We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star service for a 1 star price”
Review of Hotel Torre Dorada

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Torre Dorada
Ranked #5 of 172 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2008

After reading all of the reviews of Torre Dorada and looking at the price, I thought it had to be too good to be true. It was not.

The staff were wonderful. I felt as though I was staying with family(except I didn't have to do dishes). They were waiting for us at the airport as promised. They provided help and advice whenever we needed it and really made our trip much easier and more enjoyable. We went to them for advice on restaurants, tours, massages, and dealing with the altitude and they did not disappoint once. Their drivers were available to give us rides to and from town from 0500 until 2300 and they were always prompt and courteous. They were also much better drivers than the Peruvian taxi drivers.

They booked our trip to Machu Picchu for us. On Tuesday morning (early) they prepared a special breakfast for us and packed a lunch. They handed us a packet that contained our train tickets round trip to Aquas Calientes, bus tickets up to and down from Machu Picchu and our entrance tickets to Machu Picchu itself. Many other people in Aguas Calientes were waiting in long lines to get these tickets but we were able to skip the lines and focus on having a good time. They also made reservations for us at a hotel in Aguas Calientes.

The breakfasts at the Torre Dorada were very good and the dining room has beautiful views in the mornings. They provide free teas all day long and provide 2 bottles of water each day for free. The rooms and beds are comfortable and the shower had plenty of hot water and pressure.

In short, if you are going to Cusco, this is where you want to stay. Period. We had one gentleman at our hotel who spent one night of his stay at the Hotel Monestario and said he was glad to return to Torre Dorada for the rest of his stay.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MedicMan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,521)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,169 - 1,175 of 1,521 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2008

This hotel is adorable and the staff goes the extra mile... and then some.

The beds are very comfortable and the breakfast is absolutely amazing (with fresh baked goods, eggs made on demand, a huge variety of fresh fruit, fresh fruit juice, coffee, tea, etc.)

Peggy, who runs the hotel is extremely helpful, coordinated various trips and made numerous calls, inquiries and reservations for us in other cities.

The hotel is about 7 minutes by car from downtown Cusco, however, they provide free transportation to and from downtown, whenever guests want to go! You simply tell them a few minutes before you wish to leave, or, if you are downtown, you call them and a car is there to pick you up in less than 10 minutes.

We left laundry to be cleaned at a laundromat downtown the day before we were to leave Cusco. The shop had closed early so we were unable to pick it up. We were distraught, as we were scheduled to depart early the next day and this laundry (about 10 kilos) was just about every piece of clothing that we weren't wearing. The hotel told us not to worry... they said they'd pick up our laundry the next morning (after we left) and send it to us in the next town with other hotel guests. Not only that, but we found out that the laundry was still wet when they picked it up from the shop, so they dried it for us as well, before sending it with the guests!!! This hotel definitely went the extra mile for us!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RTW-travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2008

We stayed at Torre Dorada for 4 nights in April and found out why this hotel is rated no. 1 in customer reviews. Peggy (the owner), Raphael and staff treated us like family. From the time we were met at the airport by Arturo to our final goodbyes, they could not do enough for us.
Not only did they give us a very thorough welcome with info about the hotel, Cusco and other areas to visit, but Raphael actually went with us to help us purchase bus tickets, etc. With our limited knowledge of Spanish this was a HUGE convenience.
The free rides back and forth to town take only a few minutes and it was great to know we could count on them. Even when we had to leave at very early times it was not a problem. When we took the train to Machu Picchu they prepared us a small breakfast (when it was way earlier than breakfast was scheduled) plus they gave us each a boxed lunch for the trip.
The hotel recommended a tour of the Sacred Valley and set us up with a driver. His name is Victor Falcon and he was wonderful. He's a very good driver and very professional. The cost was nominal and he went out of his way to please us.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank hemispheredancer5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2008

I have to say that our experience at the Hotel Torre Dorada was all and more t han everyone wrote about in the previous reviews. My husband and I have been all over the world and stayed at hundreds of hotels and we have never encountered an experience like this. The whole staff went above and beyond to make our visit to Peru an exciting and enjoyable vacation. We stayed at the hotel for three nights and then left for two nights for Machu Picchu and then went back to Hotel Torre Dorada..............we felt like we were coming home! I cannot say enough about the hospitality, cleanliness,decor, food, and above all, the one-on-one treatment we received. We'll be back! Paula Basinger

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank babyowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2008

Loved Peggy and her staff. She went way beyond what I expected.
Although the hotel is out of town they were always available to shuttle us to town and pick us up when we called.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bumpa2328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2008

We traveled extensively in Peru this past March and the Torre Dorado provided us not only with the best accomodations we had during our 11 day stay in Peru BUT the STAFF was outstanding. The owner and the manager were totally cooperative and went out of their way to meet our needs. This is THE PLACE to stay in Cusco.

L. Gritz in San Diego

1  Thank lgritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2008

My husband and I, together with my father, visited Cusco last March. The owner, Peggy, is very much a "hands-on" person and can be seen at the hotel throughout the day. Her staff, Rafael, Rosemarie and others, are very polite and willing to please. Upon arrival, prior to 9 am, we were met by Arturo, who took us to the hotel. As part of the check-in process, we were given information as to getting into town and back out again, places to eat, the Tourist Ticket for the sites, and if you request ahead, they can even get your tickets for Machupicchu (rail, bus and entrance), they will even book a place for you in Aguas Calientes. At no extra cost, one is shuttled to the Plaza de Armas (and picked up at Gatos Market back to the hotel), taken to the train station at the crack of dawn oand picked up after a weary day at MP, or taken to the plane, bus or train when one is departing. If neither Arturo nor Cristobal, their trusty drivers, were available to pick you up, a taxi would be sent to the pick-up point with the hotel's plaque bearing its name. For our trip to MP, we were given a snack box and a bottle of water. Bottled water was supplied to our room at NO EXTRA Cost; a thermos with hot water and a variety of teas were available on a table in the hall on each level 24 hrs a day. Breakfast had a spread of various breads, cereal, jams, coffee and teas, yogurt and fresh fruit (banana, melon, papaya, grapes, pineapple) plus eggs boiled, scrambled or fried, and ham & cheese. The young breakfast room attendant would come in a few minutes after we had arrived with a jug of freshly squeezed orange juice and to ask if you wanted eggs and how.

Despite Torre Dorada under going construction, so that us guests can be better served in the future (Peggy being very concerned about how this construction would effect her guests) and the location being a couple of miles from the Plaza de Armas, and compared to other places we stayed during our vacation, we would return there in a heartbeat. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank br_luv2travl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
1.3 mi away
Casa San Blas Boutique
Casa San Blas Boutique
#10 of 172 in Cusco
949 reviews
1.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco San Blas
1.4 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#16 of 172 in Cusco
1,552 reviews
1 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torre Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torre Dorada

Address: Calle Los Cipreses N-5 | Residencial Huancaro, Cusco 08007, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cusco
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range: $47 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Torre Dorada 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quiet Residential area 10 minutes away from Main Plaza, Personalized and medical attention, We give advice on where to eat and tours in general according to your preference and we help you with any kind of problem that may arise during your stay in Cusco, airline and bus reservations, etc. We are your "home away from home" we provide FREE transportation to the Plaza, airport and bus terminals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Torre Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Dorada Hotel
Torre Dorada Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing