We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bit of German "Gemuetlichkeit" in Cuzco, Peru”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
B&B-Hotel Pension Alemana
Ranked #2 of 400 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 2, 2013

My wife and I just came back from a trip to Peru. We spent our 5 nights in Cusco at Hostal Pension Alemana in the artisan district of San Blas, about 4 blocks north of Plaza de Armas. San Blas is a district of quaint homes and buildings constructed during the early years of Cusco. Cusco is also the ancient capital of the Inca Empire. The streets in this district crisscross perpendicularly over moderately inclined terrain and have a cartway that is barely wide enough to accommodate a narrow vehicle. Some van drivers may refuse to travel Tanda Pata, the narrow alleyway on which Pension Alemana is situated. The neighborhood seems to be safe, but always take basic precautions to protect yourself. The hotel is owned by a German ex-pat, Heinz, who, along with his wonderful staff, exemplifies the meaning of hospitality and German “Gemuetilichkeit.”

The hotel is a converted villa-type residence with multiple floors and wings. In the center of the complex is a beautifully landscaped garden with flowers and plants that seem to attract the sweetest song birds. I would consider it, an upscale pension-type accommodation. When you enter the main door to the hotel, you will be greeted by one of the helpful and efficient receptionists. (The front desk is manned 24/7). Behind the receptionist area are the breakfast rooms tastefully decorated by local woodwork artisans. A potbelly stove is strategically located to keep the guests warm during the cold early mornings. An assortments of teas (and coca leaves to help with the altitude adjustments) and fresh fruits are available to guests throughout the day and night. A lobby/library is located on the second story mezzanine and includes an Internet workstation. Reliable Internet throughout the complex is provided by 3 dedicated routers. While at the hotel, my laptop maintained strong, excellent quality signals. There is NO PARKING for personal vehicles at Pension Alemana.

Access to the living units is through the kitchen. A kitchen door leads to an open landscaped courtyard that is adorned with floral plants and outdoor fixtures and furniture. There are two buildings housing the 22 habitation units. Units range from singles to triples, and cost from $55 US to $92 US depending upon the season and capacity of the room. Each room is decorated in wood and an en suite bathroom with amenities such as hair dryer, soap, shampoo, etc. The showers have both hot and cold water, and I must add that hot water was always there when we needed it. The condition of the rooms is well-maintained and the cleanliness is spotless. Each unit includes a flat screen TV & phone. The beds are much more comfortable than they appear. We slept well every night and woke up with no aches or pains. Most of the units have a closed-looped radiator, and all have extra blankets and quilts to keep you warm during the cold Cuzco nights. If that is not enough, portable electric heaters are available for $1/day. (I highly recommend that you spend the extra cash and get one of the heaters.) Maid service is provided daily when your room is available to do so.

The daily breakfast at Pension Alemana is delightful. The breakfast consists of eggs made to order, deliciously fresh rolls and bread (we took some home with us), fruit salad, cereals and granola, yogurt and fresh cheese. Coffee and an assortment of teas and mates add the finishing touch to breakfast.

Pension Alemana’s staff definitely goes above and beyond the call of duty ensuring that hotel guests are happy, comfortable and cared for during their stay at the hotel. For example, my wife severely sprained her ankle on Plaza de Armas. When we arrived back at the pension, the receptionist, Marleni, arranged for a house doctor to exam my wife’s ankle. In the meantime, Marleni tended to my wife’s ankle with hot water, herbs and a compress.

The owner, Heinz, leads by example… and it shows in the training and demeanor of his fine staff. Both my wife and I highly recommend Hostal Pension Alemana to anyone traveling to Cuzco.

Room Tip: Spend the extra $1 per day, and get the portable electric heater. If you don't mind climbing sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eulenspeegel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (596)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 596 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2013

Hostel is a deceiving word for this hotel as it's much more of a hotel than a hostel. This is my favourite placed I stayed in Peru. The hotel has everything: comfortable beds, fast wifi, good breakfast, friendly staff, and lots of coca tea.

The only problem is that you climb quite the hill when returning from the main square. Hard to do when you're 11,000 feet up.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Great views from the rooms, lovely hotel near trendy restaurants and artisan shops. The staff are so welcoming and happy to make you comfortable in Amy way. Situated up the hill, but within easy Walk to Plaza De Armas.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mckLizbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Great views from the rooms, lovely hotel near trendy restaurants and artisan shops. The staff are so welcoming and happy to make you comfortable in Amy way. Situated up the hill, but within easy Walk to Plaza De Armas.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mckLizbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed for six nights; when we first arrived in Cusco, after trekking and then at the end of our trip. The Pension and garden were beautifully kept, the breakfasts pleasant and the room was clean. The most vital feature however was the staff who were wonderfully helpful and welcoming.
We strongly recommend Pension Alemana. A most welcoming inn and a great value.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc2929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

I found this place through trip advisor and I'm thrilled with it. The hotel is meticulously cared for. The garden is beautiful. The beds are a bit hard, but that is my only negative comment. It's conveniently located.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed about 8 nights across the months of November and December in Hostal Pension Alemana and had excellent service. We highly recommend staying here. We loved the european feel of the hostal with its wood floors, solid wood furniture, duvets and thick wool blanket. We appreciated how well kept the hostal is- very clean and the garden area was gorgeous. The breakfasts are hearty with fresh fruits, breads, cheese, eggs and good coffee with warm milk. The views of the city from many of the rooms are stunning day and night. But best of all, the people that are employed here were wonderful and caring. The front area staff are helpful, knowledgeable, and friendly. We were so pleased to have found such a comfortable place to stay and at a reasonable price. We will definately return!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelamccormick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#5 of 171 in Cusco
1,518 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
0.1 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#18 of 171 in Cusco
1,524 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.5 mi away
El Balcon
El Balcon
#1 of 400 in Cusco
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B-Hotel Pension Alemana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B-Hotel Pension Alemana

Address: Calle Tandapata 260 | Barrio San Blas, Cusco, Peru (Formerly Hostal Pension Alemana)
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 400 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range: $60 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B-Hotel Pension Alemana 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in picturesque San Blas, in the historic center of Cusco. Colonial style house complex, with 21 comfortable rooms, each with private bathroom, radiator-heaters, cable-TV, safe and free Wi-Fi. Homely atmosphere, personalized service y great views, en ample common spaces, garden and terraces. Natural and abundant breakfast, rooftop- cafeteria with great dishes and drinks. Very clean and secure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, MyHotelShop and TripOnline SA so you can book your B&B-Hotel Pension Alemana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Pension Alemana Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing