We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice museum that's open late”

Pre-Columbian Art Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$130.40*
and up
Pre-Columbian Art Museum Tour with Dinner
Ranked #22 of 170 things to do in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
McKinney, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice museum that's open late”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This museum has a nice collection of Pre-Columbian Art- Moche, Nazca, Chimu, Huari, etc, if this interests you. Not as extensive as the Larco or Archaeological museums in Lima, this collection can be seen easily in 1-2 hours; it is also open late so you can save it for when everything else has closed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bob-and-Mila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    348
    195
    71
    13
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good for an hour + ...”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

...especially if you're on your way 'down' [or up to] from San Blas or want to check out the MAP cafe menu [lunch and dinner different]. Think this was about 7$USD and we spent about 60-75 minutes walking around and taking pictures in the not-so-huge museum. The initial rooms are split into time-based/cultural items followed by silver, gold, and shells--yup seashells--collections that appeared largely as jewelry. The museum was relatively empty when we stopped by mid-afternoon and it's eerily quiet. Some, but not all, of the displays have English equivalents but that's not really a big deal since the details of interest (dates, etc.) translate easily. Probably be a 3.5 star if I could split the difference and is worth seeing as far as museums, but there's so much 'natural' stuff to see I'd put those ahead of this when time limited. Bathrooms clean too if only a little chilly ;)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Goog_and_Pooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best museum in Cusco”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

What a collection...pre-historic stone tools, carvings, ceramic bowls, textiles and even Inca mummies! This place has it all and was our favorite museum. I believe it was only 10 soles to get in... a real bargain!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank DPBMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Worth a stop if you enjoy art”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

A sister museum to the famous one in Lima. This was nice for us since we didn't visit Lima on our trip to Peru, but still got to see the pre-columbian pieces. The museum is in a nice, well-appointed building. Photography was allowed(!). Not a lot of people, so you could stroll through the whole thing at your own leisure in about an hour and a half. This museum did a good job of having an English translation for virtually every plaque, which is more than can be said for some other museums.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank crusadercc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Best Museum in Peru”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Of all the museums I visited in Peru I would have to say that the Pre-Columbian Art Museum was my favorite. It is a bit smaller than some of the other museums you might come across but that just makes it more manageable and more room to see the exhibits. There is a fairly nice courtyard to the museum and it gives the museum a nice breezy feel to it.

The museum is also one of the very few sites in Cuzco that allows you to take photographs of the exhibits. Much appreciated for the tourist! Would highly recommend for a few hours.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Meowy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pre-Columbian Art Museum also viewed

Cusco, Cusco Region
Cusco, Cusco Region
 
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to Pre-Columbian Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing