We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Room~ Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Antares Mystic Hotel
Ranked #79 of 164 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
“Cozy Room~ Great Service”
Reviewed June 7, 2011

Antares Hotel is not a big one, not a fancy one, but a cozy and sweet place to stay.
Rooms are clean enough to rest and relax, and perfectly suitable to solo traveler.
Continental breakfast was filled with full service(especially coca tea).
Every staff gave me a great service with every-time smile.
They are really good at speaking Englsih~!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geenie_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    109
    22
    8
    4
See reviews for
33
75
30
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cusco, Peru
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 16, 2011

Upon first landing in Cusco and through all the confusion outside the airport, we saw our names on the sign. The airport pick up made it so easy. It made all the difference in the world. We were tired travelers and our receptionist instantly suggested tours and gave us much advice! She was so informative and kind. Everyone at the hotel was very warm and friendly!

As for the rooms and condition of the hotel space; cute, classy and affordable. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The bathrooms were very clean and equiped with consistant hot water.

The breakfast was simple, but what gave us a good start to the day was the kindness of the staff.

The location of the hotel is a little out of the way and in a more ¨local¨ part of town, but the receptionist gave us such good clear directions that it made walking the city a breeze.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachpeachchikita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2011

Great location, walking distance to Cusco town centre. Our host was very nice and gracious. The staff very polite and helpful. The accommodation were very confortable, quiet and the price of the room was very reasonable. The food was excellent, though a bit small portion. I Need a BIG breakfast usually while travelling.
Overall, my stay at Antares was very pleasant and would return there.

Room Tip: Room very quiet at the back of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdextras28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2010

Amazing staff. They couldn't have been more kind or caring. A taxi driver got difficult with us and the lady chased him away. We left our luggage here while we went on the Inca Trail and it was all here upon our return. The lady even remembered which room we were in. Best hot shower we had while we were in Peru. Laundry was taken care of. Rooms are basic but comfortable. Breakfast included in the rate. I would stay here again and recommend anyone I know who is looking for a modest room at a great rate to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sasssea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linden, New Jersey
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2010

Thanks to Tripadvisor for helping us find this place. A very nice place for a really good price. The ladies who work the front desk, and apparently do everything else like cooking, room service, room cleaning, bell services, were all extremely courteous and helpful. It did help me that can speak some Spanish since none of them seem to speak much English though. We had a minor health scare our first night there and they found us an English-Speaking doctor (who unfortunately was out of town and unable to help us directly, but pointed us toward an excellent, cheap clinic). Upon checkout, they found us a cab that took us to the airport for S/.5 (I was expecting to have to pay at least 10).

The room itself really was excellent. Pretty large, very clean, with a TV (lots of channels) and a phone. The only complaints were that once or twice in four days the hot water ran out on us, and the free internet didn't work great unless we used it on the side of the room closest to the lobby (they probably need to buy a router that produces a stronger WIFI output, but the internet connection itself was great, the best of anyplace on our trip).

We're usually too frugal to use room service, but our second night we were both recovering from being sick and didn't feel like going out, and we were very pleasantly surprised to see the totally fair prices on the menu. A few special requests were also handled flawlessly. We somehow only made it to the free breakfast once, but that was excellent too, especially the fresh-squeezed orange juice.

The only thing that wasn't great was the location. I wouldn't call it a "bad" neighborhood, but it's not at all touristy either and not terribly attractive. In a strange way that's kind of a good thing in Cusco, since there were none of the incessant parade of vendors/menu pushers that show up in the Plaza de Armas. We undoubtedly stook out like sore, maybe even broken thumbs in this neighborhood but it never seemed like anybody gave us a funny look. It's probably about 1 km to the Plaza de Armas, although taxis are so cheap (S/.3) that we usually took them. We never were able to find a good convenience store nearby where we could by cold soda, water, etc. but the hotel itself sells these things at fair prices.

In short, good room, very good price, great service overcome the questionable location.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NightLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2010

The glowing reviews below should have described another property, we made a mistake in trusting Trip Advisor reviews on Rey Antares
- the room was dirty (e.g., do not touch anything in the bathroom or the blankets or the carpet) and run down (e.g., shoe markings on the walls, mold?)
- the room did not have a window
- free internet did not work and the staff could not fix it with no apology
- the staff does not speak anything else but Spanish
- the lady owner will try to aggressively sell you overpriced tours, taxi transportation or their sister hotel in Puno

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yarlyantarescusco, Manager at Antares Mystic Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2011
Dear passengers we understand your discomfort, and we apologize. We think there was something we did wrong to bother you, but we couldn´t know on time to fix it.
It´s too difficult to answer to someone who is overreacting. Maybe we don´t have enought instruction, but we try to give good services, we are a 2 stars hotel.
It would be impossible to have good references from our visitors if our service would be as bad as this complaint.
We invite to anyone who can visit our hotel and could verify the real service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2010

I thought the reviews looked great so I phoned and made a booking. All good. They met me at the airport, and said that actually they had no rooms, but they would take us to their "other" hotel, which was "just as good". The hotel they took us too was about 12 blocks from the main square, and was dark and horrible (our window opened into a linen closet!)
We were the only guests. Needless to say, we found another much nicer hotel right on the main square for a cheaper price.
It was disappointing that Mystic Hotel tried to fob us off on to an obviously unpopular hotel; this is just not acceptable. So I am afraid I have to say - don't trust them with a phone booking!

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank aussiechick101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yarlyantarescusco, Manager at Antares Mystic Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2011
Sincerely we apologize to this client for that bad recomendation. Effectively we recommended him another friend´s hotel because the ours was FULL and he didn´t have a booking with us, but in order to help any tourist, traveler we always try to reccomend not only other hotels but also tours, taxi service, restaurants, etc. We are sorry for this inconvenient, we do honest, legal and the best work we can do, that´s because we have many clients as that day.
We´ll make the next recommendations CAREFULLY. Thanks for your understanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.6 mi away
Mirador de Santa Ana
Mirador de Santa Ana
#64 of 164 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casablanca Cusco
Hotel Casablanca Cusco
#145 of 164 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa de Mama Cusco Recoleta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Golden Inca
Hotel Golden Inca
#36 of 164 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Unumizu Cusco
Hotel Unumizu Cusco
#49 of 164 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Principe III
Hotel Principe III
#39 of 164 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antares Mystic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antares Mystic Hotel

Property: Antares Mystic Hotel
Address: 172 Cascaparo St., Cusco, Peru (Formerly Rey Antares Mystic Hotel)
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Antares Mystic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a budget hotel option, the best choice for those expecting a cozy and comfortable place, clean rooms, friendly service and warm attention with all the basic services for the tourist. Within the historic downtown, close to the main square, to the colonial churches, to the most bars and restaurants, to historic monuments, just half block from the old train station to Machu picchu and in front of the main central market of city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Antares Mystic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rey Antares Mystic Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing