We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
B&B-Hotel Pension Alemana
Ranked #1 of 340 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Pocatello, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

In October 2011 I visited Cusco for the second time. I found Hostal Pension Alemana on the internet and booked my stay there based on the good reviews I had read on TripAdvisor. From the time I arrived until I left, my stay at Hostal Pension Alemana was a delightful experience.The entire staff was friendly, helpful and provided excellent service. The rates were great and the room was perfect with a great view of Cusco. The breakfast each morning was delicious and a great way to start the day. The entire facility was always clean and the flowers on the property were beautiful. I plan on returning to Cusco with my family and we plan on staying at Hostal Pension Alemana.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    125
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
95
268
52
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Il
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

my sister and i picked this spot b/c of it's great rates ($55/night in november, two beds, plus breakfast) and the great reviews. we could not have been more pleased! the property is lovely, with cozy outdoor sitting areas, walled gardens and great views of cusco and the mountains. true, it does sit a bit from the central square, but we liked that it was quiet and that we got to walk/see more. plus, the walk is only about 5 minutes, past some good restaurants/shops.

the rooms were clean and kept clean by the staff. breakfast is full-- fresh fruit, granola, yogurts, selection of breads/cheese and eggs made any style. coffee was STRONG but we loved it. the staff is more than accommodating-- what everyone else has said is true: they will set up taxis, give directions, carry your bags to your room without being asked, make restaurant suggestions-- anything you need, they help with. they can also help give details about organizing a trip to machu picchu, which is essential. there's a lot of ticket buying/transportation coordination.

i also appreciated wifi in the rooms; i didn't travel with my computer, but was able to stay on top of emails from my iphone, which was great. the connection was fast and consistent. if i ever return to cusco, i won't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jool12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2011

Great rates, great views, and great service. Meticously maintained and cleaned.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

We stayed here for four nights while trekking around the area. Excellent room, excellent breakfest, nice grounds, and only a few blocks from the main square in Cusco. I really enjoyed it here.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BellManMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

This proved a great place to stay. It is situated slightly above the city, offering great views of the old part of the city and the surrounding hills. Inside it is scrupulously clean, breakfasts are excellent, and the staff all extremely helpful. The altitude can make Cusco and the Sacred Valley a challenging place to visit, but Pension Alemana was a great place to come back to at the end of the day's sightseeing. Plenty of restaurants in the surrounding streets. Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

A good friend and I stayed at Pension Alemana on either side of our trek to Machu Picchu. The accomodations were great and the breakfasts were wonderful. While it is considered a bit out of the way, we found it to be a great location in San Blas and close to lots of great local eateries and shopping. One of the best things was the helpful women at the front desk who went out of their way to hook us up with locals and guides. They did so many things to make the trip special . I would insist to anyone I know going to Cusco that they stay here. The grounds were beautiful and the rooms were perfect and very clean.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank localinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

My sister and I stayed at Hostal Pension Alemana for 3 nights in November, 2011. It was fabulous. First, the staff were incredibly welcoming and helpful, including drawing us maps, printing out our boarding passes, explaining how things worked at the hostal, calling cabs for us, and giving us tips for our visit. The facility itself was cozy, clean and pretty. It had several outdoor garden spaces and beautiful views of Cusco at night. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. The breakfasts (included in the price of the room) were yummy - fresh fruit (melons, bananas), great cereal, jams, breads, coffee and tea, fresh eggs, and of course plenty of coca tea and coca leaves for altitude sickness prevention. The hotel had a public computer with good internet access as well as wifi. We went off to Macchu Picchu and left our bags at the hostal, returning two days later. When we returned, our bags were already in our new room! This kind of consideration was well appreciated and made us feel that the staff really cared about us. The hotel was in easy walking distance to many little restaurants and shops and we felt completely safe walking around at night. We highly recommend this hotel and would go back ourselves if we ever make it back to Peru.!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dbenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 163 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#17 of 163 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Amaru Hostal
Amaru Hostal
#33 of 163 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tika Wasi Casa Boutique
0.3 mi away
Hostal Wara Wara
Hostal Wara Wara
#3 of 340 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B-Hotel Pension Alemana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B-Hotel Pension Alemana

Property: B&B-Hotel Pension Alemana
Address: Calle Tandapata 260 | Barrio San Blas, Cusco, Peru (Formerly Hostal Pension Alemana)
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 340 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B-Hotel Pension Alemana 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in picturesque San Blas, in the historic center of Cusco. Colonial style house complex, with 21 comfortable rooms, each with private bathroom, radiator-heaters, cable-TV, safe and free Wi-Fi. Homely atmosphere, personalized service y great views, en ample common spaces, garden and terraces. Natural and abundant breakfast, rooftop- cafeteria with great dishes and drinks. Very clean and secure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your B&B-Hotel Pension Alemana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Pension Alemana Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing