We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place, comfortable, and clean”
Review of Amaru Colonial

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amaru Colonial
Ranked #25 of 402 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This is my 2nd visit in Cuzco. The first experience was at Amaru 1 not so great last year, cause of there's no enough hot water in the shower and I had to rent the heater which didn't help at all, it was cold every day/night. But with Amaru II( staying for 4 nights), it's quieter, cleaner, more comfortable place to stay. The most important thing is there's enough hot water, heater provided( my favorite room is 307). The breakfast is very typical at all hostals in Cuzco. The front desk is very helpful too. I just want to thank Jose Valenzuela whom I had been corresponding with since before I left the US to make a booking with him. It's too bad that I can't stay back here next week for another 3 more nights( from Aquas Calientes), no room available.
For sure when I m back here, I will request room 307...at Amaru II.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KASANOFF H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (305)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

88 - 94 of 305 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2013

We spent a few nights in Amaru when exploring Cusco before and after our MP trek. It was amazing. So close to good restaurants and to city center.
It was unforgettable stay. They had coca tea all the time which helped with the altitude.The breakfast service was a little slow. Front desk people were very nice.

Room Tip: the very corner room is good. The room with the stairs is not good for people who just arrived in C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greggandtheresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Having so enjoyed our stay at the Amuru Valle Hotel, a couple days before, my husband and I decided to stay at this "sister" hostel in Cusco the evening of June 15, 2013. Immediately we were quite impressed with the establishment. It was very clean, spacious, comfortable and our room had a spectacular view of the city, as well as overlooking the hostel gardens. After relaxing for a bit, we went out to eat and explore colonial Cusco. When we came back that evening, our room had a huge chemical odor. When we asked to switch rooms, the staff was not all that agreeable. We finally convinced the staffer to allow us to switch rooms after he came and smelled the odor. We felt that their effort to please us through this situation was halfhearted which somewhat soured our experience there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

We spent 5 nights at Amaru 2. The rooms were nice with good views of the city. The staff were really helpful no matter what queries we threw at them. And we completely disagree with the review below - the breakfast was the best we'd had in Peru and Bolivia! Really great way to start the day!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Amaru II Hostel is quite cute. The room was really spacious and comfortable. The hotel has a very nice city view. Its localization is also good, walking distance from Plaza de Armas. However, the breakfast could be (much) better. I left the restaurant hungry.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dricaprado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

The staff at Amaru II was so helpful, friendly and courteous. They bent over backwards to help in getting bus reservations and tickets and gave us much information about attractions in the area. The breakfast was the best we had in Peru- eggs, wonderful fresh warm bread, fresh fruit with or without yogurt, freshly squeezed juice and coffee and tea. The patio area is charming and overlooks the city. It is an easy walk from the plaza and located in the charming San Blas neighborhood. We will return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edie108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

My wife, two kids, and I spent two nights at Amaru II and we liked the place immediately! The San Blas neighborhood is a terrific place from which to see the city-- close to the Plaza, restaurants, museums, and Qorikancha.
We had a quadruple room, overlooking the lovely courtyard, and it was clean, light-filled, and beautiful. With so much glass, it was also a little cool at night, but the many blankets on each bed took care of that. Because our room hung over the courtyard and sitting area (free coca tea), it was noisy at times, but that's largely due to the guests sharing the hotel at the time; the hotel staff are quiet and helpful, and breakfast was nicely done.
We left much of our luggage for almost a week as we moved up the valley and then back for another night, and it was kept safe and sound, at no charge. Our family enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jwaterdock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
Amaru Hostal
Amaru Hostal
#35 of 172 in Cusco
792 reviews
0.3 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
0.4 mi away
Casa Real Hoteles
Casa Real Hoteles
#22 of 402 in Cusco
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Posada del Viajero
La Posada del Viajero
#5 of 402 in Cusco
494 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hospedaje Turistico San Blas
0.5 mi away
Hostal Wara Wara
Hostal Wara Wara
#10 of 402 in Cusco
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amaru Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaru Colonial

Address: Calle Chihuampata # 642 | San Blas, Cusco 08003, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 402 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range: $46 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amaru Colonial 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amaru Colonial is located in a restored Colonial house, one and a half block away from San Blas square and 4 blocks from the Main Square. Is possible to access by car or walking. Offer single, doube and multiple rooms. All rooms have ensuite bathroom and central heating during the nights. Double Superior rooms have nice views of the city, all other rooms are located around the flowered courtyards. Guests have free services as breakfast at our cafeteria, free airport pick up (only by arrive), Wi-Fi in public areas, luggage storage, book exchange and others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Amaru Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amaru Ii Hostal Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing