for staying at Inkaterra La Casona!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

My husband and I travel a lot and usually choose hotels which offer not only accommodation but also a beautiful experience. We had already listed our favourite spots across the globe but that was till the moment we discovered Inkaterra La Casona. It is pretty simple - the hotel is truly amazing and is the most luxurious and beautiful place we have ever stayed. Truly difficult to beat!

If you are in Cuzco and want to treat yourselves, we would definitely recommend this experience. Every detail in this 15th century building is beautiful. It is renovated to the perfection.

Every room is slightly different, but still spacious and offers a good insight into the history. Rooms are beautifully decorated with the original and historical furniture but at the same time giving guests modern and fresh feeling. Bathrooms are large, equipped with bath and shower. We stayed one night in the Balcon Suit and the other one in the Plaza Suite - both are truly special - see our pictures.

The staff is very attentive, super polite and friendly and offered the most wonderful service.

So far this has been the most impressive and beautiful hotel we've stayed in and we definitely would like to recommend this place to other travellers who visit Cuzco.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sensula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear guest,

Inkaterra La Casona has been carefully restored to retain its historical heritage. It has been equipped with modern comforts without sacrificing authenticity, capturing the sense of privacy and privilege shared by those who once lived there. The decoration incorporates baroque colonial furniture and grand Spanish splendor; adobe, plaster, tile, fire and water are the main design elements.

We would like to thank you for your kind comments that will encourage us to keep working on providing authentic experiences to our guests.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra La Casona, we hope to welcome you again in your next visit to Cusco.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is in a great central location to historic area, the place is so quiet and serene and the room appointments are A-#1 first class. Free cokes in mini bar, heated towel rack, beautiful rooms, etc. The breakfast was really nice and the setting and service was wonderful. This would be a real romantic setting, had it not been for our three kids nearby!! :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveD_Nashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear guest,

We appreciate your lovely comments about our property, and we are really glad you enjoyed your experience with us.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra La Casona during your visit to Cusco!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
0.1 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.3 mi away
Palacio del Inka, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Cusco
0.3 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux

Address: Plaza Nazarenas 113, Cusco 00000, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range: $415 - $539 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Relais & Châteaux property in Peru, an exquisite 16th century colonial manor, located just steps away from the picturesque main square. Once occupied by the conquistadors of Peru, it is now an exclusive boutique hotel that has been carefully restored to retain its historical heritage and décor. With suites set around a Spanish courtyard, the manor offers sober elegance without sacrificing authenticity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inkaterra La Casona Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing