We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view from RM 8!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Corihuasi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal Corihuasi to your Saves list
Hostal Corihuasi
2.5 of 5 Hostel   |   Calle Suecia 561, Cusco, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 317 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Amazing view from RM 8!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I stayed here for one night only. If my budget could handle it I would have stayed longer. It's more pricey than most hostels in Cusco (but a bargain by British standards). The view was simply stunning so I could rave about this alone. The breakfast room was lovely with similar beautiful views. The included breakfast was tasty, cereal, choice of eggs and bread roll with a hot and cold beverage. I found the staff very helpful, though I didn't book any tours with them so can't comment. The room wasn't huge but comfy bed with plenty of blankets and a super heater if needed. Great hot powerful shower too (something not to be taken for granted).

Room Tip: Rm 8 had an amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank u01fw3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Quito
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed two days here, and our experience was avarage. Indeed there are great rooms with wonderful views, but by no means all of them! We had room nr 11, with small rooms and a wooden ceiling that separated us from the upstairs neighbours. The latter implied we could hear every step they made and worse...
Also, the service was OK but not extremely helpful with airport pickup, finding good rooms (we asked by email for a room with a view but didnt got it) nor tourist info (a taxi they recommeded for the sacred valley was absolutely poor)
The good side: they tried to make it up giving us a discount, but damage done. I hope it was just a negative personal experience but I think some things could really change to improve this hotel....

Room Tip: Make sure you get a good view, check beforehand
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R_Bitterbal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Along with my friends I stayed at the Corihuasi hostal back in December, we all liked the place, the staff is friendly and helpful but reserved. The atmosphere is very relaxed, the rooms are simple but clean, and the restaurant/lounge area is very cosy, especially when the firelace is on, the complex is quirky, it feel like being in a mini-village. I felt this was the right kind of place I needed in order to enjoy and immerse myself in the andean culture. The views are great!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelAmun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

If you are looking for a friendly place to stay not far from the main square then the Corihuasi isn't too bad.
The Pros are:
* Just a five minute walk up a gentle hill from the main square
* Very friendly staff - it makes such a difference to have nice friendly people to greet you and answer any questions.
* Some rooms are nice BUT some have very little natural light - we had the superior room with a great view but our sons were in a 3 bedroom room with very little light - would recommend it.
* The shared space which was a large room with a lovely room was a nice space - this was used as the dining room and the relaxing room - had a big fire place.
* Very clean and well cared for
* Easy to arrange taxis etc.
* Breakfast was one egg scrambled, fried or poached with a bit of bread but wasn't bad for a Peruivan breakfast.

Cons
* Some rooms were dark with no views
* Could be very noisy at night with the local night club banging away all night
* As in most places people were a bit noisy at times - leaving for early flights and not being thoughtful of other people but this was not the fault of the hotel.

Would I stay there again? Possibly. If I did stay there again it would because of the lovely people who run it.

Room Tip: Make sure you get the rooms with a view - the superior vies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KentMercedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
japan
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I stayed this hotel for 2 nights before and after Machu picchu. First day room no.8, second day was room no.19. Both of rooms were clean.

+: nice view from the hotel.
the room has hairdryer and heater.

-: pickup service didn't come
room no.19 was noisy when upstairs people walked around and used toilet.
it was so hard to climb the street in front of the hotel.

Room Tip: except room no.19
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pogie9824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
283 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Just 5 minutes walk from the main square but all uphill so take it slowly.

Staff had good English and were cheery and helpful. We liked the big rooms and original walls (4ft thick in ours) overlooking town.

WiFi decent speed and in rooms which is a bonus.

Breakfast all fine. For the price it is good value compared to the two more expensive places we tried.

Note that we paid a few dollars more by booking online even though 'best price guarantee'. Also sign saying 10% discount for cash but apparently not for us as an online booking?

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SmallBizOwner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

we stayed there for 3 and 2 nights with our group in this very nice and friendly hostal, up on a steep hill; the service and breakfast were very good, coca tea during all day. breakfast/sitting room with marvelous views over Cusco. Our breakfast servant was outstanding. this very friendly guy did his job with the most enthousiasm we ever encountered. Wifi in the dining room, not in the rooms. in a word 'a great hostal'.

Room Tip: they have 2 nice panoramic rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nymvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.3 mi away
Amaru Hostal
Amaru Hostal
#39 of 157 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 stars 600 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#7 of 157 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 stars 1,253 reviews
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
#18 of 157 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 stars 868 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Wara Wara
Hostal Wara Wara
#6 of 306 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 stars 284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ecopackers
Ecopackers
#7 of 317 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 stars 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Corihuasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Corihuasi

Address: Calle Suecia 561, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 317 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostal Corihuasi 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a renovated XVIII century colonial-style inn, Corihuasi features rooftop views of Cusco historic centre, just 2 blocks from the city’s main square. Wi-Fi is free.The inn features parquet floors and colonial-style furniture. There are colonial decorative details and scenic Spanish galleries with a seating area featuring a fireplace and overlooking the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hostal Corihuasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Corihuasi Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing