We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best vacation stay thanks to the world's best host.”
Review of The Garden House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Garden House
Ranked #66 of 169 Hotels in Cusco
Park City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best vacation stay thanks to the world's best host.”
Reviewed December 11, 2011

We loved our stay here, thank you very much for your care and help. Your dining recommendations were wonderful, the rooms were very clean and cozy, you're garden/grounds were lovely and very relaxing. Thank you also Celia for helping me when I was sick. We hope very much to return and stay with you once again! Amanda and Chris

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amandajeanne55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    17
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
75
128
22
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

From the moment we arrived The Garden House, we felt like we were being taken care of by close friends and family. We were given cocao tea and advised to take a nap and relax to avoid altitude sickness. The house is a family home owned by Doris and Cecilia (our hosts). It has a beautiful inner central courtyard and surrounding the house is a pretty garden filled with a hundred types of roses. It felt like staying in an oasis in a desert.
Our room was very spacious with lots of closet space. It also had a separate seating room with TV and free WiFi. Both bathroom and the bedroom were big and clean. We were given two bottles of water everyday. There was good water pressure and we had no problem with the water temperature either.
Breakfast was included with our room. Breakfasts consisted of fresh fruits, bread from a local bakery, cheese, egg, bacon, cereal. coffee, tea and juice. I bought a local Peruvian fruit, maracuya, from Lima and I thought I could peel off the skin and eat it like an orange. Cecilia advised me that was not the way to eat the fruit and graciously offered to squeeze the juice of this fruit to add to our breakfast juice.
Cecilia and her staff were so friendly and made us feel right at home. The Garden House is about 20 minutes from downtown Cusco but this wasn't a problem as Cecilia called us a cab every morning and gave us a cell phone to call her whenever we needed a ride.
We received a free trip to The Sacred Valley as part of our stay which was arranged by Cecilia. This was a highlight of our trip. She also helped arrange a day trip to Machu Picchu (we paid for this trip). She helped us plan our day and advised us on which attraction to go visit.
At $125 CAD per night, we got great value for our money and we would stay here again. If you are looking for a comfortable, friendly place to stay, we highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gordon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

We stayed at the Garden House for a total of 5 nights. Doris and Ceci greeted us with tea and made sure we were able to rest to get use to the altitude. We stayed in two rooms connected with it's own bathroom; all was very clean and cozy. The rest of the home is quite nice and comfortable. Doris and Ceci were able to book our city tour, Sacred Valley and Machu Picchu trip with them. They were also great in making suggestions to awesome restaurants ... trust their taste! We left our suitcase at their home for one night when we spent a night in between at Agua Calientes. The use of the cell phone to call them to arrange for a cab and as an alarm clock was a great help. Doris also arranged for my friend's mom to go to the spa to get a great haircut and nails done. They not only opened their home to us but shared a little bit of their truly interesting lives. It was the best stay in our two week travel to Peru. So if you are looking for a place to call home when you are away from home, trust in Doris, Ceci, William, Maria and the rest of the Garden Staff.

Maria D.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderlustYYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed at the Garden House before and after our Inca Trail hike. Staying at the Garden House feels like you are staying with friends, not just at another hotel. Cecelia, Doris, William and their team truly care about your experience both at their hotel and in Cusco. We arrived early in the morning after an overnight flight, they greeted us with Coco tea and immediately checked us into our room. We stayed there for two nights before and after hiking the 5 day Inca Trail- it was the PERFECT location to rest before and after the trip. They also held our bags fos us during the trek, which was a nice service to add to the trip.

The rooms are nice, clean and comfortable. The daily breakfast (which is made to order and served when you want it!) was delicious. They also make dinner reservations, call cabs and provide you with a cell phone at all times so you can always reach them.

The only downfall is downtown is 15 mins away, BUT the cab is 9 sol, which is the equilvalent of $4 U.S. so it's not a big deal and wouldn't change our decision to stay their again. The Garden House is an oasis in the busy city of Cusco and I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynd113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, VA
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

The Garden House is the perfect escape from the congestion of Cusco. (The only drawback is the taxi ride from The Plaza to their inn....overall, however, it was worth the 20 minute ride to stay at their inn rather than in town!)
Cecille and her team are warm, welcoming, and really create a haven for their guests. They are very attentive without being intrusive. Kind, friendly, and considerate of every need. We stayed for 3 nights in their lovely inn. We were welcomed upon arrival with cocoa tea & bananas with local honey to ease our adjustment to the altitude of Cusco, and just relaxed in the beautiful gardens. I have a gluten-intolerance and they took great care throughout our stay to ensure my food was safe (Cecille even searched local grocery for gluten-free cereal for me). We took their recommendations on favorite shops, best buys, and great restaurants, and every recommendation was spot-on perfect. If we're ever in Cusco again, we will definitely look forward to another stay at The Garden House!

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice, with large windows looking out to the garden. There is also a nice courtyar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephLexington_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

The location of The Garden House is at the opposite end of town from the Plaza, but do not let that deter you. We were well taken care of and the hostess made sure we had what we needed. If you want to head to the Plaza they arrange everything, including the restaurant reservations. They also give you a cell phone to call when you want to be picked up. They arranged all airport and rail pick up and drop off, even when we decided to come back via Ollantaytambo (which we would highly recommend). Do NOT be late for the train out of Cusco as ours left 10 minutes early! We also ate dinner at MAP in the museum and it was fantastic (as was Greens). Enjoy this property and your trip to Machu Picchu.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickUcla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

We just returned from a three night stay at the Garden House. We booked this place after reading all the reviews. The service and the hospitality we received exceeded our expectations. Ceci and William were so helpful in every respect. They helped us arranged a driver for sacred valley tour. Because of this, we were able to explore the area at our own pace (instead of rushing through with tour groups). They helped us ordered pizza after a long day of touring and even helped us set up to eat in their dinning room late at night.
When one of our member experienced high altitude sickness, Ceci was so attentive.
Like other reviewers stated, the cell phone they provided was extremely helpful when we needed transportation to get back.

During the stay, we loved to chat with them every night we came "home" to share our experience. We also love to chat with them before we left every morning to get some good tips. Breakfast was simple but very delicious. I have not stayed at any hotel or B&B where I have someone "waiting" for me to come "home" to greet us!!

The last morning, we had to leave 4:00am for Inka trail hike. Ceci was there for us to wish us luck and said goodbye. Yes, the place is far from Plaza de Armas, but I would not hesitate to stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank runnergirl2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
5.4 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#125 of 169 in Cusco
82 reviews
5.7 mi away
Tocapu Boutique Hotel
Tocapu Boutique Hotel
#86 of 169 in Cusco
93 reviews
4.8 mi away
Casa de Mama Cusco Recoleta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
4.7 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 169 in Cusco
1,482 reviews
5.1 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden House

Property: The Garden House
Address: Los Alamos B-6 | Larapa, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Cusco
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Garden House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful, quiet oasis in Cusco, with a very large garden and orchard to relax in. A refuge from the noise and bustle of the city. You will find The Garden House an excellent base and a welcoming home to return to from your sightseeing of Machu Picchu and the Inca capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Garden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Garden House Hotel Cusco
Garden Hotel Cusco
The Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing