We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to Cusco and Machu Picchu”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Andina Standard Cusco San Blas
Ranked #59 of 165 Hotels in Cusco
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Trip to Cusco and Machu Picchu”
Reviewed November 12, 2010

This is a great hotel. The staff were always will to help, warm and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taxman76133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    227
    79
    19
    20
See reviews for
91
274
28
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

We really liked this hotel. Physically, it is lovely, with plenty of wonderful sitting areas to lounge around and entertain guests, as well as sip the complimentary coca tea available around-the-clock in the lobby. Internet access is free and the computer room was especially attractive, with its wood-burning fireplace. Rooms were spotlessly clean and beds very comfortable with lots of pillows. And I loved the coqa shampoo - I confess I brought some home! Staff were always pleasant and helpful. Breakfast times were really generous and the breakfast buffet was abundant. (Many thanks for the recipe for those quinoa pancakes, Chef!) My only regret was that there is no food service available after breakfast for those times when you just want to veg out over a bowl of soup; however there are plenty of restaurants close by. As far as the occasional noise issue: e.g. the Rastafarian band that began playing next door at 4:00 a.m. one night - after travelling around Germany during the World Cup, I learned NEVER to travel without ear plugs. I didn't need them here, but did in other towns in Peru. We came and went, so really appreciated the luggage storage.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sainott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2010

I love this place. I love the helpful staff. Breakfest was wonderful and on time. The place has so much charm. Resembles a boutique style hotel that has a wonderful view of the city and mountains It a 8 minute walk through the mazes of streets to the Plaza de Armas BUT its in the heart of a up and coming artsy are called San Blas. Better and more interesting shops. And its close to my fav restaurant Chi Cha.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janner519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
85 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2010

Casa Andina San Blas was a very nice, small hotel. The walk up hill was not that bad once you became acclumated to the altitude. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast buffet was acceptable. The only issue we had was there was an open air concert near by that went on till 2am!! It was heard through out the hotel and extremely loud to the rooms that faced the concert. We had to swithc rooms at 12:30am so we could get a couple hours sleep before hiking Machu Picchu. Not the hotels fault, of course, but definately check before you book.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillywade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaAndina_GR, Propietario at Casa Andina Standard Cusco San Blas, responded to this review, October 29, 2010
Dear Guest,

We cannot be more thankful for your positive comments regarding your experience at Casa Andina Classic San Blas.
We sincerely regret the noise inconveniences you encountered, but look forward to have you with us in a not too distant future. It will be a pleasure to serve you again.

Kind regards,
The Casa Andina Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2010

i stayed here for 2 nights in late September 2010. Rooms were very comfortable with fantastic views of Cusco. Service was exceptionally good, both Ian and Susan (especially!) on reception but also everyone there was very friendly always with a smile and keen to help. I thought the hotel was excellent value!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonm71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2010

I enjoyed this hotel a lot. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was wonderful with fresh fruit and lots of choices. Appreciate the cocoa tea in the lobby. It Was a safe place to store luggage Our When we went to hike the Inca trail. I would highly recommend Staying here .

Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank happyjoyousandfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2010

We had four nights in the Casa Andina, San Blas, in three separate rooms. The staff was invariably pleasant and helpful; the rooms OK, and the breakfasts excellent, but no restaurant open so no opportunity to get coffee/tea at odd times of day or evening, which was a problem on arriving back from Machu Piccu in mid-evening to find no refreshment other than water or that coco tea stuff.
The problem was sleep quality, or lack of it.
This hotel fronts onto narrow streets, front and back. The windows are not double glazed and sound proofing between rooms and outside and between rooms and each other is either non-existent or very poor.
On our first night we couldn`t sleep because of a group of local drunks carousing in the street outside, for hours. The hotel staff tried to move them, the police wouldn`t come, so the hotel moved us to the other side of the building, in the middle of the night. On our last night, our room overlooked thee road at the front of the hotel. Traffic up the road continued all evening and, intermittently through out the night. The road is on a hill and there is a sharp left hand turn right outside the hotel. Local practice is to toot the car horn when turning the corner. This went on all night.
The two nights in between we were in internal rooms, isolated from external noise. but this is a hotel that serves travellers to and from Machu Piccu, Puno etc and they arrive at odd hours and get up anytime from 5.00a.m. The sound proofing is such that you hear all noise above, under and each side of your room.

Cusco was great, we really enjoyed it, but the Casa Andina San Blas??? They try hard but no thanks; sorry

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mooney_peterj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaAndina_GR, Propietario at Casa Andina Standard Cusco San Blas, responded to this review, September 28, 2010
Dear guest,

We very much regret that we missed the opportunity to offer you an absolutely pleasant stay at our Casa Andina Classic San Blas. We truly understand your disappointment regarding the noise inconveniences and apologize for this issue.

Certainly, our hotel manager even contacted local police officers to maintain the loud neighbors away from the hotel. Unfortunately, they did not arrive on time. We are very sorry to know that you did not enjoy our hotel and if we, somehow, failed to make your stay memorable.

We would like to mention that our staff is very respectful with our guest’s rest and that we try very hard to avoid noise from other guests or from daily operational activities. Please know that your opinion is entirely important to us when working towards guest satisfaction. Therefore, we can not be more grateful for the time you set aside to share your comments.

We sincerely hope to have you with us at any of our Casa Andina properties in the near future. It will be a pleasure to serve you again.

Kind regards,

The Casa Andina Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Cusco Koricancha
0.3 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Cusco Catedral
0.4 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Cusco Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Cusco
0.7 mi away
Terra Andina Hotel
Terra Andina Hotel
#27 of 165 in Cusco
1,112 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Dorado San Agustin
El Dorado San Agustin
#56 of 165 in Cusco
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Andina Standard Cusco San Blas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Andina Standard Cusco San Blas

Property: Casa Andina Standard Cusco San Blas
Address: Calle Chihuampata 278, Cusco 84, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Andina Standard Cusco San Blas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is a sprawling colonial building built around a sunny colonial stone courtyard, peacefully removed from Cusco's fast pace - like a sophisticated country hotel in the city. Rooms offer superb distant views of Cusco's tiled rooftops and surrounding mountains or of the handsome arcaded interior courtyard and ample terrace. Tucked away in the heart of the city's most atmospheric neighborhood, San-Blas, the hotel has 4-wood-burning-chimneys, a rustic restaurant and bar, and delightful sitting areas. The hotel offers Internet Center, Wireless internet access, ATM, laundry service and breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Andina Standard Cusco San Blas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Andina Classic - Cusco San Blas Hotel Cusco
Casa Andina Classic Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing