We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding experience!”
Review of Hotel Torre Dorada

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Torre Dorada
Ranked #5 of 169 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding experience!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Excellent staff, great english. Very friendly. They are helping with any issues (e.g. transportation, tickets, restaurant, ...). Pick up service is very nice and always available which makes up 100% for the fact that the hotel is a bit away from the main plaza. Breakfast buffet is amazing (fresh juices, eggs the way you want them, everything is fresh).
Would always come back. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hendrik E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,302
    139
    27
    10
    5
See reviews for
272
689
107
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Angelo Texas
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Excellent communication before check in.
Offered to send car to pick up from bus station and free transport to airport in morning.
Wonderful breakfast. Great hotel with superior customer service. Very secure and safe environment.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yvonne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

If you like good service, this is the place for you. Torre Dorada is in what seems to be a residential neighbourhood - no restaurants or shops in evidence nearby. However, the free 24-hour pick-up and drop to the city centre (and airport) is real and offered most cheerfully. Though taxis are cheap and plentiful, hotel staff encouraged us to call the hotel at whatever time you want to be picked up and the car arrives in about 10 minutes. Once when the hotel car was busy they asked a taxi driver they trusted to pick us up and paid the fare.

Similar quality of service across the board from the driver and breakfast lady, through the front desk staff to the owner. We checked in early, and while we waited for our room to get ready we were offered breakfast (although it was past the time). Staff packed snacks for us whenever they thought we could use some sustenance. Excellent breakfast, with lots of local items and variety from day to day. Little things here and there that made sure we were happy.

That said, Wi-Fi in the rooms was a bit weak (particularly on the 4th floor) and the four-bedder was a bit cramped for four people (we stayed 4 nights).

All things considered, we would highly recommend Torre Dorada unless you would like to stay in the heart of town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashok-Seenu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I can't rave enough about this hotel! The rooms were super comfortable (with a lounge and free hot tea on each floor). Showers were hot. Wifi was servicable (though a bit better out of the rooms). Breakfast is delicious and varied.

Service was amazing; you get a hotel driver to and from the hotel to all parts of Cusco, free of charge. This was most appreciated as the hotel is not in the main part of town. Reception staff were great; when we realised the check-in times for our flights to Ecuador the next morning were tight, the staff called LAN.com to organise for our baggage to be checked through to Ecuador, rather than requiring collection from Lima (thus saving us much stress and rushing around)!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GabsLiLi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This place is wonderful. Service friendly and helpful. Breakfasts have plenty of choice. And the nights are quiet due to its location. It is about a ten minute drive to the Plaza de Armas but you have friendly drivers on 24 hour stand by to pick you up and drop you off between the hotel and the plaza. Beds were very comfortable and the staff would turn bedside lamp and heater on if you went out at night. A very sweet touch. Excellent value.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeeJay40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

If being in the center of the city is your preference, then the Torre Dorada is not for you. That said, I would be hard put to find a better place to stay in Cusco. The 10-15 minute drive to the Plaza de Armas was, for us, not an issue, since the hotel provides free 24-hour car transportation around Cusco.
The peace and quiet of the Torre Dorada make it special. The personal attention, however, was truly extraordinary. To begin with, the hotel staff communicated with me regularly and punctually about all aspects of our visit to Cusco and Macchu Pichu. Thanks to Marco, I was able to make all the reservations necessary, well in advance, so that we could take the train to Macchu Picchu, stay over night there, and climb to Huayna Picchu the second morning, before returning to Cusco. I had no idea as to how crucial this would be before leaving the US. We say many tourists turned away from the Huayna Picchu entrance: no reservations available for at least another 2 months.
Upon our arrival at the Torre Dorada, Henry took us under his surveillance, providing us with mate de coca and all of the necessary precautions and orientations so that we would contend well with the altitude. He also helped us plot out our visit.
Torre Dorada is much more than a well-run, clean and comfortable hotel. It is your on-location Cusco-resource center. I recommend it in the strongest terms!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gonzo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I booked at Hotel Torre Dorada after reading the reviews on here.
It was a bit more expensive than I had planned to spend but really don't regret it. The room was cozy and clean. All of the staff were helpful and kind. They helped make sure I got laundry done on time, packed me a lunch when I left before breakfast was served and offered to call my hiking agency when they were 3 minutes late picking me up!

Staying away from the centre of Cusco was not a problem at all. It was a quick drive and the driver really is available 24/7.

I recommend this anyone and would love to go back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Can_jai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
1.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
1.4 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
#14 of 169 in Cusco
3,013 reviews
1.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
1.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torre Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torre Dorada

Property: Hotel Torre Dorada
Address: Calle Los Cipreses N-5 | Residencial Huancaro, Cusco 08007, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cusco
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#8 Best Value Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Torre Dorada 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quiet Residential area 10 minutes away from Main Plaza, Personalized and medical attention, We give advice on where to eat and tours in general according to your preference and we help you with any kind of problem that may arise during your stay in Cusco, airline and bus reservations, etc. We are your "home away from home" we provide FREE transportation to the Plaza, airport and bus terminals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Torre Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Dorada Hotel
Torre Dorada Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing