We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great home away from home in a beautiful location”
Review of The Garden House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Garden House
Ranked #53 of 165 Hotels in Cusco
NJ
1 review
“Great home away from home in a beautiful location”
Reviewed May 28, 2009

I went there with my new bride for our honeymoon, it was the 2nd of 7 stops (we were touring the 7 new wonders of the world). The people there treated us like family and were very helpful with everything. I would highly recommend this B&B for ANYONE traveling to the Cusco area.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    17
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
75
128
22
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed May 27, 2009

My husband and I took our son, Sebastian, to Peru when he was eighteen months old. We decided to use the Garden House as our home base so that we could explore Machu Picchu and the surrounding ruins and the rest of the Sacred Valley during the day and return to the Garden House to enjoy a quiet evening and restful night. We loved the hospitality of Doris and her staff. Sebastian STILL asks for Doris when he looks at our pictures from the trip. His sleep and comfort were our top priority (in addition to enjoying an enriching trip/experience) and we certainly were able to give that to him at the Garden House. Doris is such a generous and kind person and even made us a special lunch one day, satisfying breakfasts every morning, and pisco sours the night Obama was elected president. In addition to celebrating Obama's election, we celebrated many other things with Doris, including the beauty and history of Cusco and the Sacred Valley and the lovely people of Peru. She found for us a car seat to use during our day trips and a Pack and Play for Sebastian's nights. She introduced us to Esteban, who ended up becoming a dear friend and a reliable driver for us. In all, it was an extraordinary time and we have Doris to thank for much of it. Our only tip might be that people understand that the house is located several miles from the center of Cusco. We enjoyed coming back to the tranquility after enjoying super dinners in the center of town, but that was after we became used to the back and forth. We were happy to have a reliable driver. Thank you, Doris, for all that you did for us!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpsasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2009

We stayed for a couple of days before going to Machu Picchu and then a few more days while exploring the Sacred Valley.
Both of us had a hard time adjusting to the altitude and the ladies, Cecilia and Loise, at the Garden House ensured we had all we needed to feel better. The room was spotless and spacious. White sheets, towels and slippers. The hot shower felt nice after a long day of hiking. Our room also had a private balcony from which you can look at the flower garden during the day and the stars at night! At night, they ordered food for us, on the days we felt too tired to eat out. They even made us rum and coke cocktails.
If you go to town, try the ChiCha restaurant. It was delicious.
The hotel also arranged for us to have a private driver. This man, Esteban, knew all the jewels in and around Cusco and the sacred valley. If you don't speak Spanish ask the ladies at the hotel to tell him ahead of time the types of things you want to do or see. He is very funny and his laughter is contagious!
The grounds at the Garden House are beautiful! Lois takes her gardening seriously. There are flowers in bloom everywhere and of all different colors and scents. In the back, you can find a wonderful orchard with pear, peach and apple trees.
Since the hotel is out of the core of Cusco, you can't just walk home at night. But there are lots of taxis that will take you for about 7 soles (3 bucks). Or you can arrange for the private driver to pick you up, it is also very affordable.
I would stay here again. Thank you ladies for your hospitality!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank looniework
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanClementeCa.
2 reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2009

In the last 22 years we have traveled to more than 30 countries. We have never written nor praised any one place before now. This location deserves one.
Have you ever gone somrwhere, aplace that made you feel a part of the family? Like a favorite Aunt or a life long best friend? Well, we have found just such a place, The Garden House in Cusco, Peru.
Owned and operated by 2 sisters, Cecilia and Doris, and a wonderful staff. It is a haven and just a little way from downtown. They welcomed us into their beautiful home, it's been in their family since their mother built it 30 years ago. The accommodations are terrific and spotless. Breakfast here is a wonderful treat. Doris loves roses and has 1500 different rose bushs, lush lawns and fruit trees. They went so far as to prepare a hot breakfast for us at 3:00 am and made us a sack lunch for our trip to Machu Picchu. There is not enough space her to laud the praises of this home away from home.
Thank you ladies for such a wonderful treat.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanClementeCa_Guests
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west hartford ct
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2009

Hosts were delightful and friendly and very, very accommodating, and could not have been more helpful in so many small and large ways. There were so many times they helped us arrange for tours, guides, to make accommodations, to have special meals delivered at the hotel for us when we arrived at 9 p.m.. The guides they arranged were spectacular, the accommodations were spotless and the meals and common areas were great. Can't say enough good things about being 10 or 15 minutes out of the pollution of Cusco, and in the lovely gardens and in the lovely and serene setting. The women who own and run the Garden House became more like friends than owners, though were never intrusive or out of line in any way, and could not have been more pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestHartfordCtCarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, CT
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2009

The ladies of the Garden House truly meant it when they said "our house is your house". This was the most amazing stay that we have ever had at any hotel, inn, bed & breakfast, etc.
The Garden House is located just outside of the hustle and bustle of downtown - a bit of a sanctuary from the chaos. We stayed 3 nights here and we could have stayed for 7. The "gardens" are beautiful. Doriz and Cece keep wonderful rose gardens, they even have an onsite gardener. The also do a fantastic job of welcoming you into their house, and making sure that your every need is met. When we arrived, they had beds ready for a nap (highly recommended when you are at high elevation) and cocao tea ready for us. They set up a day tour of the Sacred Valley and made sure that the night we got back from Machu Pichu that we had dinner from a local restaraunt waiting for us on the table.
Overall, the ladies of the Garden House, made our Peruvian dreams come true. This is an unbelievable stay for a great cost and you could never ask for better hosts.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviewed March 9, 2009

We stayed at the Garden House for about a week and it was hard to leave! Doris and Flor treated us like family and we were made to feel at home at every oppurtunity. The room was gorgeous, the bed in particular being extremely comfortable. Being out of town was also great because it gave us a haven to escape the bustle of Cusco centrale. I would happily recommend the Garden House, in fact it would be silly to stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.8 mi away
DM Hoteles Cusco
DM Hoteles Cusco
#108 of 165 in Cusco
14 reviews
4.6 mi away
Illa's Inn Hotel
Illa's Inn Hotel
#44 of 165 in Cusco
73 reviews
4.8 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
5.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
4.7 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 165 in Cusco
1,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden House

Property: The Garden House
Address: Los Alamos B-6 | Larapa, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Cusco
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Garden House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful, quiet oasis in Cusco, with a very large garden and orchard to relax in. A refuge from the noise and bustle of the city. You will find The Garden House an excellent base and a welcoming home to return to from your sightseeing of Machu Picchu and the Inca capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Garden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Garden House Hotel Cusco
Garden Hotel Cusco
The Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing