We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Piccola Locanda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Piccola Locanda
Ranked #33 of 454 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“Home away from home”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Not our first time at the piccola locanda and certainly not our last one. Being in cusco means to us going this hostel.

Is not just the gorgeous view, how well located it is, or even the yummiest breakfast. They do their bet for you. We stayed a couple of nights and then left for a few days to the sacrd valley and Machu Picchu. During our absence as they knew we needed it, they took care of making our flight reservations with a better fee that the one I could find and have all arranged for us, kept in contact with us via phone to update us and double check that all would be as we wanted so that at our return we could travel free of hassle to the north of the country.

Their knowledge of the city and the country itself made their tips and advice to be exactly what we needed.

Thank you guys, you are the best!

Room Tip: Each room has it's own story. Just contact them and they will arrange the best accommodation fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mchgranadino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    83
    20
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
167
30
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Stayed here for five days in January. It's more like an inn than a hostel -- claimed to be a converted family's home by one of their own, some of the spaces are great. Piccola was happy to arrange a very reasonable taxi pickup from the airport, which was simply added to our bill at check out. They offer laundry service, and the breakfast was good for Peru. An added bonus was they make tea and coffee available all day for however much you want.

Our room was very clean with a vaulted ceiling and great windows. The staff almost go too far in helping you, at least in picking up the room -- they tidy up to the point of repacking some things for you.

The rooftop has one of the best views of the plaza around. It is a steep hike up from the plaza, but it's only about 10 minutes if you don't stop half-way.

One of the biggest drawbacks was that it seems to be near enough to some late-night dance clubs that there can be some loud, drunk kids on the street causing a racket, although Cusco's a loud city in general and I'm not sure this is a unique experience. Our room had solid wood shutters, and that coupled with ear plugs made it not a problem on the one weekend night we were aware of it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dan_c812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We spent 3 nights at Piccola Locanda at the end of December. It is nice and clean and the beds have plenty of blankets to keep you warm at night. You can even ask for a little electric heater if it's cold. But the place is lacking something. I have read in other reviews that the atmosphere in the hotel is a little sombre and I totally agree. My boyfriend and I didn't feel particularly welcome. Maybe it has to do with the fact that the staff were not really friendly. Also the wi-fi signal is very weak in the rooms. As for location it is all right. But the stairs are quite a workout in high altitude. We sometimes took a cab to the church at the top of the stairs and walk down to the hotel...that's a nice short cut and only cost about 5 soles. Overall, considering the price asked for a night, I would not recommend Piccola Locanda as there is so many options in Cusco.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingpenguin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Charming little hotel (and former family home) with cosy rooms, great views from the rooftop terrace and a yummy little Italian restaurant attached. The location is great for the view, but climbing the stairs every day when still acclimatising to above 3.000m wasn't easy. Nevertheless, we highly recommend staying at Piccola Locanda. They even moved our big backpacks from one room to the other while we took trips to Machu Picchu and Manu National Park. Also, definitely try their pizzas and lasagne. The free coca leaf tea was a great help as well.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed room "Cecilia", but "Luna" was also nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MCBester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

My husband and I really loved our 2-night stay at PL while in Cusco a few weeks ago. It has beautiful decor and finishes. We had a shared bath the first night and a room with a wonderful view of the city. I wasn't too thrilled at first about having a shared bath but found them all to be impeccable and so cozy that it didn't even matter. We were then moved to a room with private bath for the second night. Again, another beautiful view of the city and plaza and very comfortable and clean. It is a very quiet hotel, with great value and a good location. Be prepared to huff and puff a bit to return to the hotel from the plaza as it is straight up - but it's all a part of exploring Cusco. Having explored South America extensively, there are only a few hotels and hostels that stand out in my mind and Piccola Locanda has just been added to that list. Thanks!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the plaza-side if possible. It seemed most of the rooms were on this side. Even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmaso01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schwanau, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

We spend 4 nights in this good located hotel, close to Plaza de Armas. Nice little garden in the middle. From our room we had a view over the city and from the rooftop terrace the view was even more amazing. It is a nice quiet hotel with good breakfast. We enjoyed our stay before and after machu picchu!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank traveleagle81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberhausen, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

what a nice hotel, the rooms so nice and unique, felt so comforable and like at home immediately, lovely roof terrace to rest, perfect location, just some minutes to the palza but the same time quiet, you can eat at their little restaurant that is included in the hotel and the food is really good, do not miss it!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Running-Olga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.3 mi away
Ninos Hotel Meloc
Ninos Hotel Meloc
#21 of 167 in Cusco
1,094 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
0.2 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Amaru Hostal
Amaru Hostal
#34 of 167 in Cusco
755 reviews
0.3 mi away
Illa Hotel
Illa Hotel
#36 of 167 in Cusco
127 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Corihuasi
Hostal Corihuasi
#26 of 454 in Cusco
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piccola Locanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piccola Locanda

Property: Piccola Locanda
Address: Calle Resbalosa 520, Cusco 00001, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 454 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Piccola Locanda differs from other places; it's a familiar and cultural place where you can feel like home. Ideal for families, couples and friends that are looking for tranquillity. The Locanda is an ethical hostal that links tourism with solidarity. When staying at the Piccola, you contribute to the automatic financing of two projects dedicated to children. You are welcome to visit them! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Piccola Locanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccola Locanda Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing