We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and great value”
Review of El Andariego

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Andariego
Ranked #11 of 365 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location and great value”
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

For my family of five, this place was perfect. The location is very central and secure and their family room is ideal for a family of my size. True, the breakfast was no more than adequate. But nothing was too much trouble for them, including printing off boarding passes and arranging for some brekky outside of normal hours. Trust me, this one fits the bill.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    93
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
46
98
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Rooms are really really average.
They are neat and clean.
Breakfast is good.
Locations is fantastic.... as it is close to plaza de armas and you can walk almost to every place you want to visit. The location was very convenient for us.
Service - We found everything took a long time in Peru. Service here too was the same... but atleast they showed concern.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msn_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reseda, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2012

El Andariego is a great option in Cusco. My wife and I stayed there for 5 days. The staff was extremely polite and helpful (they even helped us find a local painter who ended up doing an amazing painting for my wife). The location is excellent, close the Plaza de Armas and several other main attractions but away from all the traffic and noise. Our room was very comfy and came equipped with a heater. The beds and linens were comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jared C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Referring to other reviews made about El Andariego, I can confirm that the staff are really friendly and helpful in particular Mariela that has always been very smiley and friendly when we are ask questions about Cusco, directions and etc. Feris was also very helfpul, especially when we had to leave the hotel at 4am to start our Salkantay trekking- he made sure we have a simple breakfast and hot drink before we leave. Overally both rooms were very comfortable and I have not major issues except the plug where a portable heater is connected too is not very 'efficient'. Other than day El Andariengo is a lovely place to stay!

Room Tip: Stayed 2 nights in room 103, with the fireplace.very spacious and unique in its own way. Stayed at 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evelynkhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stay here! Close to the Plaza del Armes. Helpful staff - English not great, but internet translations work. Good linens, good beds, hot water for showers could be better - but get over it! Good security, they arranged transport and connections - good people! Gotta love their breakfast! Just a super nice place, in Cusco of all places! A real local experience, we were one (two) of the few gringos - we never saw another gringo and that suited us just fine!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Hotel El Andariego is in a good central location, yet far enough from the Plaza de Armas (less crowded). The hotel is situated away from the main street, behind two iron gates, and consists of two buildings. The rooms are nice and quiet, although during weekends the nearby disco may be heared during the night. Because the houses are old, the wooden floors make a lot of noice when walking on them, so a room upstairs would be better (bad luck for the guys underneath you!).
The staff is very friendly and helpful, although you should still check your reservation, because mistakes occur. The breakfast is average (is there a good bakery in Cusco?) and the breakfastroom feels more like a mortuary (ice-cold). They have a fireplace, but it seems to be there only for decoration.
We paid 160 soles for a twin room, although the listed price was 180. Bargaining is worth the effort, even in the high season.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrRob60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We stayed at El Andariego for a total of nine days. It was a wonderful stay without real problems. The staff was incredibly helpful starting with their quick replies to all my emails full of questions. They were very attentive while we were there. The rooms were comfortable and the showers functioned well. There was a heater in each room that kept us plenty warm. Breakfast was fine. Some days it was a standard Peruvian buffet of bread, cheese and some quinoa muesli. Some days (I think when there were fewer guests) we were served an egg with our bread. The coffee was good. The staff allowed us access to the kitchen (although the stove didn't work) so we could reheat leftovers for a couple of meals. We truly had a home here.

The dining/living room was incredibly cold. We used it a lot since we were there for so long, so we bought a lot of wraps from the market to keep warm. It worked but not as well as we'd have liked. The fireplace was not as functional as it could be. When a fire was lit, smoke filled the room. Heat would have made the stay perfect.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are quieter. The fireplace room is separate from the building and quiet. It's w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moseler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 169 in Cusco
1,482 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
0.7 mi away
Mirador de Santa Ana
Mirador de Santa Ana
#63 of 169 in Cusco
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
0.4 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Andariego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Andariego

Property: El Andariego
Address: Calle San Andres 270, Cusco Cusco01, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 365 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Andariego 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Andariego is a lodging that offers comfort located near the Main Square. It is the ideal place to relax after a day of sightseeing in Cusco and its environs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your El Andariego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing