We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Torre Dorada is the place to stay in Cusco (Cuzco)”
Review of Hotel Torre Dorada

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Torre Dorada
Ranked #6 of 165 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Hyattsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
129 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Torre Dorada is the place to stay in Cusco (Cuzco)”
Reviewed August 25, 2007

In planning for Cusco I checked several hotels. We chose Torre Dorada in part because they responded immediately to the email inquiry. Some of the big-name and center-square hotels in town didn't bother to respond AT ALL...those that did took days to reply.

The MAIN reason we settled on Torre Dorada was thanks to the many positive remarks in travel sites. The praise is deserved. And, we found they are as welcoming of gay and lesbian families as of any other guests.

Staying at Torre Dorada was like staying with friends. They are solicitous, extraordinarily helpful, and kind. The accommodations are excellent -- best pillows and best toilet paper found in all of Peru -- very comfortable, and extremely clean. Service, to tell the truth, was far, far superior to that of the Inkaterra luxury resort we stayed in at Machu Picchu.

I guess because Torre Dorada is a 30 minute walk from the center of town, they drive guests into town and pick you up again at no cost. (Taxis in the city limits are 2 soles each way, but we found in 2 out of 3 cab rides, we were asked to pay more, and we read many warnings about robberies by taxi drivers). Unlike other hotels found in Peru, they also pick up and drop off at the airport with no additional charges.

The only negative -- no fault of Torre Dorada -- was the cozy breakfast room the first day was taken over by a very loud-mouthed family of four, making it uncomfortable for the rest of the guests. Because of all the chaos they created, nobody asked on day 1 if we wanted eggs with breakfast, so we didn't find out 'till next day that eggs are made to order.

Unique Qualities: Unlike the big touristy hotels in the central square at Cuzco, the Torre Dorada is in a peaceful residential neighborhood. Easy to sleep at night: no drunks, no car horns, no loud tourists in the streets! When we later saw those big-name hotels downtown, we felt very fortunate we were staying at Torre Dorada, instead.

I understand Peggy designed the hotel herself. The photos on Torre Dorada's simple web site don't do it justice. As a design professional, I have to say she did a great job!

Another thing I noticed, as a designer, is that the hotel's first floor guest rooms would be good for senior travelers (no steps).

Finally, an interesting connection: we learned from our Manu guide that the father of the family running the hotel is considered "The father of Manu" National Park. Manu books say it’s almost entirely thanks to his efforts, over decades of work, that the park was set aside in the 1970's...leaving one of the world's best-kept pristine natural settings for us future generations.

  • Liked — The kindness of the owner and her family
  • Disliked — There was nothing to dislike about the accomodation.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank ryan61562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,286
    137
    26
    10
    5
See reviews for
268
679
106
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coral Gables, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2007

After reading so many good reviews of Torre Dorada, I was a little apprehensive. It is not too often you read such praise, let alone details like the names of the owner, I thought maybe it was fictitious, but everything I read turned out true.

From the moment they promptly pick you up from the airport (most likely in the early morning) they help you get settled in. With years of experience, they know what to do, ranging from what time to get to the train to go to Machu PIcchu (without waiting an excessive time) to places you should visit in the city. Best of all they will take you into and pick you up from the city, avoiding the taxis (especially helpful if you speak little Spanish). All the things Peggy and the staff do is to make your trip easier, more enjoyable, and stress-free.

My favorite thing of all was I loved one of her blankets and she took me to a place that sold them (off the beaten path a little) and I was able to buy one. This way I can remember my wonderful time in the Torre Dorado, Cusco, and Peru.

For those who wonder, the facility are exceptionally clean and they offer a great breakfast and a complimentary bottle of water every morning. It is the little thoughtful things like this that make the Torre Dorada a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank unbiasedopinion3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2007

We can only reiterate what other reviewers have already stated... the service is simply incredible! Coffee and rolls beckoned to us at 5am before our journey to Machu Picchu...these lovingly set up in the communal living area right before our collective alarms went off. Peggy and her family could not do enough for us; whatever questions we had were promptly answered, requests happily granted, advice readily given. We're convinced Peggy has a twin as she multi tasked better than anyone we've ever known.
On our departure day we overheard that there were myriad cancellations flowing in as, we can only assume, guests feared the consequences of the earthquake. (The building undulated for a bit, and there seemed to be an abnormal increase of dogs barking....) For the curious and those wanting more info before confirming/cancelling plans, Cusco itself has not been noticeably affected, and it's a charming town. Tourism remains a major support system for those in this and many other Peruvian communities, and this experience with a lovely family in a charming hotel residence might simply become one of your most treasured memories.

  • Liked — quiet, clean
  • Disliked — heating antiquated
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank junketjotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2007

The only downside to staying at the Torre Dorada is that no other hotel will be able to match the quality of service you will receive there! From picking up our Machu Picchu tickets for us, to having breakfast ready at an insanely early hour, to giving us a packed lunch for the train journey, to picking us up from the airport/train station/plaza de armas, to organizing customized day trips, to recommending the best restaurants, to just making you feel like you're staying with family - read no further and book a room now! You won't regret it. Peggy, Rose Marie, Danny, Oscar, Christopher - my wife and I applaud you. Take a well deserved bow - you give "hospitality" a new meaning.

  • Liked — Phenomenal level of service from EVERY member of staff
  • Disliked — Having to leave...
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Tr4veller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2007

We stayed in Cusco for 4 nights as our bridge to seeing Machu Piccu. The owner of this bed and breakfast, Peggy (and family), speaks perfect English and looks out for your best interests for your entire stay. While their place is a little far from the main square, this is more than made up for by the free car service they provide both to and from their place, at any time of the day or night, including airport pickup. A very nice breakfast is provided everyday as is bottled water. As a bonus, they arranged our Machu Piccu trip for us and even had a driver take us around all the Incan ruins just outside Cusco for an entire day for under $50!! I would definitely stay there again! I have never stayed anywhere that provided such amazing service for such a reasonable price.

  • Liked — Amazing Service
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MGK99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2007

Peggy and her family ABSOLUTELY knock themselves out. The accomodations are humble, but absolutely worth the rate charged. What sets this place apart is the service - they arranged tours for us, picked us up from the airport and really just treated us like family! We couldn't have hoped for a better experience. Peggy speaks fluent English which was a plus for us, even though we speak Spanish. Everyone else was great too - they have several people that seem to drive for them, so they were always able to schedule personalized tours. We were so pleased with our experience - seriously - stay here! You won't regret it!

  • Liked — Service!
  • Disliked — we were under the kitchen - sometimes could hear the clacking of shoes as breakfast was prepared
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ChileLivin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2007

Having worked, trained, and studied the hospitality industry for nearly (2) decades, I thought I had seen and experienced good service. I can honestly say, I have never experienced the personal service like this. They hotel itself is plain, but very quaint, nice, warm and welcoming, for travelers who are weary and needing a nice safe place to call home. Peggy and her team go way beyond helping their guests to a point that so much is done, you cannot ask for more. We traveled during the beginnings for the recent transportation strike, and the owner herself offered to walk with us to town to make sure we knew the ins and outs in case anything dramatic happened. What a kind and amazing experience. They believe in their guests safety and security, while always doing whatever is possible. I am accustomed to the five star, black Mercedes life style that many fine resorts offer, however, with this service, you cannot go wrong. You will find a friend at Torre Dorada who will always welcome you back with a smile, open arms, and a hot cup of tea (please drink the tea, it helps!!!) I cannot express how special you feel when staying here!

  • Liked — Service.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Service-101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
1.4 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
1.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
1.0 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
0.7 mi away
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
#15 of 165 in Cusco
2,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torre Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torre Dorada

Property: Hotel Torre Dorada
Address: Calle Los Cipreses N-5 | Residencial Huancaro, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cusco
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#8 Best Value Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Torre Dorada 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quiet Residential area 10 minutes away from Main Plaza, Personalized and medical attention, We give advice on where to eat and tours in general according to your preference and we help you with any kind of problem that may arise during your stay in Cusco, airline and bus reservations, etc. We are your "home away from home" we provide FREE transportation to the Plaza, airport and bus terminals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel Torre Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Dorada Hotel
Torre Dorada Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing