We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Andina Premium Cusco
Ranked #32 of 167 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Maple Glen, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good location, great service”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. It had real charm and the staff couldn't have been better. When I was suffering from the altitude, I was given coca tea, something like smelling salts and even some oxygen. The hotel has a very nice sitting room and bar. The breakfast buffet was delicious. The sleeping room was larger than expected with a comfortable bed. The hotel is located walking distance to the main square and plenty of restaurants. Special shout out to Roosevelt, a great bellman and nice person!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carljw116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,065
    650
    208
    71
    28
See reviews for
440
911
104
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 436 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed here for two nights before our trip to the Sacred Valley and Machu Picchu and came back afterwards for a further one night.

It's a quaint oldfashioned hotel built around 3 courtyards with a certain amount of rustic charm. Everything was very clean and the staff were OK. Hotel is in a great location with easy walking distance to the centre.

Having said that our room on the ground floor for the first two nights was far from satisfactory very small and dingy with a huge bed.. We had maintenance issues too. Our bathroom door wouldn't shut and we had to have them fix the hinges, must say this was promptly attended to,

I tried to use the hairdrier (fixed to the wall) but it just glowed red and became very hot very quickly. I switched it off swiftly and left it to cool down. We reported it of course and they quickly brought me another. We had to ask for the key to the safe, no problem but can't understand why they don't just supply it at check in. Bathroom was ok, shower over the bath which was a bit slippy and care had to be taken. Good range of toiletries.

Being located on the ground floor and a passageway running past the window we had no natural daylight which was rather unpleasant, why the green paint everywhere? surely the doors etc. painted white would improve appearance greatly. Also people leaving early morning walking past and wheeling their cases caused us some disturbance but that we could deal with, although I note others have mentioned this in their reviews..

We returned for our last night and were given a room upstairs. Good we thought. Well we again had maintenance issues. This time our toilet wouldn't flush and after showering the bath had filled up with water as the plug was jammed in, the phone didn't work to report it so my husband took a walk to reception. Again it was all seen to immediately, meantime I'd also noticed that the radiator wouldn't switch off, the maintenance guy "fixed it" but I wasn't surprised to find that it stayed hot all night.

Certainly quieter up here but the room was exactly the same as previous, rather small and dark.

We had dinner in the hotel a couple of times which was good although the first evening we were told it was best to book and we had to wait while they did a special table for us, not sure why as other tables were vacant and remained so for the time we were in. We thought the restaurant provided great service and excellent value. Breakfast also was good with a great choice of juices, fruit, cereals, yogurt, meats/cheeses, bread/pastries and cake. The chef was also cooking eggs.

I'm only too sorry to give this hotel such a poor rating and would like to make the point that I am not being unduly harsh or make a habit of writing bad reviews, I write honestly and just as we experienced it.

Out of the three Casa Andina Private Collection hotels we stayed in this was not up to the mark compared to the others and particularly disappointing as we were here for my husband's birthday.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mazza-500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed at Casa Andina for two nights at the beginning of our Peruvian adventure and for one night at the end. The rooms are very comfortably appointed and the location is perfect for walking around the city and exploring the rich history of the area.

The first day we arrived, we were greeted warmly and given coca tea to help us with the altitude sickness. The beds were very comfortable. We unfortunately forgot to close our window that faced the stairway and did have a rather rough night of sleep. The second night, we fixed that, and found it to be a lot quieter. The last night we stayed there, we ended up in a suite which was very nice.

Room service had some really good options and were very prompt. The front desk staff was very helpful in providing maps and directions. The onsite restaurant was good (although we only ate breakfast there). The staff was happy to hold onto our luggage when we checked out before our ride arrived which allowed us to do some last minute site-seeing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrissylb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I cannot say enough good things about the staff here. They were prompt and helpful always, even when they had bad news ("your room isn't ready yet").

The in room internet is a bit spotty, but the hotel also features two stand-alone terminals with printing available for no charge. An ATM that dispenses PEN is very handy, although banks in town (Scotiabank) allow larger withdrawals in dollars and PEN. Breakfast is included, which is nice, because the meal isn't a Peruvian speciality. The rooms are reasonably sized although not spacious and have great showers with plenty of hot water with excellent pressure for those of whom a nice hot shower after hiking all is important.

The major drawback of this hotel is the noise. All the rooms are arranged around a series of courtyards. In the very early morning when groups are leaving for hiking tours the noise will certainly wake you up. The absence of A/C (not a problem temperature wise) means keeping the windows open only amplifies the noise issue.

Still, all in all, probably the best hotel value in the city for those who are too old, too soft, or work too hard to stay in hostels.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that are on the way to the lobby. They are the most noisy in the morning and remember to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EvanT543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The Casa Andina Private Collection is a great choice for Cusco. It's better priced and has more charm than its peer four star hotels (like the Libertador Palacio). Upon check-in, guests are ushered into a richly-appointed sitting room with soaring ceilings to enjoy coco tea. The hotel straddles two colonial courtyards and is filled with Peruvian works of art. It's location, just a few blocks from the Plaza de Arma, is hard to beat. The staff is attentive (requests for more towels are answered within 10 minutes) and accommodating (the kitchen staff prepared boxed lunches for our group with just an hour's notice and guests hiking the Inca Trail are welcome to store their luggage their during the four day trek). The hotel also has a very reliable restaurant and bar. The concierge made making reservations around town effortless.

Room Tip: Rooms on the courtyard can be noisy. It's best to ask for a room that has an exterior window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nyr38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahmoor, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

As part of a 5 day trip to Macchu Piccu we used this hotel twice. The ambience and friendliness of the staff was fabulous and we could not have asked for better. We were welcomed with coco tea which was available all the time free. We were advised on the altitude and how we should feel and conditioned to be wary of. Oxygen was available at all times if required. The hotel is set in various patio areas on 3 levels and all rooms are quiet. There are many small patios and seating areas as you walk around in case you need to rest or if you want to use the free wifi in comfort. The amenities in the comfortable rooms are splendid and the water was hot for the deep bathtub which we put to good use after the long walks. They allowed us to leave some of our luggage while we went on to Macchu Piccu and it was ready again for us in our rooms when we returned for the second night.
The food at both breakfasts was very plentiful and the choice amazing.
Situated in the middle of the town it is close to shops and places of interest so you could not ask for anything more.

Room Tip: ask for a downstairs room as it can be easy to get lost in the various patio levels and there are no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prudence-kitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Spent the first 2 nights of our honeymoon here. When they learned we were married on day 2 they upgraded us to the presidential suite at N/C. Very friendly staff, charming location in a 500 year old building. We would definately go back to this location. Walking distance to Plaza de Armas and dozens of historic sites and nice restaurants

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#31 of 167 in Cusco
1,396 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
#14 of 167 in Cusco
2,923 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Cusco Plaza
0.5 mi away
Andean Wings Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Andina Premium Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Andina Premium Cusco

Property: Casa Andina Premium Cusco
Address: Plazoleta de Limacpampa Chico 473, Cusco, Peru (Formerly Casa Andina Private Collection Cusco)
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Cusco
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#13 Family Hotel in Cusco
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Andina Premium Cusco 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Andina Private Collection Cusco is located in a beautiful eighteenth century mansion. Its majestic colonial courtyards invite you to live an authentic Cusco experience, in a space full of beauty and history. It is located just 4 blocks away from Cusco's main square, ideal city point for exploring the delights of the Imperial city. Start the tour from the Limacpampa square, located just outside the hotel. Discover the magic of the mythical city of Cusco, and its narrow cobbled streets. Be surprised by the ancient Inca culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Andina Premium Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Andina Private Collection Cusco Hotel Cusco
Cusco Casa Andina Private Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing