We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cusco comfort!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Taypikala Cusco
Ranked #28 of 169 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Palestine, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cusco comfort!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

A wonderful hotel in a wonderful location in Cusco. Close to downtown shopping, the square and cathedrals. I highly recommend staying here if you're coming to Cusco. The food is amazing and the staff are very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thejason1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    320
    96
    21
    11
See reviews for
177
340
64
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel twice during a recent trip to Peru. Great location, just a short walk to the town square. The food was good also. The staff was friendly. Very peaceful courtyard to read and meditate.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lyndaking39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arequipa, Peru
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Beautiful Property in the Heart of Cusco!
It Was my second time in Cusco, this time traveling with family, we enjoyed our stay in Taypikala so much!. Starting from the lobby area, the restaurant, corridors, the outside area and gardens... everything has been done seamlessly and tastefully a real luxury Hotel in Cusco City! The lobby has plenty of comfortable seating specially if you are trying to get yourself together for your tours, upcoming flights or transportation to other places in Cusco. You can get Coca Tea for complementary all day long and it really helps when you get into a 11 200 ft altitude city. The buffet breakfast is one of the best I've ever had.. Definitively the best choice for your stay in Cusco!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sergio d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed at Taypikala Hotel for 4 nights prior to trekking the Inca Trail and for one night following. The hotel is well located and reasonably priced for what you get. Rooms are clean and serviced daily, breakfast is great (lots to choose from!), and you’re able to leave your bags there while you’re on the trail (happy to report nothing was missing when we got back). Unfortunately the service was pretty poor (although I’m sad to say this has been the case with many of the places we’ve stayed at in South America) i.e., when we asked, “Is there a laundry/somewhere to wash clothes?” in town, they unequivocally said “No. Nowhere”. An hour later we discovered there were two just down the end of the street. Fortunately we didn’t spend that much time dealing with hotel staff so it didn’t impact our trip too much, but be prepared to be very patient while going through the process of checking in/out, booking a taxi/wake up call etc. as service is the down point of this accommodation.

Room Tip: Request one of the newer rooms, not all have the same facilities and the newer rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gap-year-travel2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
370 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The rooms were all comfortable and nicely furnished. The lobby was small but the free coco leaves, tea and oxygen were comforting for all of us coming from sea level Florida. The location is a side street and close to the city square and Palace of the Sun. One staff member was helpful but others were not. The breakfast was delicious.

Room Tip: There is not an elevator so if you are not a backpacker climber type, ask for a ground level floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gfarmer668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Situated just off the main drag and close to the main square, the railway station and a number of the attractions. Breakfast was brilliant and runs from 5am until 9am which is good for those doing the early morning train to Macchu Pichu. Check out is also 9.00am which is a bit unusual although the hotel staff were happy to store bags for you. My room was spacious, immaculately clean and boasted a really nice bathroom. Heating was provided by a small oil heater that was more than adequate for the task. Free wifi in the lobby, helpful and friendly staff and close to the centre of town. A very comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gurubob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trujillo, Peru
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Taypikala is very near to Kori-Kancha, tipical inca-spanish construction:inca down & spanish over :(, and central part o Cuzco city. Near best museum in Cuzco: Museo de Arte Precolombino. The breakfast super, i.e. plenty of different Peru regions fresh fruits and all usual different aliments :). I did not like check-out time at 9 a.m. and only one PC for e-mail. I like Taypikala name not in Quechua but in Aymara.

Room Tip: Our room was seeing to Cuzco month (June) celebration plaza, as there were activities untill 3am. th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank ReyBaldwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.5 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
0.8 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
0.9 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 169 in Cusco
1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco San Blas
0.3 mi away
Hotel Unumizu Cusco
Hotel Unumizu Cusco
#49 of 169 in Cusco
313 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Taypikala Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Taypikala Cusco

Property: Hotel Taypikala Cusco
Address: Calle Inticahuarina 620, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 169 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Taypikala Cusco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 50 ft from the Temple of the Sun, Taypikala offers luxurious heated rooms with views of a central courtyard and picturesque Cusco. There is free Wi-Fi and massage sessions can be booked.Taypikala Hotel Cusco features a charming central courtyard with a small water fountain surrounded by flowers, plants and original Inca walls.Decorated with Andean themes, rooms come equipped with LED cable TVs. Some rooms include spa bathtubs and all of them have private bathrooms.There are floor-to-ceiling curtains and comforters in a matching palette of warm shades. Work desks, minibars and tea/coffee makers are included as well.Guests can wake up to a full buffet breakfast with tropical fruit and coffee. They can also treat themselves to local and international flavors at El Tambo restaurant, overlooking the fountain and offering international and Andean dishes.The front desk offers 24-hour front desk assistance and a handy currency exchange service.Taypikala is 3 blocks from Cusco’s main square and 6 blocks from Wanchaq train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Taypikala Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing