We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of B&B-Hotel Pension Alemana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
B&B-Hotel Pension Alemana
Ranked #1 of 339 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

I'm laying in my warm bed on departure day right now thinking about how great this hotel has been for us. Great price, very helpful, Excellent (!) breakfast, and very safe.
Friendly staff gives you an intro and offers coca tea upon arrival.
-located in San Blas, a 20 min uphill walk from the main tourist plaza, 10 sol ride to the airport, plenty of food and shops nearby
-views from front rooms are amazing, but street noise was a problem every night, ask for a non street room or bring earplugs
-we checked in/out 3 times, they held luggage for us safely every time
-they provide One airport ride-first pickup only. They can arrange other rides, but on your dime
-connected with a tourist agency that set up a Machu Picchu tour for us at a good value.
-breakfast is yummy and filling and the view from the restaurant is nothing short of brilliant.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank FollowingFinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    124
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
95
265
51
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

Got in at midnight after a long trip from Machu Picchu, but not a problem. Room was comfortable, bathroom and hot water very good and buffet breakfast best of the 8 places we stayed - lots to choose from, with made-to-order eggs in the top-floor cafe with a lovely early morning views over Cusco. Liked the tea and coffee bar (with fruit available) for guests in the common room. Hotel location in the narrow lanes of the old town was good, not far from everything - we walked from there to all the attractions and found plenty of restaurants nearby for dinner. Felt safe walking home alone in the evening.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayjay28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmundston, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

We stayed here 4 nights, left our luggage for a side trip of one night to Machu Picchu...they even left the luggage in our room. Staff is exceptional...know us by name, very friendly and so helpful for everything..as much as fetching taxis...this is in san Blas .. streets are so narrow...sometimes difficult to get by...small bus cannot get to Pension, must walk down a bit..no real problem.
Beautiful, calm property with flowers and shrubs (lovely courtyard) in the middle of San Blas.. just exceptional.
Breakfast is wonderful...eggs to your liking...with a smile too !!!
Fortunately, they have heaters, Cuzco was quite cold at night in April. We had a room overlooking Cuzco...what a sight !!!!!! absolutely wonderful !!!
San Blas in on a hill, the only downside...walking up the hill...if you have heart problems, it's not very easy and in the hotel, there are 4 floors and the cafeteria in on the 4th.
Definitely with the effort and there are cheap taxis that will take you back to the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view over the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat182168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

The hotel is located in San Blas, i.e. on a hill about a 10 min. walk up from the Plaza de Armas (the main square). The room was rather small but cozy, breakfast was quite good and the staff were absolutely top: super friendly and helpful. All in all a nice, quiet place to stay in Cuzco.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loupriven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

We arrived at Hostal Pension Alemana very early in the morning from Lima and they were extremely accomodating and let us check in early. Our room was comfortable and clean. The next morning we were completing the 3N/4D Inca Trail. The hotel made us a lunch that was ready at 4am when we were taking off. We were able to leave our big luggage in our room and the hotel transferred it into our new room upon our return. The breakfast was excellent and provided a beautiful view of the city. I would definitely stay here again-my only piece of advice is that I would strongly recommend arranging airport pick up through the hotel. We did not and ended up overpaying on a taxi. With the hotel arranged pick-up, you can guarantee a fair rate.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blynn634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed at the Pension Alemana for a total of five nights on each end of a trip to Machu Pichu. The hostel has a harmonious quality which is the result of a staff that enjoys its work and is eager to be of assistance. This applies from the gardener, to the receptionists, to the cook and waitress to the owner, Heinz, who is a thoughtful host. The attention to detail in the rooms is indeed of "European quality," as their motto proclaims. The handsome woodwork, the ample bathrooms, well-designed furniture speak of an attention to detail. The cleanliness is impeccable. An interior garden offers tranquility and color. Breakfasts are ample and varied. Above all, I would emphasize the hospitality of the entire staff. As we remarked at the time, "Returning to the Casa Alemana feels like coming home."

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jhawk662014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

Hotel is cosy, there are lot of sitting area in door or outdoor in the garden. Wifi is okay in most of the common area, but not in room!
Room is clean, and some of them with a view of the city. 24hours hot water and coco leaf are available.
Hotel staffs are nice and helpful. Although the location of the hotel is a bit far from centre and a bit uphill, but I still recommend this!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Silvia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 162 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#16 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tika Wasi Casa Boutique
0.3 mi away
Hostal Wara Wara
Hostal Wara Wara
#3 of 339 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Balcon
El Balcon
#7 of 339 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B-Hotel Pension Alemana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B-Hotel Pension Alemana

Property: B&B-Hotel Pension Alemana
Address: Calle Tandapata 260 | Barrio San Blas, Cusco, Peru (Formerly Hostal Pension Alemana)
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 339 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B-Hotel Pension Alemana 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in picturesque San Blas, in the historic center of Cusco. Colonial style house complex, with 21 comfortable rooms, each with private bathroom, radiator-heaters, cable-TV, safe and free Wi-Fi. Homely atmosphere, personalized service y great views, en ample common spaces, garden and terraces. Natural and abundant breakfast, rooftop- cafeteria with great dishes and drinks. Very clean and secure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your B&B-Hotel Pension Alemana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Pension Alemana Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing