We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best, no question”
Review of Hotel Torre Dorada

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Torre Dorada
Ranked #6 of 170 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2009

If you're going to be staying in Cusco, the choice is simple: STAY AT THIS HOTEL.

The staff are simply wonderful, and Peggy the owner, went out of her way to ensure not only that our stay at the hotel was perfect, but also that we saw the best parts of Peru by arranging private tours for us and sitting down with us for a good half an hour to work on an itinerary with us.

Your stay includes free transfers to and from the centre of town which is fantastic.

I have many friends and family who wish to go to Cusco and I give them the same advice - stay at Hotel Torre Dorada.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Mimmymumu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,492)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Torre Dorada
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,071 - 1,077 of 1,492 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2009

We stayed at Torre Dorada before AND after our Inca Trail expedition. The owner and her staff made sure we were comfortable and well taken care. It was a welcome oasis after a hectic day in Cusco or upon returning from the trials of trails. Clean, reliable and efficient.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CleverRogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2009

We had a very pleasant experience staying at the Hotel Torre Dorada. The service and attention to guests needs was exceptional. We made 2 overnight trips outiside of Cusco and were very happy to return to our "home base" , the Hotel Torre Dorada. The rooms were simple but very clean and comfortable and included the plus of wireless internet. The only minor inconvenience was that we were not in the center of town, but Torre Dorada drove us the 10 minutes into town whenever we wanted to go, and picked us up when we called for them. The benefit of being outside of the center of Cusco is that it was extremely quiet and peaceful in the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank scrumhalf77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2009

My family had a wonderful experience at Torre Dorada! Peggy and all her staff made our stay very memorable. They all went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. Our son suffered from altitude sickness and they came instantly with oxygen and advice to help him out. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Cusco.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank luv2getaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2009

We've stayed in much fancier hotels but have never received the kind of service we received at Torre Dorada in Cusco, Peru. Peggy, the owner, is the most dedicated hotel owner we've ever encountered. It was obvious from our arrival that she cared deeply about our every need. And she has translated that to her caring staff. No, the hotel is not right in town, but I don't think you wanna stay right in town. Plus, it's only a few minutes cab ride to the square & she includes this service as part of your stay. The breakfasts are very good, prepared with attention to detail & beautifully presented. Plenty of freshly squeezed juice, incredible fruits, breads & most importantly for us...COFFEE!!! Peggy is always there in the breakfast room every day making sure everything is good for her guests. I speak Spanish & could communicate with the drivers. My family does not speak Spanish. But Peggy, as well as her front desk staff, speaks perfect English. This is the only place we'd stay in Cusco on a return trip. The rooms are more than adequately sized, immaculately clean, plenty of uninterrupted hot water & a nice sitting room outside each room. Cusco is a very large, busy city & this hotel is in a neighborhood. I noticed some complaints about dogs barking from other reviews. This turned out to be true. There are stray dogs all over Peru. It is inescapable. You'll just have to live with this fact anywhere you stay. But I suspect you'll have a full itinerary each day & by the time you're ready to go to bed each night, a few dogs barking won't cause you to miss any "Z's".

Thanks Peggy & staff for such a wonderful experience in Cusco, Peru! We wish you much success.

Mark in Lakewood, California

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jupiterwray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2009

Just as others have said, this is probably the best hotel I've ever stayed in - simply due to the fantastic staff and service. Peggy, Rafael and the team do everything possible to make your stay as comfortable and memorable as possible. Although slightly out of the centre, they provide free taxis there and back. We never had to wait more than 5 minutes.

Cusco was our favourite part of Peru and much of this is down to Torre Dorada. We really hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ba1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2008

The staff at Torre Dorada are incredibly friendly and helpful. Given that is is located in a quiet, residential area of Cusco, you are not subjected to the noise of the city centre. All of the reviews of this hotel are spot on. I don't need to repeat any of the praise, so this note is just to reinforce it. If you are considering a stay in Cusco, you will not be disappointed with this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank t_hargrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
1.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
1.4 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.7 mi away
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
#13 of 170 in Cusco
3,118 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torre Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torre Dorada

Address: Calle Los Cipreses N-5 | Residencial Huancaro, Cusco 08007, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cusco
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range: $58 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Torre Dorada 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quiet Residential area 10 minutes away from Main Plaza, Personalized and medical attention, We give advice on where to eat and tours in general according to your preference and we help you with any kind of problem that may arise during your stay in Cusco, airline and bus reservations, etc. We are your "home away from home" we provide FREE transportation to the Plaza, airport and bus terminals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Torre Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Dorada Hotel
Torre Dorada Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing