We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique!”
Review of Piccola Locanda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Piccola Locanda
Ranked #36 of 454 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
“Unique!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Perfect place to stay in Cusco!!
Very comfortable and cosy house, where you feel each detail has been thought carefully. All bedrooms are original and there are several common areas: a "patio", a kitchen, a tv room with internet and the UNIQUE rooftop, with a great view over Plaza de Armas and the entire City of Cusco!
The staff is also very friendly and helpful.

The only thing you must be aware is: the great view comes at a price... it is not far from plaza de las armas but the stairs are steep ;) anyway, as i said before, the view is well worth the effort!!

I strongly recommend Piccola Locanda to anyone not bringing small kids!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TGV-Lx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    83
    20
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
167
30
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I cannot reccommend this place enough! Piccola Locanda is the perfect place to stay while visiting Cusco! The decor is so open, yet warm, and the staff was always so friendly, and helpful. The location is perfect, and the main Plaza is only about a 5 minute walk down, with a 10 minute walk back up! :)
We enjoyed many cups of cocoa tea on the balcony that overlooks the entire city, and the main Plaza de Armas, and our room La Biblioteca also had spectacular views from the open windows.
Don't miss out on the Italian restaurant that is attached to the hostel common area, it's the best Italian we've had!
We cannot wait to come back to Peru, and will definitely be staying at Piccola Locanda again.

Room Tip: La Biblioteca was amazing, also stayed in Cecelia, with an attached bathroom/shower, but the ambianc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksp41286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed 3 night total at Piccola Locanda (2 before and 1 after a Machu Piccu Trek) and really enjoyed our time. The location only a few minutes from the main plaza can't be beat - yes it's uphill and requires a quick rest when first adjusting to altitude - but this provides for the fantastic views from the roof! The staff was very helpful and held our main bags for us while we were away. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlichti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Super lovely bed & breakfast accomodation, real family run feel to the place. Small and cosy bedroom with private bathroom and very comfortable beds with extra blankets if needed. Really handy location with a spectacular view across the city from the terrace. The hotel has a lovely Italian restaurant which is really handy and serves delicious homecooked food. Overall a super friendly place and hopefully somewhere i will return in the future.....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missfinedining78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Piccola Locanda was an adorable little hotel. The rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable and the roof deck had an amazing view day and night. It was also within steps of the Plaza de Armas. However - if you are in a wheelchair or not in good shape, getting to the Piccola Locanda would be slightly difficult as there are many steep steps to climb to get there. Other than that - loved loved loved the place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizlee211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Piccola Locanda is a very Nice place to stay: nice beds, accomodations, a beautiful view on its terrace and very clean place. But, be aware: if you go by car with your luggage, ask the driver to let you on the church above the Plaza del Armas because the property is in a higher place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smurfjfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I stayed several nights at Piccola Locanda and its just like staying with family. The family that owns the home & their staff are wonderful and helpful and will provide information and tips for the area. The building is beautifully decorated and and has a cute patio. They overlook the city and you can get great pics from the terrace above. They even kept our luggage when we took an overnight trip to Macchu Picchu. I was impressed with how clean it was & how wonderful they treated us!

Room Tip: The can arrange taxis for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.3 mi away
Ninos Hotel Meloc
Ninos Hotel Meloc
#21 of 167 in Cusco
1,095 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
0.5 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Amaru Hostal
Amaru Hostal
#34 of 167 in Cusco
756 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
0.0 mi away
Hostal Corihuasi
Hostal Corihuasi
#26 of 454 in Cusco
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piccola Locanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piccola Locanda

Property: Piccola Locanda
Address: Calle Resbalosa 520, Cusco 00001, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 454 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Piccola Locanda differs from other places; it's a familiar and cultural place where you can feel like home. Ideal for families, couples and friends that are looking for tranquillity. The Locanda is an ethical hostal that links tourism with solidarity. When staying at the Piccola, you contribute to the automatic financing of two projects dedicated to children. You are welcome to visit them! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Piccola Locanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccola Locanda Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing