We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel staff I've ever encountered.”
Review of Hotel Torre Dorada

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Torre Dorada
Ranked #5 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2010

Just returned from a ten-day Peruvian vacation, made all the better by our four nights at Torre Dorada. The hotel is modern, clean and efficiently managed. But that's not why I'm writing. In all my years of travel, I have never encountered a hotel staff as accommodating as this one. The difference is there's a genuine engagement with guests and a heartfelt desire to make your stay the best. In our case, they arranged all our tours through the Sacred Valley and Machu Picchu, complete with drivers and excellent tour guides. Every request we made was cheerfully fulfilled and we left with a feeling of having met new friends, not simply hoteliers. Hats off to Peggy and the entire staff - you deliver what other hotels only promise. Keep up the great work. We're so happy to have met and stayed with you and look forward to our return to Cusco.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sstrauss51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,512)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

985 - 991 of 1,512 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2010

Starting off, I should say that everything about this hotel is fantastic--the rates ($80 per night), the breakfast (fruit, juice, yogurt, cereal, bread, hard-boiled eggs...), the location (a bit on the outside of the city, so quieter), the free taxi rides, the free wifi, the free collect calls to the US, etc. However, it is the staff that put this hotel so over the top. When we first arrived, the receptionist sat us down and told us all about our tour options in the city. She then set us up with a personal cab driver the next day, who took us to all of the local ruin sites and lunch (around a 5- to 6-hour trip) for $60. Taxi rides were always free during our stay, whether it was to/from downtown Cusco or to/from the airport. They simply required a 10-minute lead time to arrange the ride. The hotel even was able to safely store our bags for us while we hiked the 4-day Inca Trail trek to Machu Picchu. But certainly the most impressive episode of our stay came when we visited a restaurant that they highly recommended (Granja Heidi--it was the best meal that we had during our 2-week honeymoon trip to 3 countries). My wife fell in love with the clay dinnerware that the restaurant served us on, so we had Torre Dorada look up the address of the local pottery maker. They not only arranged a taxi to take us there, but also held him there for us for 2-3 hours while we ran around buying every little servingware piece that we could find (Of course we didn't anticipate taking so long and tipped the driver for his wonderful patience). But the best part came when we got the 2 heavy boxes of dishes back to the hotel and then had to figure out how to ship them home. We were flying out the next day and had completely overlooked the fact that it was a Sunday, which meant that post offices were all likely closed. We were hugely distressed, but our hotel concierge, Danny, was all smiles and "Don't worry, we will take care of it." He actually offered to ship the boxes back for us the next day, after we were gone, and I've no doubt that he would have done it and then trusted us to reimburse the shipping costs. However, it didn't come to this, as he called around and found a post office that was open that morning before our flight departed. So that morning, instead of sending us on our way to do the errand ourselves, he came with us, guiding the taxi driver to the post office and then getting out and helping us repack all of our dishes into 3 boxes so that they would survive the trip home. He was running around finding boxes, buying bubble wrap and tape for us, coordinating with the post office worker. It was ridiculous, and we couldn't believe that he was going out of his way so much for us. But then it got even better as we suddenly realized that the post office didn't take credit cards, so we had to withdraw money from an ATM. We were running low on time, so Danny and I *ran* what turned out to be several blocks on the street to find an operating ATM. We were both sweating and out of breath when we got there, but I withdrew the money and he hailed us a cab back to the post office. We finished our transaction, and then he hailed us another cab to the airport and rode with us all the way there. We were so grateful for all of his help and complete sincerity in wanting to make our trip the best it could be, that we had to force a tip on him before hugging and saying goodbye. Seriously, you will never find better service than this in any country at any price. Our hats are off to the Hotel Torre Dorada staff for going well above and beyond the call of duty, and we look forward to seeing them again the next time we're in Cusco.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swcookson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2010

Torre Dorada is a creme de la creme experience on the outskirts of Cusco. The service is phenominal and the staff is beyond compare. I stayed with my Mom at the end of December for vacation. The hotel provides a car service (5 minutes) into town (10 minutes notice needed) at any time, included, so location is no imposition. Your belongings are secure and safes are provided in each room as well as a main safe, if you need to leave as we did for a four day stint on the Inca trail. The hotel itself is comfortable with heavy covers to keep out the evening chill and warm lounges, stocked with hot tea, for each suite of rooms. TVs are in lounges for addicts: not necessary for Cusco! From the moment we walked in the staff made us feel wonderfuly welcome and at ease. As non Spanish (or Quechua) speakers the English speaking staff made things nice and easy. Mariella, the manager, took the time to give us a run over of the city, safe places to eat, how to get around... and so much more and I will add with infinit patience. Danny, always pleasant, smiling, and eager to help, even at midnight and later was a grace. Luis helped with ticket printing and plenty of translation. Peggy, the owner, was easily accesable and helped us to plan our stay from the get-go. Our local travel arrangements were helped in planning and execution, ticket arrangements, flight transportation, heaters in the rooms, you name it and the staff was there to help with a smile. Breakfast was tasty in a lovely room looking over the ¨square¨in front and a rooftop (this is not a very tall building but has a beautiful view of the city) balcony with table and chairs is available too. We celebrated New Years at the hotel, owing to downpour, and Danny, at eleven at night managed to order-in rotisserie chicken, set up a dining table for us, find a delicious bottle of wine, and open up the door for the balcony in order that we could watch the fireworks show over the city. Thank You to all the Torre Dorada staff for making our stay special! This is a hands down don´t miss, for service you wont find anywhere else, reccomendation!

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diximedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2009

We stayed at this hotel because of the reviews we found in this webpage, and we we're not dissapointed. Peggy(the owner) welcome us the day we arrived, threat us like family. All the staff were very nice to us. We really felt at home. They gave us tips to be safe and eat healthy around the city. They picked us up from all around the city even when we got lost and called for help they were there for us.
Our room was very clean and neat, bead was comfortable, bathroom was nice. The only thing is there was no TV in the room, there is one in the living room outside the room though. I guess you don't go to Peru to watch TV right?
Anyway, if you're looking for a clean, quiet place to stay in Cusco this is the best value for your money.
Thank you Torre Dorada for making our stay in Cusco safe and relaxing.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hope008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2009

If you want to stay at a clean, nice and peaceful hotel, with excellent service and attention to the detail, Torre Dorada is the place! This is a true gem. I was really impressed by the quality of the service; I can honestly say the employees of Torre Dorada treat you like a family member, not as a hotel guest. I got a severe cough while in Cusco and the staff prepared a special tea for me every night.
The breakfast was fantastic, they serve you full breakfast not continental. The rooms are extremely clean; the common areas are nicely done, with books and tea for the guests.
If I ever go back to Cusco I know where I will be staying!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cannotwaittotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2009

Our family of 4 spent 2 nights (one before and one after Machu Pichu trip) and were pleasently surprised by the great staff, cleanliness and well run hotel. Peggy and staff went out of the way to keep us informed of the area, and coordinated private shuttle service to and from Ollentaytembo. We would highly recommend this all future travelers going to Cusco!! No unpleasent surprises at this location/.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKFamilyFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2009

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We found the staff exceptionally friendly and helpful, in fact we felt delightfully pampered. Their recommendations for guides, restaurants, places to visit, etc. were consistently excellent.The breakfast was healthy, interesting, well served and substantial. It was very clean with excellent hot water. The location is a very long walk or less than 10 minutes by car to the center of Cusco. The hotel provides free transportation into the city and rapid pick-up on your return to the hotel. The hotel is opposite a new very attractive park in an increasingly upscale neighborhood. We felt totally safe. The rooms were small, simply, but tastefully, decorated. The public areas were very inviting for sitting and relaxing.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobbiandMarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.3 mi away
Casa San Blas Boutique
Casa San Blas Boutique
#11 of 171 in Cusco
925 reviews
1.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
1.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
1.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco San Blas
1.4 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#18 of 171 in Cusco
1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torre Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torre Dorada

Address: Calle Los Cipreses N-5 | Residencial Huancaro, Cusco 08007, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cusco
#5 Best Value Hotel in Cusco
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range: $48 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Torre Dorada 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quiet Residential area 10 minutes away from Main Plaza, Personalized and medical attention, We give advice on where to eat and tours in general according to your preference and we help you with any kind of problem that may arise during your stay in Cusco, airline and bus reservations, etc. We are your "home away from home" we provide FREE transportation to the Plaza, airport and bus terminals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Torre Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Dorada Hotel
Torre Dorada Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing