We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the expense”

PeruRail - Belmond Hiram Bingham
Book In Advance
More Info
$1,025.99*
and up
Hiram Bingham Luxury Train to Machu Picchu
Ranked #12 of 944 Tours in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Rail Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: El Belmond Hiram Bingham es un lujoso y exclusivo tren unico en el Peru que cuenta con un servicio todo incluido en el que vivira un dia completo de experiencias inolvidables en su visita a Machu Picchu. - Elegido "Mejor Tren del Mundo" por los lectores de Conde Nast Traveller UK (2011). - Mencionado entre los 7 mejores trenes del mundo (Revista Conde Nast Traveller 2010). - El Belmond Hiram Bingham se encuentra entre las 10 rutas mas maravillosas del mundo (NBC).
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We enjoyed the train ride, with the exception of the ugly American tourists who hogged the observation deck outside, not permitting any of the other passengers the ability to enjoy the same.
The staff were. Dry attentive and the meal was good. The live entertainment was enjoyable.
We returned on the Vistadome, there was a lack of leg room and it was very crowded.
If we were to do it again we would take the Hiram Bingham both ways

Thank diaund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail - Belmond Hiram Bingham, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear Mr. / Mrs. diaund,
Thank you for traveling with us aboard the Hiram Bingham train and for taking the time to share your comments with the Trip Advisor community. We are glad you had a enjoyable adventure and we really hope to see you back for another journey aboard our trains.
Best regards,
The Hiram Bingham Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,594)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

512 - 516 of 1,594 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2013

This is by far the best train to Machu Picchu. It has only a dining car, lounge car and kitchen car. The food is good but by no means great. The staff needs to put more effort into keeping the only restroom clean. If I ever return to Machu Picchu I would most certainly use the train again.

1  Thank marlew76205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail - Belmond Hiram Bingham, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear Mr. marlew76205,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with the Trip Advisor community and for traveling aboard the Hiram Bingham train. We are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable experience and we really hope to see you soon aboard our trains.
Best regards,
The Hiram Bingham Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

The Hiram Bingham train was a great way to travel. We had private seating in the dining car, a live band in the back bar car, and lots of space to relax. And, pretty much everything was compted. We came back on the Vistadome. It was a lot more crowded, expectedly, with much less leg room. But we had an Alpaca fashion show and everybody seemed to be enjoying themselves. In fact, the Vistadome offered better viewing of the local scenery because of the vista viewing. Still, the Hiram Bingham train made the trip painless.

Thank TravelingFearlessly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail - Belmond Hiram Bingham, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear Mr. mikebytahoe,
Thank you for traveling aboard our trains and for sharing your comments with the Trip Advisor community. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the journey and we really hope to see you back aboard our trains.
Best regards,
The Hiram Bingham Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We enjoyed this train ride, but were disappointed to discover that our seats were on the wrong side of the train both ways! Make sure you are seated on the river side of the train (right side on the way to Machu Pichu) as that is where the view is. Service is excellent. They even included a little vase of fresh flowers on our table with the meal. A carnival dancer entertained us with his dancing in the aisle and we enjoyed a fashion show featuring the beautiful cashmere of the region..

1  Thank traveladvisorNanaimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail - Belmond Hiram Bingham, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear Mr. traveladvisorNanaimo,
It is a pleasure for us to receive your comments and we are very happy to hear that you had an enjoyable journey aboard the Hiram Bingham train. Thank you for your preference with PeruRail on this occasion and for sharing your comments with the Trip Advisor community and us. We hope to see you soon.
Sincerely,
The Hiram Bingham Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Great trip on an amazing train. Excellent operation with on time departure, on time arrival, comfortable seating and reasonable pricing for an AWESOME TRIP! Truly a MUST for the day trip traveler or the folks who plan to spend a few nights at the town of Macchu Picchu.

Thank T C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail - Belmond Hiram Bingham, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear Mr. / Mrs. T C,
We are glad to receive your feedback and we would like to thank you for taking the time to share it with the Trip Advisor community. We hope to see you soon for a new and wonderful adventure along the Peruvian Andes.
Sincerely,
The Hiram Bingham Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PeruRail - Belmond Hiram Bingham also viewed

 

Been to PeruRail - Belmond Hiram Bingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing