We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite possibly the nicest hosts in Peru!”
Review of The Garden House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Garden House
Ranked #53 of 165 Hotels in Cusco
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Quite possibly the nicest hosts in Peru!”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We recently spent 4 nights at the Garden House and we had an absolutely wonderful time.

Ceci and Doris and their staff made sure that we were never short of anything, whether it was a car to the city centre, a table at a nice restaurant, a mobile phone (!!) so we could call them whenever we needed a taxi to pick us up again or hot and cold water in the room.

They worked tirelessly to make sure we enjoyed our stay to the fullest and that we managed to see as much of Cuzco and the surroundings as possible in a relatively short amount of time.

The Garden House offers an intensive program where you get a half day tour of Cuzco and the surrounding inca ruins, make a full day tour of the Sacred Valley and - of course - a full day tour to Machu Picchu. In addition you are likely to have a couple of half days to explore Cuzco on your own - we certainly did.

For us this was an absolutely brilliant way to visit Cuzco and see a lot of the main sights in a short amount of time. We loved staying at the Garden House, with its nice rooms, lovely living areas and courtyard, beautiful garden and incredibly friendly hosts.

If there is one single thing we would do differently it would be to try to have more time at Machu Picchu. The Vistadome train is a must and a hugely enjoyable experience, and the ruins themselves are positively magical, but we were not on site until 11am and we had to start the journey back at 2pm. Add to that a 1 year old who needs sleep and food at relatively regular intervals and you set yourself up for trouble. But that - of course - is not the fault of the Garden House!

Next time in Cuzco I am sure we will stay there again, however, we might consider squeezing in a night in Aguas Calientes to make sure we have a bit more time at Machu Picchu.

Thank you Doris and Ceci - for making our stay in Cuzco and Peru even more memorable!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank runedawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    17
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
75
128
22
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

A lovely hotel that felt more like a home. Simply to say I would never think of staying anywhere else if I return to Cusco..... The family owners were on hand at all hours, including 5am for an early trip to Machu Picchu. The extra touches were amazing, they provided us with pre-paid mobile phones to get in touch with them if we had any problems or wanted to get a taxi which they arranged !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siobhan20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

this hotel is not feels like home with big rooms and living area, but the customer service is excellent. both sisters running this place are very kind, and understand customer service. they were extremely helpful to arrange tours, call in food from adjacent restaurants for delivery. best of all they give you a cell phone to have a taxi pick you up at a fixed rate so you donnot get ripped off. anyways, i felt at home. i had altitude sickness , they brought an oxygen tank to help me..thankyou for your great peruvian hospitality.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 848davidr848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southport UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We found this small family run hotel on trip advisor and chose it because of the rave reviews it consistently receives. We stayed 6 nights in Oct 2012 and can verify their accolades are well deserved. The two sisters Ceci & Doris speak good english and proved to be the most helpful supportive and informative hosts we have ever had the pleasure to meet and stay with. They provide a free pick up service from airport/ train station. They even provide a free mobile phone so that you can remain in contact with them during your stay and via this you can seek advice or practical help eg to get a taxi etc. (we found this reassuring as very little english spoken in Cisco and our spanish is limited). The colonial style former family home provides very comfortable and impeccably clean facilities. The hosts were always on hand to provide advice on where to eat and visit and even made arrangements for us to have our own , guide and transport. (as we do not like organised tour groups!) Theyprovided extra touches like flowers and a card when it was a friends birthday and arranged for the most superb food to be brought in from top restaurants on two nights when we didnt feel up to going out to dine. They also looked after us very well when we were affected by high altitude andeven the two family dogs greeted us on our return "home". It is a fifteen minute taxi ride away from Cusco town centre. For us that was not a problem as the hotel is peaceful. in a residential area, is gated and secure. Make sure you visit the local animal sanctuary (20 min drive away) - it is the only place in the regon you will get to see Condors.!!!! We cannot praise the hotel and Doris & Ceci highly enough.

Room Tip: all rooms appear to have a garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janets560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This was our first trip to Cusco. Our "stay" actually began prior to arrival as we were in contact with Doris and Ceci ahead of time to help with arrangements to visit Machu Picchu. The trip to Machu Picchu was incredible, aided greatly by the detailed planning of our experienced and thoughtful hostesses - which in the end was typical of our entire one-week stay at the Garden House. The first evening that we arrived, we relaxed in the very comfortably appointed living room of the hacienda with a fire prepared for us in the home hearth. Attention to detail was a given, and service provided in a personal and gracious manner. I highly recommend this accommodation with no reservations. Doris and Ceci are the best!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I can't speak glowingly enough about The Garden House and my recent 6 day stay (Oct 2012)- when I arrived to Cusco I was sick, like many from the altitude. Ceci convinced me that oxygen would help and gave me 15 min of oxygen and settled me in with hot tea. They checked on me later while I was resting in their beautiful suite. Maria, Dedrea and Ceci just couldn't be more gracious.

I looked forward to coming back from my adventures for the day and sharing with Ceci tales of wanderings. The entire staff was so kind, and truly interested in how much I liked Peru. Ceci is so knowledgeable about Peru, its history, current political state, and the arts.

They arranged drivers for the day, taxi's into town, and anything else you could possibly need. Although the trek to Salkantry was the highlight of the trip- while in Cuzco - meeting these lovely people was the icing on the cake.

I will be back and hope you chose Garden House for your stay.

Linda L

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thankina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

In June of 2012 my family and I had a wonderful experience at The Garden House. We booked two rooms for four days for our family of five. Everything about The Garden House was fantastic! Ceci and Doris were wonderfully warm and gracious hosts, they made us feel like family and we are very honored to have spent time with them during our visit to Cusco. The rooms were well appointed and I was especially pleased that they had a triple two room suite for our three adult children. Breakfasts were delicious: everything that you would want, juices, rolls, eggs, fruit, cereal and bacon. I arranged all my tours through Ceci and Doris (e.g. Machu Piccu, Sacred Valley, and Cusco) and all of the tours were arranged perfectly! There are many other small details that we appreciated: the caring and attentive staff, the cell phones that were provided to us during our stay and the locally arranged transportation (By the way, the complimentary tour of Cusco was outstanding. The Garden House was also a strategically situated launchpad to tour the Cusco - Sacred Valley - Maccu Piccu area. On behalf of all of our family members (Penny, Natalie, Melinda, Jared and Me) we are so pleased and thankful for the warmth and hospitality provided to us by Ceci and Doris and their staff!

Jim Gibson and family

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.8 mi away
DM Hoteles Cusco
DM Hoteles Cusco
#106 of 165 in Cusco
14 reviews
4.6 mi away
Illa's Inn Hotel
Illa's Inn Hotel
#44 of 165 in Cusco
73 reviews
4.8 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
5.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
4.7 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 165 in Cusco
1,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden House

Property: The Garden House
Address: Los Alamos B-6 | Larapa, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Cusco
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Garden House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful, quiet oasis in Cusco, with a very large garden and orchard to relax in. A refuge from the noise and bustle of the city. You will find The Garden House an excellent base and a welcoming home to return to from your sightseeing of Machu Picchu and the Inca capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Garden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Garden House Hotel Cusco
Garden Hotel Cusco
The Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing