We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel with exceptional service”
Review of Hotel Torre Dorada

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Torre Dorada
Ranked #5 of 172 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 8, 2013

located in quiet suburb, 10 min drive from airport and town centre. Hotel staff emailed us for arrival details and driver met us at the airport. Driver always available at short notice to provide shuttle service to town so location wasn't an issue. Very comfortable room with heater available. Great staff - helped us arrange transport, Machu Picchu passes and suggested good restaurants. Excellent breakfast. Exceptional service.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank su h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,521)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

461 - 467 of 1,521 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2013

What a wonderful hotel. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, hot water with great pressure and comfortable general areas. We were picked up at the airport and offered free transportation in the city as needed. On check in we were given a quick briefing on the hotel, activities in the area and how to stay safe. The hotel staff are amazing, take great care of all of their guests and are extremely accommodating to requests. We hiked for 6 days and returned; they held onto our luggage for us which was appreciated, and it was waiting in our room upon return. Laundry service was reasonably priced and very efficient. Breakfast is quite nice, in addition to the cold food offerings they have eggs cooked to order or pancakes available. Location is away from the super touristy areas which I liked and really isn't any trouble because of the shuttle service available. I can't imagine staying anywhere else, totally worth it.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kritterkoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

David whom spoke great english showed up at the rail line in Poray with my name on his board. Into Davids small car we piled and raced to the hotel. Like a chit chatty version of Mario Andrette he gave us a high speed tour to the hotel. Upon arrival I was a bit apprehensive by an older smaller looking property off main street. Any conserns were quickly erased by each and every member of the staff by the INCREDIBLE service. If property had an elevator and was a bit closer to town it would be at least twice the price.

Pros,
Best breakfast I have ever experienced in any "breakfast included".
Best service I have experienced in years.
Fine finish and woodwork all over the property, (I only wish I could afford that high quality beautiful work).
Lovely Monica even reccomened we change rooms as we entered the lobby one day due to the fact that a child was crying all day in a room near ours.
Free transportation to everywhere (except train rail at 30S, which is a bit of a drive up the mountain).
Amazing service from David the driver.
Smooth driving from Mario.
Jose clearly the fastest driver on the planet, if you need to get somewhere fast he's your man!


Cons,
Rooms have no TV, only a shared tv in the common spaces.
No elevator
Outside the tourist area (hence the free transportation)

Room Tip: Keep in mind Cusco is over 11000 feet so if your faint in the lungs you better confirm that you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lexzander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We were totally delighted with our experience at Torre Dorada. The staff, the accommodations, even the free breakfasts were excellent. Although the hotel is a little off the beaten path, it was never a problem: a car service drops you off and picks you up whenever you are ready to head into town. They also picked us up from the airport (even though I hadn't asked beforehand and called from the airport-- they were there in 5 minutes), took us to the train/bus stations, and were unfailingly friendly and polite. This hotel is a true treasure.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cristy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

This place has everything you need and more! First off the hotel itself is beautifully decorated and the rooms are warm and inviting. The best part of the hotel are the staff and services. Peggy (owner), Martin, David, Mario the two lovely ladies at breakfast, everyone was so kind, friendly and helpful!
Martin, the front desk manager, was wonderful and helped arrange my trip to Puno and Lake Titicaca. David one of the drivers was great and took the time to show me all the great places to visit/eat/drink in Cuzco. The service there was impeccable and the people there are absolutely amazing.
Breakfast is included and great. There is a great shuttle service that drops you off and picks you up according to your schedule. There is also wi-Fi included as well. You also have a safe in your rooms for important documents and such. There is also a common area where there are books you can read, complimentary hot water for tea 24/7 and a printer for you to check-in and print out boarding passes.
I can't say enough about the people there, they went above and beyond the job description and made my visit to cuzco a fond and memorable experience. I would highly recommend this place to other travelers. It is a great way to rest up and get use to the altitude.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lis472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

The owner(s) of Torre Dorada evidently wrote the book on Hospitality Courtesy and Service. Everybody, from the front desk managers to the two ladies at the breakfast service, and to the very helpful and courteous shuttle chauffeurs were extremely accommodating. We spend four nights at the Torre Dorada with a couple of days in-between to visit Machu Picchu They had reserved for us a top floor room with a pretty view but since the property doesn’t have elevators we asked for a ground floor unit. The request was granted right away. Maybe it didn’t have the great view but considering that it takes at least two days for a couple in their sixties to acclimate to the altitude it proved to be the right choice. With a ten minutes notice, sometime less, the hotel shuttle will drive you to the city center, the Plaza de Armas. When ready to return to the hotel (there are public phones close by the pickup point) and after ten minutes wait the car is there. Be sure to have 50 centimos coins with you for the public phone call. Also, let the hotel know of the details of your arrival and departure at the airport and the shuttle will drive you both ways as a courtesy. This is a new property, lots of glass and cheerful colors all around. We heard quite a few languages spoken there as you would expect, with Spanish and English being prevalent. The rooms are on the smaller side but still with plenty of space to move around and with good places to set things and hang clothes. Rooms are very clean, sheets and towels were spotless, and there is a safe available, plus complimentary water on your first night. Torre Dorada at our request made all the reservations for tours, train travels and sightseeing, including the transportation, entrance fees and guide to Machu Picchu. This would be a firm four star plus hotel in Cusco, but the very evident and genuine concern for their guest's comfort brings Torre Dorada to a higher level.

Room Tip: Lower floor rooms for elderly travelers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monk36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

This hotel got everything we needed for our trip. The breakfast was great, the room was cleaned everyday. More than anything, the stuff were very friendly and helpful. We exchanged some emails before the trip, but they always wrote me back right away and arranged machupichu tickets and other tours for us too.
We used their free 24 hour shuttle service a lot and they always picked us up on time.
I absolutely recommend this hotel to everyone and will stay there again!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CymbaO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
1.3 mi away
Casa San Blas Boutique
Casa San Blas Boutique
#10 of 172 in Cusco
949 reviews
1.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco San Blas
1.4 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#16 of 172 in Cusco
1,552 reviews
1 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torre Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torre Dorada

Address: Calle Los Cipreses N-5 | Residencial Huancaro, Cusco 08007, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cusco
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range: $47 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Torre Dorada 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quiet Residential area 10 minutes away from Main Plaza, Personalized and medical attention, We give advice on where to eat and tours in general according to your preference and we help you with any kind of problem that may arise during your stay in Cusco, airline and bus reservations, etc. We are your "home away from home" we provide FREE transportation to the Plaza, airport and bus terminals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Torre Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Dorada Hotel
Torre Dorada Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing