We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Nights and 3 Rooms”
Review of Hostal Suecia I

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostal Suecia I
Ranked #53 of 351 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Colombo
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“5 Nights and 3 Rooms”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I found this place a very comfortable and convenient base for exploring Cusco, Ausangate (away for 4 days) and Machu Pichu (away for 1 night). The reason I stayed in three different rooms was because the friends I was on holiday with arrived and left at different times. I stayed in a family room (double and two singles), a twin room and a single, all very high ceilinged, all with en suite hot showers, all on the first floor (US - second floor) , all at the front of the building and each with large wooded shuttered windows which gave a view across the roof tops. When I went away to the places mentioned above I obviously didn't want to pay for a room i wasn't sleeping in so made use of the large free storage room.
The breakfast is very simple but gets you started and there is plenty of cocoa tea with it. The wifi didn't extent to any of the rooms I stayed in so i used it at the large wooden table in the atrium, which was a nice space to sit and chat with other guests in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank realistic_colombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    54
    18
    10
    6
See reviews for
21
51
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We were so happy to find this place! The staff is incredibly friendly, helpful, and straight-forward. They went out of their way to help us with our travel plans, including hailing taxis to the airport at 5 in the morning and bargaining with the taxi driver to give us the non-gringo rate. Our baggage was held for free for two days while we travelled to Lake Titicaca. The hostal is clean and simple and an incredible value. The courtyard is beautiful! And their location near the happening areas of Cusco can not be beat!

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
160 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

OK place to stay but not very welcoming...when we arrived, there were no other guests at hostal--unlike many others in town with social areas, etc.
Pros: central location; neat and clean; private baths for some rooms; well-lighted, covered indoor courtyard with big table for breakfast; internet WI-FI works throughout hostal; don't have to hike up any steep hills to get to hostal
Cons: not very comfortable beds--one can feel the dips and springs in mattresses, no social scene at all; cold bread for breakfast with tea and coffee; staff not very helpful and not very friendly; no windows in most rooms

For the best rooms--ask for 3rd floor room--they are newer and have a partial view of city of Cusco - there are 2 rooms on 3rd floor--one is a triple with 3 twin sized beds, the other room on 3rd floor has one double-sized bed

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iScout4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fribourg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

The bed is clean.
The room was never cleaned during our stay.
Very basic breakfast
The 2 rooms in the top of the hostal are better than the others
Hot water available
Don't ask to much to the staff at the reception....
No table in the matrimonial rooms

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALaPlageYuppi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2011

I booked this hostel primarily based on location. The service was touch and go. When we first arrived early in the morning, we were greeted with tea de coca which was very nice. However, as far as the continental breakfast goes, that was the only time it was actually offered to us, the other time we had to ask. We were also once refused breakfast service because it was past 10 am, but the day before we had received breakfast at 10:30am.
The first day we got there we were let in our room to rest. a couple of hours later we get a knock on the door and a lady wanted to come in and change the sheets because it hadn't been done yet. Kind of a turn off and made us wonder if the room had actually been clean.
The hot showers are nice, if you want sleep get a room in the back because there is a club down the street from the hostel.
Also, they offer private airport pick up for 5 soles/ person. There were two of us and they charged us 15 soles instead. I think taxi's probably do charge that, but it's discouraging/annoying that they tell you it will cost one thing and ends up costing another.
Also, I'm not sure if this is a hostel for those who want a late night here or there. One time we came back at 12:30 am and had to knock several times for someone to let us in. I am unaware of and was never told of a hostel curfew. The staff did seem annoyed when asked to be let in to the place as per other reviews.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marwat15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We booked this hostal before leaving as it had a good balance between price, location and reviews. Usually we have two main criteria - a clean room and hot water, hostal Suecia 1 had both! We stayed here for 3 nights before the Inca trail and also 1 night when we returned. Our first room was on the 2nd floor facing away from the Plaza de armas and it was fantastic, quiet and comfy. Our 2nd room was facing onto the main street and as it was a Friday night it was a little noisy (we were so tired after the trek that we would have slept standing up!) If you're booking a double room, request a quiet room on the top floor and you won't be disappointed! Breakfast was the usual fresh bread, jam and coca tea or coffee but i'm not complaining!

Room Tip: Request a quiet room if booking a double
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dani_Lith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Super convenient location, awesome hot showers with pressure, friendly staff and clean. Try not to get a room that faces the street, the club at the corner is loud until around 4/5am. But, if that's all you can get, take it, you will be given ear plugs...

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kobugi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Hostal Suecia II
Hostal Suecia II
#229 of 445 in Cusco
47 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Luxe Cusco Hostel
The Luxe Cusco Hostel
#52 of 445 in Cusco
18 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Inti Wasi - Plaza de Armas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostal El Triunfo
Hostal El Triunfo
#9 of 351 in Cusco
323 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostal Quipu Cusco
Hostal Quipu Cusco
#18 of 351 in Cusco
281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Casa De Selenque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Suecia I? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Suecia I

Property: Hostal Suecia I
Address: Calle Suecia 332, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 351 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostal Suecia I 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Suecia I is a cosy and familiar bed & breakfast in a carefully conditioned 16th century house built in the early Spanish presence in Cusco. We are located just off the Main Square, at the very heart of Cusco. Our excellent location is coupled with a very quiet and calm atmosphere, and a familiar and affordable quality service, which has deserved recommendations from books for travellers as well as prizes from Peruvian authorities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hostal Suecia I reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing